We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boys loved it”

Pontcysyllte Aqueduct
Book In Advance
More Info
US$694.81*
and up
Dee Valley Private Day Trip from Caernarfon with...
Ranked #1 of 50 things to do in Wrexham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

A leisurely meander across the aquaduct with stunning views. Me my wife and three children enjoyed this trip and our large dog(leonberger) was made very welcome. Our guide Molly was very friendly, informative, and patient with about 500 questions from the boys

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank jasonpG5591LZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"canal boat"
in 105 reviews
"world heritage site"
in 93 reviews
"thomas telford"
in 70 reviews
"trevor basin"
in 51 reviews
"feat of engineering"
in 45 reviews
"tow path"
in 43 reviews
"scared of heights"
in 38 reviews
"amazing structure"
in 34 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 119 reviews
"views are spectacular"
in 21 reviews
"cast iron"
in 17 reviews
"sheer drop"
in 15 reviews
"car park"
in 68 reviews
"on foot"
in 20 reviews
"free parking"
in 43 reviews
"north wales"
in 35 reviews
"lovely walk"
in 33 reviews
Filter

185 - 189 of 1,430 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We visited this site and the aqueduct at Chirk just a few miles apart whilst visiting Llangollen for a day out. It is a fantastic structure which is well worth the visit but you need to hold your nerve when walking across the bridge for the first time with people coming the opposite way. There is limited car parking on site, we parked in Trevor and walked across the road and over a footbridge to get on to the towpath. Toilets are free and clean.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Roy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

fantastic place with amazing views plenty to do and plenty to see. would highly recommend this for all ages.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank GlobeTrotting764642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Walked across here just as it started to rain heavily. Still got some great snaps. What a fantastic structure and a testament to our industrial heritage. If you are in the area, this is a must do. Would be great to do it by boat, so one to consider for next visit!!!!!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018

On a recent Thursday afternoon, Hubby and I were driving in the area of Froncysyllte-Trevor when we decided to stop and have a look at the highest navigable aqueduct in the world. We walked along the canal tow path and back again, stopping in the middle to look down at the river dee which was 126 feet below! We also had a look around the Visitor Centre and purchased some post cards and badges. The toilets and car park are free to use.

Date of experience: March 2018
2  Thank Jilly2903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pontcysyllte Aqueduct also viewed

Wrexham, Wrexham County
Wrexham, Wrexham County
 
Chirk, Wrexham County
Llangollen, Denbighshire
 

Been to Pontcysyllte Aqueduct? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing