We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Fish and chips !!!”

Hen Siop Pont-Y-Pair
Price range: US$8 - US$16
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed 18 September 2020

Very conveniently located on the bridge by the falls centrally in Betws (Betyoos not Betsy!!) Y-Coed. Eaten quite a few times and always happy with taste, and cooking/heat of food. The patio is closed at the moment due to distancing laws so I ate them on the rocks by the falls . They also do a large array of ice creams so pop in for a look

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MikeStourbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2020 via mobile

We stopped here after a long day traveling, thought it must be good because of the queue outside.

We had three cod and 2 large chips. We wanted large cod but they only have a standard size of cod but it’s large so we weren’t at all disappointed. The batter was great and the chip portion generous. Our fussy eater said it was the best fish ever!

The service was great, they took card but the following visit for ice cream they didn’t which I believe was more a technical hitch.
The food was ready quickly but also freshly cooked which is important to me.

They also adhere to current guidelines of face masks, limited people in the shop at any one time and plenty of sanitizer. I would recommend eating food here and after 8pm seemed quieter then other times

Date of visit: August 2020
1  Thank 554wendys
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 August 2020 via mobile

We drove through and saw a massive queue for one fish shop so drove up the road and discovered this one. There wasn’t a queue so thought we’d try it....what a disappointment we ordered 2 adults meals and 3 kids meals to take away... we got the meals in parts meaning food was getting cold whilst waiting for the rest there was far too much salt on them it’s all you could taste and the fish was very wet!!! I see why there wasn’t a queue it also wasn’t I e listening to the young girls getting yelled at!!!!! Not professional

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank Hilmjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 November 2019

Stopped off for lunch on the way home after a great day out , we both had the special (fish ,chips mushy peas bread +butter with a drink } it was amazing .The fish was so beefy and succulent highly recommended.

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Pauline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 October 2019

Along with the sweet shop next door, the cafe opposite and some other businesses in the town, this is 'cash only' - they refer customers to the cash machine outside (part of their premises) but that wasn't working (neither were the other two we were aware of in the town that day). Get into the 21st century!

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Hen Siop Pont-Y-Pair also viewed

Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Hen Siop Pont-Y-Pair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.