We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice lunch and attentive quick service”
Review of The Gwydyr Hotel

The Gwydyr Hotel
Ranked #19 of 32 Restaurants in Betws-y-Coed
Cuisines: British, Bar
Description: The Gwydyr Hotel is a beautiful property which dates back to the early 1800s. Originally a small private dwelling, the property was extended to become a hotel in the 1880s. Lying in the heart of Snowdonia the Gwydyr Hotel is surrounded by some of the most picturesque scenery in North Wales. Situated in the centre of the pretty village of Betws-y-Coed and overlooking the delightful village green, the hotel provides the perfect setting for a relaxing and memorable break. The Gwydyr Hotel is particularly well known to people who find their greatest pleasure in fishing and the history of local Salmon and Trout catches can still be viewed to this day. All ground floor rooms have roaring log fires for those cold gloomy days. As you would expect, our service is friendly and attentive, the atmosphere relaxed and easy. cosy up to the log fire with a pint of real ale, order coffees and homemade cakes or relax with an afternoon cream tea, whichever you choose, you will be guaranteed a welcome
Restaurant details
Description: The Gwydyr Hotel is a beautiful property which dates back to the early 1800s. Originally a small private dwelling, the property was extended to become a hotel in the 1880s. Lying in the heart of Snowdonia the Gwydyr Hotel is surrounded by some of the most picturesque scenery in North Wales. Situated in the centre of the pretty village of Betws-y-Coed and overlooking the delightful village green, the hotel provides the perfect setting for a relaxing and memorable break. The Gwydyr Hotel is particularly well known to people who find their greatest pleasure in fishing and the history of local Salmon and Trout catches can still be viewed to this day. All ground floor rooms have roaring log fires for those cold gloomy days. As you would expect, our service is friendly and attentive, the atmosphere relaxed and easy. cosy up to the log fire with a pint of real ale, order coffees and homemade cakes or relax with an afternoon cream tea, whichever you choose, you will be guaranteed a welcome
Reviewed 15 June 2021

We called in on a busy Sunday afternoon to be seated immediately in the rear garden decked area.
Service was very good and quick.
All our lunches were cooked perfectly and deserts were gorgeous.
The hotel looked very smart and clean a d after looking at pictures online it will definitely be one that I’ll look at if returning to Betws y Coed .

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank M9216ZQjuliep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2021

Absolutely disgusting

Took over hour to be served
One ordered drink was not brought

Ordered belly pork

Frozen chips
Frozen peas
4 mouthfuls Pork first one inedible left the rest

Cost £13.50

You could have made this £2.50 at home buying from supermarket

Even rats wouldn't eat it

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank 535judith1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2021

Worst experience of eating a pub ever... Grabbed a table on Sunday evening as the pub we wanted to go to was full. The table had some plates on that hadn't been cleared but was the only table free. Ordered on the app, drinks arrived 20 minutes later and we asked the staff member if he could clear the tables who said he will get someone to clear them. Fast forward to an hour after ordering - no food and dirty plates still on table. I took the plates into the bar and stated that they had been on our table for over an hour to which the 3 members of staff behind the bar shouted at me to say I shouldn't sit on a dirty table. I expressed this was not acceptable to which they just shouted the same thing. A staff member came out to clear some glasses outside and stated to us they have a policy to not clear tables if people are still sat on them!? What if you want a couple of drinks after your meal, are you meant to sit there with dirty plates hanging around? I have never been to a pub over the many years of visiting them where they have a policy to not clear tables. We were also told the app stated that there would be an hour wait for food but we saw nothing to tell us this and looking at the reviews other customers also had no warning. Food came over an hour after ordering of which was sub-par for the money but edible. This particular staff member was the only one who had any customer service that worked there it seemed. We left, walked around Betwys-y-coed, got in car and drove past.... plates still on the table!

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank P3305BCtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2021 via mobile

Came here for drinks only. Had to order our drinks through their app. After placing our order 20 mins had passed so we went to the bar to ask where the drinks were. I could see our drinks on one of the trays at the bar and was told our drinks will get made now. Another 5 mins passed and I went back to the bar just to cancel the order but the suddenly found our order and because they had been out on the bar for so long theyd gone flat. Definitely won't be visiting again

Date of visit: June 2021
2  Thank aj1soad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2021 via mobile

We were here a week or so ago, and the meal was beautiful! Well cooked and presented. Great service too.. Brilliant!!! ❤️

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank granny taff p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gwydyr Hotel also viewed

Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to The Gwydyr Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.