We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,060)
Filter reviews
1,060 results
Traveller rating
552
333
112
41
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
552
333
112
41
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the grill stables bar stables lodge sunday lunch superior room lovely hotel lamb fish and chips welsh rarebit north wales lovely room both nights annex snowdonia rear walks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,060 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2020

We had pre-booked for a meal as a group of 4. On entering the hotel our temperatures were taken but I am not sure if the values were read.
We ate in The Grill Room and had great food - the Festive lunches of duck and turkey were very nice, without being overpowering. The puddings were also great, as were the glasses of house white. The issue was purely related to the service - not through any actions of the staff. It was more the in-actions! Slow to remove plates and glasses (it wasnt too busy and there were quite a few staff). More concerning were a few basic Covid precautions being 'stretched'-
- menus were shared between tables (and were laminated) - no sign of cleaning between uses
- the staff were incorrectly wearing masks - not fully covering the nose as well as mouth
- cutlery handled directly when delivered
- handling payment cards directly

a few basic controls were missing which removed that feeling of being safe ......

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grahambU3462HG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2020 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights 30th nov to 3rd dec. Staff really friendly and helpful. Very quiet due to covid. Breakfast really nice. Had sandwiches in the afternoon which again were really nice. Good size room. (Superior). Warm clean and comfy bed. Ate 1 night in the stablau . Menu is limited at the moment . I had a lamb burger which was nice. Great location. Management should be proud of their staff. Wouldnt hesitate to return

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2020 via mobile

Stayed for two nights whilst exploring the area for the first time. This hotel was recommended to us by friends and we would recommend it to others and stay again. Great location in betws y coed, ample free parking. Plenty of lovely walks around and local shops. Felt comfortable and safe although the halls could do with updating as they were a bit tired and fousty.
Tea, coffee, biscuits etc provided in the rooms and restocked daily with them being left by the door. Would be a nice touch for the hotel to also provide bottled water and body lotion etc like most other hotels do.
Breakfast was nice, good booking system to ensure that it was quiet. However not much choice at all for vegetarians or vegans- only thing on menu was a sweet waffle which is fine for one day but not two so more choice needed!!
We ate in the stables bar one evening and food was better than expected in there- pleasantly surprised and plenty of options. The music coming from stables is quite loud so we were glad they had to turn it off at 10pm when we were back in our room as you could hear it loudly which was quite annoying when trying to relax

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank rhianyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2020

My wife and I visited the hotel in September 2020 for 2 nights. Hotel was clean, warm and staff extremely friendly. Breakfast was excellent and evening meal was very good.
Will always go back to the Royal Oak hotel in the future and highly recommended.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DrMansour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2020

We initially decided to sit outside under the heater. The lady who showed us to our table was very pleasant, took our details and temperatures. She did ask for ID to confirm our surname which we found unusual but we provided it. When we were sat we noticed no other household were asked to prove their surname or produce id . It seemed a very much pick and choose system. We ordered our food , and after 30 minutes of waiting, we decided to ask to move inside where it was warmer. We politely asked the waiter to which he responded “you what” multiple times. He agreed to go and check inside for a table. In the mean time Our food was brought outside to our table by a waitress and we explained we were just waiting to see if we could be moved inside. The waiter who initially said he would check rudely shouted at us “I told you i was going to check you’ll have to wait”. We were happy to wait but his attitude and mannerism was totally unacceptable, making both us and the waitress feel embarrassed and uncomfortable. We then thought it was too much of a hassle and agreed with the waitress to stay outside and thanked her for our food. Approximately 5 minutes later the waiter approached our table and said we could move inside whenever we pleased, however did not offer to help move our food or drinks. We had a dog, bags and one of us had a broken arm so it was clear help was required. We kindly rejected the “offer” and remained sat outside. The Welsh rarebit was not rarebit ... it was cheese on toast. The chips were like soggy cornflakes. We eat half of the food and left promptly. We will not be returning. I would just like to add the actual restaurant was very quiet with it being 3 pm on a Wednesday afternoon, I dread to think how guest would be treated during busier seasons/times.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kt_tur198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews