We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (273)
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveller rating
130
82
31
15
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
82
31
15
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews public car park homemade pies bread and butter pudding popular with the locals steak and ale pie the pub wonderful meal booked last minute sunday lunch hotel is situated top floor plenty of choice warm welcome top quality one night stay local produce little gem
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 273 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2017 via mobile

I booked with the hotel direct rather than through a site. I got the double en suite for single occupation.
When I walked upstairs I was a little wary about the decor. Nothing wrong, just looked a little dated. However, what a super place!!
The room faces towards the front and the busy road. But, no worry, the secondary glazing kept the noise outside beautifully. The bed is the most comfortable one I have ever slept in. And the pillows were absolutely perfect too. Like resting on a cloud.!!
Now the breakfast is ginournous and I could not finish it. Absolutely delicious, every little piece of it. I ll be back!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank Chrissy1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017

Oh my word just got back from a excellent stay . From start to finish a true delight. Super dog friendly. Food in the evening absolutely excellent specials really worth a look. Comfortable in every aspect. Room clean and comfortable. Tea and coffee making equipment and biscuits . Breakfast superb super fresh ingredients presented well a real treat.
Staff and proprietors so friendly nothing to much trouble. We simply didn't want to leave so stayed another night. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kimberleybrown68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017

We stopped here for food over the Easter break and had a wonderful meal. The food was delicious and had that real home cooked feel. Each course was perfect.
The staff were extremely welcoming and friendly. Would love to visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

After camping for a few days we treated ourselves to a proper bed for the night. We booked last minute and the staff were lovely and polite. We had our dog with us too who was allowed in the room and bar. Breakfast was set up in the bar instead of the lounge so that our dog could stay with us.

The only bad points were the shower had incredibly low pressure, and was either scalding or freezing but this may be as we were on the top floor. And the hotel was advertised as having parking which it does not. So you either have to pay for parking in the town or park about 500m up the road where it's free if you manage to find a space.

We will definitely be back!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Annie3331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017

Went here as we were advised that all the restaurants would be packed & we should book a table. Got the last table. Food was really good with huge portions of home cooked food. Unfortunately, there were 2 large parties in there and they were so loud we couldn't here each other speak.

Overall we had 2 really good meals in a very popular pub.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews