We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family pub”
Review of The Pheasant

The Pheasant
Ranked #25 of 196 Restaurants in Bridgend
Price range: US$7 - US$17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Pheasant is a classic village pub located in Pen-y-Fai, Bridgend.We serve a big range of cask ales and premium wines, as well as home cooked food and daily specials.Our beer garden is huge and is a fantastic place to spend the summer months.And function room is the perfect size for meetings, dinner parties and larger events...opening out onto the beer garden.Opening HoursM: 11am to 11pmT: 11am to 11pmW: 11am to 11pmT: 11am to 11pmF: 11am to 12amS: 11am to 12amS: 11am to 11pm
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

This is a nice family pub with a good choice in menu. Hubby had the Madras curry which he said was not as hot as expected but very tasty & I had steak which was also really nice.
The pub offers several meal deals during the week, generally good value, cosy & staff are really polite & cheerful. Easy to get to nice outside seating, plenty if parking but most important for me, they have a 5 food hygiene rating! Would definitely recommend & will be going again.

1  Thank dee238_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 September 2017

Thank you kindly for your lovely comments and we're really glad and happy that you enjoyed your visit with us.
Look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

Ate here recently on a Friday night. We did book as it is quite busy. They do a 2 or 3 course offer. Good value for money. The food is always delicious and there is plenty on offer. They have a good beer garden and ideal if you have children.

Thank EdnaJ541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 September 2017

Thank you kindly for your lovely comments.
Look forward to you visiting us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

We came here after a friend recommended this pub for a Sunday roast and we wasn't disappointed. We arrived and there was plenty of parking available and good access to the pub.We were kindly greeted by two members of lady and gentleman staff and after a mix up with the booking we were seated by the gentleman . We were immediately told the roasts available and how to order.Soon after sitting down a the lady (Lizzie) explained she was sorry for the mix up with the booking explained what happened and also advised us with any Sunday roast for £2 extra we could have a dessert which I found very friendly and helpful. The seating area was very clean and homely felt like a really friendly pub.We ordered 3 chicken dinners and the food arrived in a timely manner and there was certainly lots of it!! I love my food hot and this was perfect was enough for 3 people to eat loved it!! Staff were so friendly and waitresses always asking if We needed anything else. Used the toilets too very clean and smelt lovely I really wanted to stay longer however 1 hour journey back we had to go. Only thing was no one greeted us goodbye when we were walking through the pub not like we are special but there was a young boy near the door and nothing was said I'm not sure it was thought we were local? Any way managed to catch the name on the till of the lovely lady made us feel welcome her name was Lizzie she was great and all credit to her and compliments to the chef too we will definitely come back we all loved it thank you nice day out

Thank Karan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 August 2017

We are very pleased and happy we could accommodate your visit with us.
We'll look forward to seeing you all again very soon and thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Great sunday lunch for miles. Nothing too much bother , extra veg, gravy etc! Staff always very friendly and attentive. Best to book as always popular sundays but we are happy to eat in the bar as service just as good. Keep up the good work guys!
Thanks

Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 August 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words and constant support.
Look forward to seeing you again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

Called here for food on the way to our designation on Sunday and it was lovely. Even thought it was busy due to serving Sunday dinner they accommodated us in the bar area. Staff were friendly both on arrival and serving us. Food was lovely and very reasonable price the same with the drinks. Did not have to wait long for food even thought it was very busy at the time. Food portions also good. Will be calling again.

Thank lorna d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 August 2017

Thank you kindly for your lovely comments and hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pheasant also viewed

Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to The Pheasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing