We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go to the Italian Restaurant in the town - highly recommended but you need to book.”
Review of Castle of Brecon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle of Brecon
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brecon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2015

Stayed here for two nights in early spring. Friendly helpful reception. Romantic patio/garden position overlooking the river. Bed comfortable with all required room facilities.

Thank Geoff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

232 - 236 of 525 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2015

Stayed over on a Friday & Saturday night, I was visiting Brecon to take part in TrekFest (29 mile trek through Brecon)
Room was a double for 1 adult, it was nice - i had a great view (room 44) nice clean room, and bathroom
The staff at breakfast were really happy & chatty
Food was nice, selection of cereals, fruit, a buffet style full english plus items off the menu (poached eggs, salmon etc)

Overal a good stay, would book again

PS - the walk ended up being 31 miles! took me 13hrs.... Ive booked trek next year !!

Room Tip: Room 44 had a lovely view of the hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Martina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2015

We held our daughters wedding at the Castle in May and had a truly wonderful day to remember. Jenny and Laura organised the proceedings expertly for us and everything ran smoothly. Excellent meal and surroundings. Just perfect for the occassion (helped by the sunny weather!). Our sincere thanks to all concerned.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2015

There was much to praise on our two-night stay; There is ample parking on the level next to the entrance, including that for the disabled. The situation with views to the Brecon Beacons is wonderful. The staff were all extremely helpful, friendly and supportive. The bed was wide and comfortable. The menu was extensive; the food well prepared, presented and delivered. The wet-room for guests with disabilities was beautifully decorated in tiling of subtle browns.

However there were many disappointments; There was no information for visitors in the room, so constant visits to reception. The wet-room was badly laid-out making transfer from wheelchair to toilet and to sink, very confined and difficult. The rest of the decor in the room was shabby - peeling wall paper. There was no fridge. Bread rolls on the second evening were microwaved straight from the freezer, hence all rubbery and inedible. We couldn't get wifi to work, even with help from the staff.

Such a shame, it could be wonderful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the functions/banqueting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Howard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2015

I stayed here on business, this hotel was booked by the client, it is in a good location in the town and depending on room good view of surrounding areas.
I feel the hotel is a story of two halves one is the restaurant which serves lovely food with good service and the hotel which is fairly average.
The room was in need of refurbishment the floor was fairly uneven without any warnings and carpet edges were dirty. The door handle was very loose and when I complained I was told no one could get into my room without a key.
The bathroom did however have some lovely toiletries.
The food was superb very good quality a good choice of food and one can tell they take pride in the food, the restaurant is open to non residents and quite busy.
If you like ginger you must try the ginger sparkle cheesecake.
Breakfast was a good spread with cooked options.
With regards service the receptionist on check-in seemed uninterested, restaurant staff attentive and on check out the lady on reception was okay. It appears it just depends on who you get.
I would come back here for the food but stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tayo I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brecon
5 km away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
1,037 reviews
19.8 km away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
15.5 km away
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crickhowell
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 km away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#3 of 3 in Crickhowell
654 reviews
15.4 km away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
13.7 km away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle of Brecon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle of Brecon

Address: Castle Square, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 9DB, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brecon
Price Range: €107 - €172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle of Brecon 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 40 bedrooms providing a variety of different types of accommodation. All rooms in the main hotel are individually decorated and offer LCD TVs and tea & coffee making facilities. We will be happy to discuss your accommodation requirements and the type of room that would be most suitable for your needs. Our current prices are published here as a guide, please note that from time to time these will change to reflect local events. Standard Bedrooms from £87 Standard Family Bedrooms from £97 (based on 2 adults and 1 child) Superior Bedrooms from £107 Family Mews rooms from £157 (room only)( 2 adults and 2 Children) Walkers Mews rooms from £157 (room only) Beacons View Bedrooms from £137 Four Poster rooms £157 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Castle of Brecon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Of Brecon Hotel Brecon
Castle Hotel Brecon
Castle Of Brecon Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing