We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff”
Review of The Gwydyr Hotel

The Gwydyr Hotel
Ranked #20 of 31 Restaurants in Betws-y-Coed
Cuisines: British, Bar
Description: The Gwydyr Hotel is a beautiful property which dates back to the early 1800s. Originally a small private dwelling, the property was extended to become a hotel in the 1880s. Lying in the heart of Snowdonia the Gwydyr Hotel is surrounded by some of the most picturesque scenery in North Wales. Situated in the centre of the pretty village of Betws-y-Coed and overlooking the delightful village green, the hotel provides the perfect setting for a relaxing and memorable break. The Gwydyr Hotel is particularly well known to people who find their greatest pleasure in fishing and the history of local Salmon and Trout catches can still be viewed to this day. All ground floor rooms have roaring log fires for those cold gloomy days. As you would expect, our service is friendly and attentive, the atmosphere relaxed and easy. cosy up to the log fire with a pint of real ale, order coffees and homemade cakes or relax with an afternoon cream tea, whichever you choose, you will be guaranteed a welcome
Restaurant details
Description: The Gwydyr Hotel is a beautiful property which dates back to the early 1800s. Originally a small private dwelling, the property was extended to become a hotel in the 1880s. Lying in the heart of Snowdonia the Gwydyr Hotel is surrounded by some of the most picturesque scenery in North Wales. Situated in the centre of the pretty village of Betws-y-Coed and overlooking the delightful village green, the hotel provides the perfect setting for a relaxing and memorable break. The Gwydyr Hotel is particularly well known to people who find their greatest pleasure in fishing and the history of local Salmon and Trout catches can still be viewed to this day. All ground floor rooms have roaring log fires for those cold gloomy days. As you would expect, our service is friendly and attentive, the atmosphere relaxed and easy. cosy up to the log fire with a pint of real ale, order coffees and homemade cakes or relax with an afternoon cream tea, whichever you choose, you will be guaranteed a welcome
Reviewed 25 July 2021

Very friendly staff thank you Jane for being so nice friendly and helpful really enyojed my lunch there

Date of visit: July 2021
1  Thank Kondi666
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2021 via mobile

We had made a reservation for dinner for 4 people about a month before our visit. However when we arrived we were advised that there was a waiting time to be served of 1 hour. This was because people without a reservation were accommodated, which is fine provided the restaurant can serve everyone in a reasonable time which they could not.
Having waited over an hour to be served, the food was cold and really poor and the staff totally disinterested.
There are some good restaurants in the area, this is not one of them, it is probably the worst

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank Mel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 July 2021

Most places were fully booked but this had space, so despite the terrible reviews, we gave it a go. Everything appears ok when you arrive in terms of decoration and ambience, but that all changes when you meet the first member of staff who points you to a table with no grace, gratitude and any sense welcome. Ordering is by QR code on the table (which opens an online wording system on your phone) which means service is actually none existent. That said when staff do appear to present food and drink, they have all been trained by the same person... a person who you would not want to meet on a deserted street. The food is basic at the most basic level, more 1970's pub than 2020's restaurant, which at least matches the service. Please read this review and plenty of other reviews and do not let them have your money until they actually start to give a damn and up their game at some level. Not hard to do given how poor it currently is.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank shreddie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 July 2021 via mobile

We had a booking here for dinner at 745. On arrival, we were told all the bookings had been cancelled as they had let too many walk ins sit and didn’t have our table anymore. As far as I knew this is not how restaurants run and with no one else in the village taking walk ins, we are unable now to have any dinner. Absolutely terrible way to run a restaurant and if they can’t manage to run a booking system, I doubt they are able to do much else.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank BeccaT34
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 July 2021 via mobile

Tonight, we visited this hotel for dinner. After track and trace we were shown to our table and given the instruction to order food/drink through an app. No issues so far. Ordered the food/drink and then we waited, and waited, and waited. 2 tables that were in after us were given food but still we waited. 50 minutes passed so I spoke to the only visible member of staff - the guy behind the bar. Who then said service for food was between 45-60 minutes. I personally hope this isn’t the target time for this place because it’s not very ambitious. He said he’d get someone to check on my food and get back to me. 20 minutes passed and I still hadn’t heard anything. My girlfriend decided enough was enough and decided to tell them we wanted a refund. She was told that someone would need to come our table in order to process a refund (convenient). 2 minutes later our food magically arrived. Chilli corn carne ridiculously over spiced. Other dish was average, poor condiments on offer as well. So all in all, 70 minute wait for food for average food at best. Service was non existent. Clearly short staffed. On the topic of staff - one young guy wore his covid mask under his chin the entire time we were there and another member of staff completely blanked me when I let him by me when I went to the toilet.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank thomsonr91
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Gwydyr Hotel also viewed

Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to The Gwydyr Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.