We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (505)
Filter reviews
505 results
Traveller rating
355
92
31
16
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
355
92
31
16
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river hot tub a river view room beautiful location no lift beef wellington breakfast and evening meal lovely hotel superior room black pudding full welsh breakfast couldn't do enough night break stayed longer four poster tea and coffee warm welcome
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 505 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2020

Just returned from a two night stay and it is fair to say that the location of this hotel is superb. Positioned perfectly next two to a beautiful river the views never ceased to impress.The staff could not have been more friendly, starting with the welcome, which was followed by a lovely Sunday roast. Breakfast and evening meal the following day were both equally delicious. We would count ourselves a little unlucky with our room allocation. Located on the third floor, it was somewhat cramped, albeit the bathroom was spacious. Not that TV watching was any feature of the break but the flat screen TV in this room was laughingly tiny. The room would be unbearably hot in summer, I would imagine. Overall, a hotel well worth visiting!

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richcradd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2020 via mobile

We had booked a specific room but when we arrived we were given a sub-standard room. On the second day the shower from the room above leaked into our room - the hotel staff fixed it but didn't apologise. The food was ordinary (eg salad was lettuce and tinned peppers) and extremely overpriced. View from hotel is beautiful but it was a disappointing weekend in a hotel that didn't live up to the rave reviews.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Destination796849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2020 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here with our dog.
All staff we so lovely and friendly and not only did this make us feel good but settled our anxious dog.
Our room was quite small for the cost but had more than enough facilites for what we needed. The view was to die for so kind of made up for the cost.
We stayed on a b&b basis but had evening meals each day. Omg the food is delicious and fresh.
The gardens are so lovely and our Alfie
loved to roam in the area beyond the gardens.
Parking was easy
We would definitely cone back, and recommend

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kathy36s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2020

My wife and myself greatly enjoyed our previous visit to this beautifully located hotel witjh it's friendly staff (see previous review). We recently returned for a one night stay with very high expectations based on our first visit.

In the post Coronavirus world we were somewhat surprised by the contrast of our experience on this our second visit. Unfortunately, none of the river view rooms were available for our short stay. Room 6 at the rear of the hotel was very clean and more than adequate for our purposes but would not have been our preferred choice as it was not furnished to the same standard as the river view room we had chosen previously.

The major difference we found was that the hotel was short staffed on the night we stayed, which resulted in the bar being intermittently manned by the ever cheerful and helpful, but overworked staff. Courtenay the new waitress who had just started that night did particularly well in difficult circumstances. However my major disappointment came as a result of the difference in quality of my dinner. The Smoked Salmon starter was bland, the main of Shin Beef Wellington was undercooked and tough. My wife's dishes were adequate but unspectacular compared to the the sublime meals we experienced on our previous visit. We suspect that the hotel's head chef was not on duty that night, or has left in the intervening period following our February visit.

Some of the Covid 19 precautions were a little intrusive and irritating in their pedantry, to ourselves, who have worked all through lockdown. All staff wore finger marked visors, which whilst being acceptable and necessary appeared to be uncomfortable judging by the amount of taking on and off and adjusting of them we witnessed. The one way system was effective but cumbersome for those with limited mobility.

Finally, two days after we left, my wife recieved a call requesting an additional payment as a result of the room rate being incorrectly calculated on our final bill. This was duly paid, although the fault was entirely the hotel's and they should have swallowed the result of their own error. This is a four star hotel not a cheap B & B!

We will consider our options very carefully before making a third visit because of the variation in the consistency of the quality of our experience on our two visits. The hotel is in a beautiful location and the river view rooms are lovely and well worth their money. However, the staffing issues need urgently addressing like the leaking restaurant conservatory roof, which leaked on both of our visits as a result of heavy rain.

Room tip: Pay the extra for a river view room, it's well worth it.
Date of stay: August 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2020 via mobile

Just returned from a 3 night break at this wonderful hotel. Rooms are spacious and would recommend a river view room. The views and gardens are amazing and so quiet and relaxing. Food was lovely with a good choice for breakfast and evening meal. Staff really attentive and friendly. We will definitely be paying this gem of a hotel another visit.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank wilso488G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews