We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (505)
Filter reviews
505 results
Traveller rating
355
92
31
16
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
355
92
31
16
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river hot tub a river view room beautiful location no lift beef wellington breakfast and evening meal lovely hotel superior room black pudding full welsh breakfast couldn't do enough night break stayed longer four poster tea and coffee warm welcome
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 505 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2020

Don’t go to this hotel. Rip-off merchants.
The hotel although sited next to the river (very picturesque) is otherwise best described as underwhelming.
We can’t see how this hotel has received a 4 star rating other than its location. We paid £420 for a two night stay.
We were asked to pay £205 upon booking and £215 on entering reception. We think there policy is to get our money first and face out the complaints later. We understand paying the deposit of £205 but we have never been asked to pay the £215 upfront for second night before. This was a first for us.
No lift in the hotel, so the stairs were well trodden, this was very evident and showed in the shabbiness of the carpeting on the stairs and landings.
We required a twin bedded room and were taken to room 17. We were able to see the river from our balcony, but only by standing. Sitting down, the view was obliterated by the balcony wall.
The en-suite bath with shower hose over, dated shell design, hand basin which had a crack in it, cheap taps, copper pipes visible behind pedestal not painted. Toilet rim underneath dirty.
Cushions on bed were shabby.
Breakfast I ordered full Welsh, poached egg undercooked and pale yoke, black pudding gone hard.. Sausage, small and poor quality. Mushroom oily. All in all, very poor quality.
On the dressing table there was a bottle containing tap water. I thought it had a peculiar taste I was told I could have bottled water but that would be an extra.
At £215 a night unbelievable.

Date of stay: September 2020
1  Thank SunshineSkala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2020 via mobile

This riverside hotel is in a superb and picturesque location, 10 mins easy walk into village offering additional choice of cafe restaurants & shops. The staff were excellent, service good and covid protocols well considered and functioning. We ate supper in the restaurant on one of our two evenings and enjoyed the choice and quality of the menu.

However - the hotel requires further refurbishment. Both in public areas and bedrooms. Currently the ‘modernisation’ looks half done or rather cheaply done. We stayed in room 18 - lovely views comfortable bed but that’s the extent of the positives. The bathroom was dated and the mixer tap shower system allowed only luke warm showers. Synthetic duvet & pillows.

All this might have been tolerable if WiFi access had been possible in bedrooms. Despite words of re-assurance from staff, this just was not the case on most of our devices. To get WiFi we had to go and sit in the bar area. And even then the signal was not uniformly strong.

Finally although we enjoyed our meal the accompanying wine list was erratically compiled and overpriced. This never leaves the discerning customer happy.

Yes this hotel could do so much better and actually justify the incredible 4 star status that the AA has bestowed on it

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank sagbucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2020

Stayed in the four poster bedroom with wonderful views of the river and valley, while enjoying the hot tub on the balcony with great weather, fabulous. All staff were excellent could not fault their willingness to help us enjoy our celebration, will certainly return if opportunity arises.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2020

Just returned from a two night stay and it is fair to say that the location of this hotel is superb. Positioned perfectly next two to a beautiful river the views never ceased to impress.The staff could not have been more friendly, starting with the welcome, which was followed by a lovely Sunday roast. Breakfast and evening meal the following day were both equally delicious. We would count ourselves a little unlucky with our room allocation. Located on the third floor, it was somewhat cramped, albeit the bathroom was spacious. Not that TV watching was any feature of the break but the flat screen TV in this room was laughingly tiny. The room would be unbearably hot in summer, I would imagine. Overall, a hotel well worth visiting!

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richcradd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2020 via mobile

We had booked a specific room but when we arrived we were given a sub-standard room. On the second day the shower from the room above leaked into our room - the hotel staff fixed it but didn't apologise. The food was ordinary (eg salad was lettuce and tinned peppers) and extremely overpriced. View from hotel is beautiful but it was a disappointing weekend in a hotel that didn't live up to the rave reviews.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Destination796849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews