We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all cost , just now a slate shop with terrible service and worse food”

The Buffet Coach Cafe
Ranked #20 of 32 Restaurants in Betws-y-Coed
Cuisines: Cafe
Description: Take a trip back in time in this MK 1 (Buffet Car) that offers a wide range of drinks and meals that are served daily as well as serving breakfast until 12:30 pm.
Restaurant details
Description: Take a trip back in time in this MK 1 (Buffet Car) that offers a wide range of drinks and meals that are served daily as well as serving breakfast until 12:30 pm.
Reviewed 12 May 2021

Visited 11th May 2021 and was a disgrace. Poor service, more interested in selling slate products when you can eventually get someone’s attention.

Cold microwave food. Over priced took forever to arrive. Staff rude more interested in gossiping. The train has obviously had no upkeep and just now one big billboard for slate sales.
On first look wondering if they still sold food as look more of a shop for slate sales.
Such a shame this has been let go so badly over lockdown think health and hygiene should pay a visit after leaving the platform and noticing the outside fan from kitchen area and dirty windows.if we had seen this first would never had eaten there.
So disappointed as our first visit before lockdown was amazing, warm welcoming and home cook food. And really wanted to use for of walking stops.
Will not be returning. And definitely not recommending to our walking groups that visit.

Date of visit: May 2021
2  Thank wendy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2020 via mobile

stopped in Betwys y coed for some shopping and called into the Buffet coach due to covid you cannot sit inside but outside is equally nice in a covered area so if it’s raining outside you are still dry.
we used to bring our daughter here when she was little and loved going into the buffet car.
the coffee was hot and really nice we also had tuna baguette and a bowl of chips and i have to say well worth the wait.

Date of visit: November 2020
2  Thank 970michellep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2020 via mobile

We often pop in while on holiday for a drink here. Great service and friendly staff. Even with the new rules in place due to the current situation the staff were as always brilliant. It’s a really nice place to sit and enjoy a drink and a snack. Love the coffee here. Will be back again.

Date of visit: August 2020
1  Thank 588bexk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2020

Great service ,warm welcome . Very reasonable price . Warm fresh scones very tasty. You can view the little train from this cafe

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank nmjon21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2020 via mobile

We came here for for breakfast and loved the decor inside. Enjoyed our breakfasts. Shame there werent any vegetarian sausages and i somehow managed to keep going to cafes for breakfast that had no glamorgan sausages!

Date of visit: January 2020
3  Thank 7,890,123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Buffet Coach Cafe also viewed

Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Trefriw, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to The Buffet Coach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.