We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
White Waters Country Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$126
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bryn Howel Hotel(Llangollen)
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Llangollen Hostel(Llangollen)(Great Value!)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Hand Hotel(Llangollen)
US$130
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bridge End Hotel(Llangollen)
US$103
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$97
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Britannia Inn(Llangollen)
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (805)
Filter reviews
805 results
Traveller rating
419
230
83
43
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
419
230
83
43
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsluxury roomvip roomthe riverdecking areasunday carverylovely hotelcooked breakfastcourse mealbar foodlast minute bookingspa facilitiesfood was lovelyroom was spotlessdinas branboth nightstwo night staygroup of friends
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 805 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2017

The room was extremely clean and pleasant. The service was friendly and welcoming.
It is an older building so for anyone that dislikes this, this hotel may not appeal and it is not sound proof but for us it was not an issue. Would stay again.

Room Tip: If car noise is an issue for you ensure your room is not on the side by the road (though traffic is rare & we had no problem with it).
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank I_Cam_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Thank you for your review on White Waters Country Hotel.

I am pleased you found the housekeeping standard high and enjoyed your stay here.

As you say it is a very old building with new additions added and also has differant styles of decor mixing old and new to try to appeal to all tastes.

I am delighted you would stay again in the future.

Thank you your review is much apprecaited.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

I stayed here for three nights in total. This hotel has been full restored from a near ruin and is beautifully appointed. The rooms are a good size with comfortable beds. The only let down in the rooms I stayed in were that they still had old CRT TV's so I couldn't review video footage I'd taken via an HDMI cable from my video camera to the TV.
The meals were of good quality at a mid range price. Ask to have a room with a view over the Dee Valley it's worth the price.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to place a review on White Waters Hotel.

It is lovely to read you enjoyed your stay here and appreciated the restoration of this beautiful building perfectly situated on the banks of the River Dee - a huge selling point in lovely weather.

Regarding your little gripe we only have a couple of the old style TV's to replace now and unfortunately you must have had one of those few ones remaining. If you would have mentioned it to anyone of us we could have swapped a TV around averting the problem. I am pleased it didn't spoil your stay.

Your review is very much apprecaited.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for a friends wedding and we were so disappointed, reviews looked good which was why I booked, when we checked in and we got to the room we could not comprehend how hot it was, it was unbelievable! We were melting with the ceiling fan and a separate fan provided going full chat and the window wide open, really sucked that there was people outside smoking and filling the room up with smoke! It was the room above the sauna and oh boy could you tell, they have a cheek asking for money for it, also twice being accosted by a half naked old man in the lift was not fun, no mate I don’t want to talk to you with your flabby stomach hanging out! Service on the restaurant took forever too, hardly a great establishment. Staff were polite but the place left a lot to be desired, extremely disappointed.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Thank you for your review.

I am very dissapointed on reading your review of your stay here.

Firstly if only you had reported to reception that your room was unbearably hot we could have most certainely moved you to another room for your own comfort. If we don't know about any issues you had we can't rectify them. To be perfectly honest when we allocate rooms directly above the spa we mention to the guests that these rooms can be warm and most people say they don't mind or if they prefer a cooler room we are more than happy to accomodate any requests. Some of these rooms have the best river views so are very popular.

Guests are asked to use robes if visiting the spa so this issue you encountered was beyond our control.

Overall I am sorry you were dissapointed with your stay but I cannot stress enough that if anyone has a problem we can only act on it if it is reported to reception.

I appreciate your feedback but from your review I think we can safely say you won't be returning.

Regards

Sarah Davies
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

Our third visit to this great hotel with it's spectacular river views. The weather was good and we were able to sit out in the sun on the decking over looking the river with our drinks, which is what this place is all about! As usual the staff could not do enough for us including carrying luggage to room, ensuring we had everything we wanted and generally making us feel at home. The food as usual was very good and couldn't be faulted as was the comprehensive breakfast menu. Recommend highly to anyone looking for a quiet, comfortable, friendly stay! Looking forward to going back in April!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Thank you for reviewing White Waters Country Hotel.

Thank you your lovely review is a delight for all of us to read and we are so happy you thoroughly enjoyed your little break.

The decking area is a big pull for people to visit the hotel and when the weather performs we are rewarded with extra custom and hopefully contented customers such as yourselves.

We look forward to you returning next year.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Yes, the hotel is a little tired, but there's no lack of enthusiasm or service from the staff and it's clean and well managed. Not sure what else you could want for the reasonable price. The breakfast was good and they even went out of their way to provide bar food when we returned early from a disappointing night out. The staff were very helpful and friendly, thanks.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joolstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Thank you for your review.

It is lovely to read your kind words on our service and staff enthusiasm as it is very moral boosting for us all to know our efforts are appreciated.

Thank you and your review will help others decide on a visit or perhaps a stay here at the hotel.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews