We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (649)
Filter reviews
649 results
Traveller rating
441
152
37
17
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
441
152
37
17
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coach house afternoon tea lovely hotel fantastic wedding venue country house hotel open fire wedding party lovely surroundings wedding reception wedding breakfast lovely afternoon full welsh breakfast sandwiches would highly recommend this hotel staff were attentive couldn't do enough from start to finish
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 649 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2018

A wonderful place to stay for a weekend break. Beds very comfortable which was a real treat. Food delicious and service excellent. All staff very helpful. The landscape and gardens were particularly lovely in the glorious sunshine we are having.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coedmwstwr, Food Service Manager at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Dear Ann S,

Thank you so much for your review.

The sun makes all the difference and there is nothing better than relaxing on the lounge Patio!! The hotel even at Christmas is decorated beautifully.

We hope that it will not be too long till you visit again,

Kind Regards

Sion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

Amazing dinner. Lovely room. But the bed was a little too firm for me husband slept ok though !!! Breakfast was just how u want it , chose whatever is on the menu.
A little bit off the beaten track ( single track roads up to the hotel)
Nothing was too much for the staff, we really enjoyed our stay.
Note to everyone we booked though hotel and got breakfast evening meal and bottle of Prosecco ( chilled in our room) for less than price of room and breakfast on booking.com !!!!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coedmwstwr, Food Service Manager at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Dear Sarah M,

Thank you such an amazing review!!

We always try to impress and we always have special deals which can be booked direct via calling or on our website.

The hotel is situated on a quiet country hill but so close to the M4 and Main train line to London.

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and would hope to welcome you back in the near future,

Kind Regards

Sion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018

We stayed in the Coed y Mwstwr Hotel for my birthday, a treat from my husband. The room was quite nice but the bathroom was not very clean - scum around the plughole in the washbasin and there was hair in the bath. We had a lovely evening meal in the Elliott Restaurant but there was food under the table and when we went down for breakfast it was still there!! The lounge furniture was not very comfortable due to the itchy material used so could not really relax there. The Staff however were very obliging and polite and nothing was too much trouble for them. We have stayed here in the past and think that standards have definitely dropped which is such a shame as it is a stunning building and set in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coedmwstwr, Food Service Manager at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Dear Paul W,

First of all can I thank you for reviewing the hotel and hope that you had enjoyed your birthday. It is always great to welcome guests when they have a special occasion.

I have taken your comments back to the relevant departments. If there is anything wrong with the rooms we are more than happy to change it or try and solve the issue. Had we been made aware we would have corrected this.

We have now started to ensure after each service all areas are hoovered but sometimes things do get missed and I apologies for this.

Our lounge furniture is new we have only had it a year since our refurbishment and we appreciate that it is not to everyone's taste but we have a selection of furniture around the lounge which is not made from 'itchy material'. We would if asked have got some blankets to put down to make it more comfortable or got one of the Elliot chairs from the Lounge.

I would hope that this has not left a lasting impression on you and that you might stay here at the hotel again but I can assure that our standards have not dropped but maybe slight lapses in communication which we will aim to improve,

Kind Regards

Sion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

Incredible staff, fantastic setting and they cannot do enough for you. A lot of people say how fantastic their wedding was but we really did have a flawless day and it was down to a lot of hard work and organisation by CYM. You really would be foolish to not even consider having your wedding here.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JTuck24601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coedmwstwr, Food Service Manager at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Dear JTuck24601,

It was a pleasure hosting your special day here at the hotel The hendre looked stunning and so did everyone. I really enjoyed myself hosting your special day and i know all the staff really enjoyed themselves.
I hope that it will not be too long till we see you again (by the way the speeches that day were some of the best i have seen)

Kind Regards

Sion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018

An excellent hotel with outstanding service and room. The champagne and chocolates on arrival was a lovely surprise. The setting is absolutely stunning and the decor of the hotel is first class. We will definitely stay here again when we visit South Wales.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank collinson98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coedmwstwr, Food Service Manager at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Dear Mr & Mrs Collinson,

First of all i would like to thank you for such a lovely review, we always try and go that extra mile for all our guests. The hotel has two suite which both come with a welcome bottle of champagne and chocolates to make it that extra bit special . We have so many different attractions locally and it would be great to see you again so we can share our secret tips, once again thank you for the review,

Kind Regards

Sion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews