We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful Retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

diejojs
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Peaceful Retreat”
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We recently returned from a lovely week staying at the Coed-y-Celyn Hall. The owners were friendly and knowledgeable - Michael gave us some great tips for walks (the seven mile incorporating Fairy Glen is a must) and where to eat. We found ourselves dining at The Stables most nights - a family friendly pub / eatery but with a varied menu and great value for money.
The apartment was clean and comfortable and they really had thought of everything to make it a home from home. It was a great base for us to come back to each night.
The village is a short walk away, approximately 20 minutes (or a little longer if you take the scenic route) and plays host to several shops and restaurants. A short stretch of this is down a dark road near the hall - we had head torches at night but there are torches in the lobby should you wish to borrow one.
We also drove over to Beddgelert (about 35 minutes) for a longer walk followed by ice cream which we would highly recommend!
Conwy Castle also made for a nice afternoon out and again isn't far by car.
All in all it was a great holiday. We don't get away much and just wanted a peaceful retreat so for us it was perfect.

Date of stay: September 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin H
1 review
“Super owner ,super location”
Reviewed 22 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Had a lovely stay in this property with my husband, Colin for a short break. Large apartment, well equipped and very comfortable. The property is set within easy walk of the main town but in a very secluded valley. The owner is very friendly and nothing would have been to much trouble. We will be back.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfortable appartment
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B
2 reviews
“Friendly owners and in a lovely area.”
Reviewed 28 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

As many other reviewers have stated, Michael, who met us was very welcoming and extremely helpful.
The apartment is very spacious and well stocked. The list of DVDs they can lend you is impressive (they are Lord of the Rings and Star Wars fans like us)
We were there over Christmas week so it was wonderfully quiet, even with the A5 and A470 running right past the gate. Being just off the main roads made it an easy place to get to.
The surrounding area is lovely, the hall is situated in a valley, the river runs past the bottom of the garden and Betws-y-coed is helpfully close by.
There is wifi in the apartment but it's not great (not bad for a Welsh valley though)
I like staying in old buildings, so the hall was a bit of a treat. Although in my opinion it is looking rather tired, though I think they are planning to redecorate.
If we return to this area I would definitely look at stopping here again. We enjoyed our week there.

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stopping in a old hall in a woody valley in Wales.
Liked least: Welsh weather in December.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Feb 2019
Dear Paul. Thank you so much for leaving such a great review and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here at 'Coed y Celyn Hall' and your visit to North Wales. We hope to see you again soon. Best wishes Tracy & Michael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWJ2010
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect...”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

An excellent property set in magnificent grounds. The hosts were very welcoming and encouraged us to treat the apartment and grounds as if our own. Cannot speak highly enough of ourstay.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keelgz
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday in a lovely apartment - We'll be back!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The apartment was just how it looked in the photos (which is rare) and was a good size. A real effort had been made to make sure that everything you needed for a self-catering holiday was made available. Tracey and Michael were very friendly but not intrusive and provided an excellent apartment and local area guide book. Furniture was comfortable and surroundings peaceful and relaxing. The only down-side was me spraining my ankle and even then our hosts had provided the Doctors details! We'll definitely be back. North Wales has so much to offer and a week isn't enough time to do it all! See you next year!

Date of stay: July 2014
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.