We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (833)
Filter reviews
833 results
Traveller rating
430
236
88
46
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
430
236
88
46
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews luxury room the river decking area steam room sunday carvery cooked breakfast lovely hotel spa facilities course meal last minute booking bar food food was lovely group of friends two night stay fantastic views full english short break
Filter
Updating list...
377 - 382 of 833 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed at White Waters Country Hotel for 3 nights in July. We were welcomed by a very friendly receptionist and the owner of the hotel, who showed us the ground floor whilst the receptionist checked that our room was ready, as we had arrived early. Our room was a standard double side room, which overlooked an area of land and partially the A.5 road. It was a very pleasant room and very clean. The bed was comfortable. We had booked bed and breakfast, but we had evening meals there also, shoosing from an extensive menu. The breakfast was basic continental, but you had, if you so choose, the option to 'upgrade' to a cooked breakfast. The evening meal was well cooked and tasty, so can confidently recommend it. There was a large decking area with a fine view overlooking the River Dee, where meals could be had, weather permitting, and where visiting singers could entertain. It also has a short pleasant walk alongside the river, accessed by wooden steps down from the decking. Maybe not good for the less agile.
Although the hotel is on the A 5, it is very quiet at night, being about a mile out of lLangollen itself.
LLangollen is good for a weekend break, with walks and historical places to visit. We visited Valle Crucis Abby and walked up to the ruins of the old castle Plas Dinas overlooking the valley. The Pontcysyllte viaduct is also not far away, and worth a walk-across.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jethornber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Thank you for reviewing White Waters Country hotel.

I am delighted that you received a warm welcome - always a good start in my book.

Thank you for your positive comments on your room and that you found the standard of cleanliness very good. It's good to hear that you ate your evening meals here and that you found the menu extensive.

Your review gives other travellers an insight to visiting the hotel and also your mention of various places of interest to visit which is always good to go on a recommendation.

We do hope you return for a future visit.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed here whilst attending a wedding, booking for two nights with a new born baby. The room was a little on the small side but we had room to put up a travel cot and could still move around OK.

The hotel has a large decking area at the back which offers fabulous views of the river Dee and which is a lovely place to sit on a sunny day. We ate in the bar area on the first night and the food was nice but nothing special..the cooked breakfast the next day however was excellent.

The staff really made this hotel something better than the average stay, they were all warm, welcoming and friendly, from the bar through to the restaurant and reception desk. A great example of how customer service can really lift a hotel stay up to another level.

We would definitely stay again should we be in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel with a view over the river.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Blue_Speke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Thank you for your review.

I am very pleased that you found the decking area a pleasant place to sit and relax by the river. I appreciate your comments on the food and especially that you found the breakfast of a high standard.

It is very rewarding to read that you found all staff warm and welcoming- it's a boost for us to know our customer service is appreciated.

Thank you and if you return we could accommodate you and your family in a larger room.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Absolutely gorgeous hotel the staff were fantastic. Food was gorgeous rooms were lovely with an added fan which was needed as it was so hot.we had lunch . Dinner and breakfast and the breakfast was cooked fresh for you which i much better than a buffet style even ask how we want our eggs. .stayed in the hotel all day it was gorgeous only stayed the one night but I wanted to stay more. Can't wait to go back. Good price and food was fantastic. Good choice of wine
A hotel to be proud of the owners have got it perfect.
The setting is beautiful right on the river with stairs down. So tranquil. I just loved it and have told all my friends. Even trying to sell it to my friend for a wedding venue

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review on your stay. It is a delight to us all here to read that we have succeeded in making your visit such a happy one.

It's lovely that you enjoyed the food, wine, peace and tranquillity.

The hotel owners are delighted with your feedback and I do hope you visit again and please do tell all your friends.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. The views from the hotel are brilliant.Cannot fault the service, Breakfasts are excellent, however bar meals and drinks are a little expensive, but in contrast the views and hotel itself makes up for that.
Would definitely stay again.
The main stars of this hotel are, Ronnie 1 year parrot and Jess the labrador dog.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on White Waters Country Hotel.

It is lovely to read that our customer service was appreciated. The views are stunning and are very much appreciated by all.

We have an extensive menu which we think appeals to all tastes and have tried to offer a variety of competitively priced dishes. It is very important to use excellent locally sourced ingredients which may or may not be a little more expensive.

Ronnie's vocabulary is coming on so you must return to listen to him ( at the time of writing this he is whistling, chatting and making rather a lot of noise!) and Jess is a little star.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I booked this hotel at the last minute for a business trip and what a pleasant surprise, the room was very clean & tidy (a problem with the TV but was replaced in minutes), the food in the bar and restaurant was very good and reasonably priced, the best thing though is the decking area at the rear which overlooks the river which was fantastic making for a very pleasant relaxing evening after a long days work. This hotel is very competitively priced i will be staying here again..

Room Tip: book a river view room
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blueman1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay even though a working visit.

I am glad that you found the standard of food high and fairly priced - always good to hear.

The decking area is a beautiful spot to unwind and take in the scenery and I am delighted that you wish to return.

Thank you.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews