We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don’t bother”
Review of Cadwaladers

Cadwaladers
Price range: US$0 - US$12
Cuisines: Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Description: Cadwaladers was established in 1927 in the little village of Criccieth by David and Hannah Cadwalader. Over the years, we have expanded our popular ice cream and coffee cafes all over Wales and England, bringing the best quality service and products to our customers. We are proud to still serve our traditional recipe ice cream developed by Hannah Cadwalader (which still includes the famously secret ingredient!) and now our specially developed exclusive blend of espresso, hot chocolate and loose leaf tea which have been designed to redefine the standards of excellence in hot beverages. With our competitive prices, special products and caring team, we can assure you that we can provide options for all the family, including gluten free ice cream and cakes.So bring your friends, children, partner and dogs! To our lovely cosy cafés and relax in comfort whilst our friendly team treat you to the very best Wales can bring, served with a great deal of love and care.
Reviewed 28 July 2021

I asked the young lady behind the counter if this was dairy ice cream but she didn’t know. So I’m guessing made from vegetable oil???we both had vanilla in a tub . This was overpriced and not very flavoursome! Going to try next doors Dairy ice cream because I know what I’m getting!!!

Date of visit: July 2021
1  Thank charlespC3981ZT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine T, Owner at Cadwaladers, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2021

Hello :) Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. We appreciate feedback, good or bad, we are sorry to hear that your experience wasn't to the high standards we expect as a company. Please, could you email feedback@cadwaladers.com with more details including the date, time and the exact items you purchased so we can look into your visit and we will ensure we get back to you. Kind Regards, Cath Cadwaladers Online Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2021

Enjoyed our ice cream’s today , the family had 5 different varieties all very tasty and delicious.
I had the Maltesser flavour in a waffle cone , which was yummy.
The girl behind the counter was friendly,helpful and polite , the price is what you would expect to pay for a scooped ice cream at an ice cream parlour.
A lovely treat for the family on a hot summers day in a great location.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank T9343VKrachelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine T, Owner at Cadwaladers, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2021

Hello :) Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and especially please you loved our Ice Cream. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Cath Cadwaladers Online Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2021 via mobile

Stopped here for some ice creams and milkshake after our walk last week. The milkshake was large and had no taste, we watched her top the cup up with extra milk because we ordered a large and what was in the blender obviously wasn't enough. The ice creams were charged at different prices to the wall and quite expensive. We unfortunately won't be returning!

Date of visit: March 2021
1  Thank shodiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine T, Public Relations Manager at Cadwaladers, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2021

Hello :) Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. We appreciate feedback, good or bad, we are sorry to hear that your experience wasn't the best on this visit, Please, could you email feedback@cadwaladers.com with more details including the date, time and the exact items you purchased so we can look into your visit and we will ensure we get back to you. Kind Regards, Cath Cadwaladers Online Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2020

Been wanting to try their traditional ice cream for a while - so disappointing - watery and quite tasteless not to mention expensive.

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank T571QMrickp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine T, Public Relations Manager at Cadwaladers, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2021

Hello :) Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. We appreciate feedback, good or bad, we are sorry to hear that your experience wasn't to the high standards we expect as a company. Please, could you email feedback@cadwaladers.com with more details including the date, time and the exact items you purchased so we can look into your visit and we will ensure we get back to you. Kind Regards, Cath Cadwaladers Online Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2020

Absolutely overwhelmed with how lovely the staff were at cadwaladers today! A lovely, well mannered young man served us. The ice cream in general was just out of this world but to have great service along with it was just the icing on the cake! Thankyou very much!!!

Date of visit: November 2020
2  Thank A6396EEpaulj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine T, Public Relations Manager at Cadwaladers, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2021

Hello :) Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit.
we hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Cath
Cadwaladers Online Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cadwaladers also viewed

Criccieth, Gwynedd
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Cadwaladers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.