We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$134
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/05/21
Hotels.com
US$134
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/05/21
Agoda.com
US$140
US$121
View deal
SAVE US$19
Free cancellation until 21/05/21
PricelineUS$132
Trip.comUS$134
HurbUS$140
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (723)
Filter reviews
723 results
Traveller rating
219
237
119
71
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
219
237
119
71
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swallow falls the pub main building both nights double room beautiful location north wales salmon campsite snowdon base
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 723 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2020 via mobile

Stayed here a few nights. Lady on reception at check in was lovely and really friendly. Facilities aren’t the best and the place is a bit run down and tired. Probably was a nice place many decades ago but looks like it’s had no money spent on it in a long time. The bar and restaurant was our biggest negative. Food was terrible, lasagne was awful and I only ate two bites of it and not cheap at around £11, fish and chips was equally poor. Barman was rude and obnoxious and the place was rather dirty. Shame really, it’s a lovely looking building and right opposite the waterfalls but 2 miles up a huge hill from Betws-y-coed town.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank GerardB1755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter JONES, Owner at Swallow Falls Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2020

Thank you for your review. We are in the process of updating all our rooms etc. We have already done half the YHA rooms and will start on the Hotel in the next few weeks. I am sorry that the bar man was rude and have had a word with him.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2020 via mobile

We rang to book an overnight stop for our motorhome. Wh⁸en we arrived there was plenty space in the carpark for which we could have paid £2 however we had elected for an electric hookup so this was £16 for a little fenced off space at the end of the carpark.
We went over to the bar for something go eat and if it hadn't been a good 2 mile walk into Betws-y-Coed would have walked straight out again.
Shabby and not clean. Area we were directed to had dirty tables covered in marks and crumbs and food bits all over the floor.
Just not on at anytime but particularly poor in these times.
Wouldnt go back.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Seasonedraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2020

We booked a twin room. Once in the room we found that there was a double bed and a sofa, the sofa bed had a fausty smell and very uncomfortable to sleep on. There was no heating in the room and the towel dryer was not working. The site handy man explained that the a plumber had been working on the boiler and this had not been switched back on.... Once he realised we had a heat from the radiator but not the towel dryer. I find the boiler story a tad boring as we have stayed here several time and get a story about the boiler not working. To be honest the whole place is looking rather tired and in need of paint and refurb.also staff could do with a course on manners and how to talk to guest. Like not answer a phone call while talking to us.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Champchimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2020 via mobile

TLDR: better explanation of facilities is needed.

This review has also been posted to Google Maps.

We visited yesterday and having parked in the car park (P&D, £2, refundable on purchase) we went to check out the bar and use the facilities on the way to Swallow Falls, intending to pop in for a drink on the way back. There were signs for the bar and toilets from the car park, which we followed, but they promptly disappeared on turning the corner. Passing several doors that were either exit only or seemed to lead nowhere, we chanced upon the disabled/baby changing toilet, which we both used having confirmed nobody in the vicinity appeared in greater need of it.

As I waited for my wife, a lady in cleaning PPE appeared and waited next to me. As my wife came out, she told us it was a disabled toilet. My wife stated that we couldn't find any other toilets, and was told we should have gone into the bar. She was very abrupt and made no effort to explain why she was pointing this out.

Our problem with this is threefold. Firstly, like many people, I have a hidden disability. While I'll use regular toilets if I can, sometimes I cannot, and those times include when I'm unable to communicate enough to locate alternative toilets, so I'll use an accessible one. There is nothing wrong with this and I wouldn't be made to feel as if there is or have to explain myself. Second, given the current regulations, I would have thought anything that kept us outside and away from others was a more important factor than a waitress's false assumptions about disabilities. Finally, for anyone who does have the requisite mobility problems, the disabled toilet is located at the bottom of a steep gradient, which isn't ideal anyway!

Needless to say, we did not return for that drink.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Darrell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter JONES, Owner at Swallow Falls Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2020

Thank you for your review. Because of government guidelines customers are only allowed to use our toilets if frequenting our establishment as we have to track and trace everybody. Our staff are having a difficult time trying to police this, but we are trying to do our best in difficult circumstances. We understand that a lot of people are exempt, but we do get an awful lot of people who think they can just come in and use our toilets. It may help if people who are exempt would explain that they are exempt ,, they do not have to explain their circumstances. These are trying times for everyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2020

The hotel is dated. We where in the outside lodge which was very dark inside, smelt of damp, very poor tv connection and no WiFi. The steps are steep if you have a mobility issue. The outside is very uneven, again no good if you have mobility issues. The wall paper was peeling damp in bathroom whole in wall. The breakfast area is in the main building, so don’t forget your coat or umbrella ☔️ if your in the lodge room. The breakfast room is outdated alright if you have only paid to camp. The service on the first two mornings was appalling. Very disorganisation, poor presentation the list is long. How ever on the last the day. There was one member of staff that was the only one out front she was professional organised and you didn’t have to ask for butter on your toast salt and pepper ect. And was so organised 10 of us all got our order and breakfast in recorded time, think there must of been another cook on. The staff where pleasant some just appeared to need more training. The rooms couldn’t be cleaned due to regulations at this time, but it was not a problem getting milk or extra tea/coffee. And reception staff happy to help. From the outside looks lovely the area is lovely but it’s not somewhere I would stop again. It’s more a hostel than a hotel. Can’t comment on rooms in the hotel.

Room tip: Visit the falls over the road
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nursedee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter JONES, Owner at Swallow Falls Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2020

Thank you for your review and comments. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. And apologise if breakfast was disorganised like most businesses in the area we are doing our best with shortage of staff because of Covid. We have never had WiFi in rooms as we are too far from the exchange and it is only available in public areas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews