We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$121
US$117
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hand Hotel(Llangollen)
US$124
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bridge End Hotel(Llangollen)
US$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Britannia Inn(Llangollen)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Mulberry Inn(Llangollen)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Llangollen Hostel(Llangollen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chainbridge Hotel(Llangollen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (820)
Filter reviews
820 results
Traveller rating
424
232
86
46
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
424
232
86
46
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsluxury roomvip roomthe riverdecking areasunday carverylovely hotelcooked breakfastcourse mealspa facilitiesbar foodlast minute bookingfood was lovelyroom was spotlessdinas brantwo night stayfantastic viewsgroup of friends
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 820 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

So my girlfriend and I were originally planning on eating at a restaurant in the local town but when we got there they were full for the night.

Disappointed, we decided to head back in the direction of our holiday let and while driving back found the White Waters Country Hotel.

From stepping into the hotel I was greeted by a warm smile from behind the bar and after having a quick look at the menu decided that this was a good place to eat.

We were not disappointed, the food was exactly what we were after. Tasty, hearty and flavoursome. Because of this we opted for dessert even though we didn't need it. On top of this the service from all the staff made the experience even better.

Unfortunately because it was late by the time we got there we couldn't see the wonderful views from the restaurant but apparently it's stunning. Hopefully next time!

Check out the cool fish tank built into the bar. Made me smile.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank p4m4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Thank you for your review on White Waters Country Hotel.

I am delighted to read you review and that you enjoyed your dining experience here at the hotel. I am pleased that you were well looked after by all and appreciated our customer service which we think is most important to our guests.

We do hope you return and see the stunning views from the decking and riverside dining room.

Your review is very much appreciated.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

Stayed here for a local wedding, room was tiny, very dated and not particularly clean (multiple cobwebs above the bed).
Everything about the place seems run down and done on the cheap however we were charged well over £100.00 for 1 night.
I spend a lot of time in hotels with work and this one was terrible.

Never again.....

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teebee36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Thank you for your review.

It is very disappointing to read your comments on your recent stay here.

I am quite puzzled as we don't have any tiny rooms and our housekeeping is of a very high standard. Regarding cobwebs it is inevitable when windows are open in the warmer months that dust and insects can get in and a cobweb can appear overnight - I know from my own house!

We offer a competitive rate and weekends are the premium in the summer months but all Llangollen hotels are similar as it is a prime tourist area.

I assure you that there is constant maintenance going on as and when possible during the quieter periods.

It is obvious you won't be visiting again but thank you for your feedback.

Regards

Sarah Davies
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

We have just spent 4 nights here for a family birthday and get together. All the hotel staff were extremely friendly and accomodating - we couldn't fault them at all. The rooms were clean and comfortable if a little warm. The views were stunning. We would all definitely stay here again. Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alysons851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you for reviewing White Waters Hotel.

I am delighted that you & your family chose the hotel for a birthday celebration for a few days break. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the hospitality from all of the staff, we love to read feedback on our customer service and it gives us a little boost to know our customers were happy.

We do hope you return perhaps for another family celebration!

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

We arrived unplanned, having been let down that day by another hotel in the town. From first contact by phone all the White Waters team were welcoming, friendly and attentive. We had 3 nice rooms and ate both evenings in the restaurant; we don't usually eat in hotels, preferring to explore, but the menu looked interesting and had enough variation to tempt us back on the second evening. Breakfast was also good, a nicely cooked option as well as the usual buffet stuff. The team are connected by headsets so are hugely efficient and things happen very quickly. Other visitors have commented on those things which are ready for refresh; this is a fair observation, some carpets, curtains and tiles are ready for attention, but the cheerful efficient service from a fun team, nice food and fantastic views of the river still earns this great hotel 5 stars.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thank you for reviewing the hotel.

I am so pleased we could accommodate you at short notice and you and your friends were a delight to look after. It is wonderful to read your kind words regarding the team here as we do really enjoy are work.

Thank you for your feedback and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

We stayed here for our first anniversary and were so glad we chose this hotel. Even though the weather was not so great the setting for this hotel right on the river Dee was amazing. On our arrival we were given a free upgrade to the Lady Eleanor Suite which was a beautiful room with a huge four poster bed and views through the large Windows of the river and surrounding hills. Placed in our room was a complimentary bouquet of flowers and a bottle of wine ( lovely touch)·
The hotel is situated a short walk down the road from the town with its pubs and river side restaurants and the steam train station. Walks around the area are lovely along the river and canal.
We had a 3 course meal at the hotel in the evening which was delicious and the staff were so lovely and helpful . After dinner we had drinks in the cosey bar area.
After a great nights sleep we went down for breakfast and were not disappointed. Once again excellent service and a very tasty breakfast.
All in all we had a lovely stay here and would definitely return for another visit, and would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Thank tracyandwayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to place a review on White Waters Hotel.

I am delighted you chose White Waters Country Hotel for your special occasion and pleased that you appreciated the free upgrade to Lady Eleanor.

It is lovely to read you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and your review will be informative to other travellers visiting the area.

Your review is very much appreciated and we do hope you will revisit in the future.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews