We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
68
15
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
68
15
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely en suite room pretty town convenient location walking distance steam railway comfortable rooms creaky floorboards excellent breakfast lovely place b and b a couple of minutes walk warm welcome across the bridge a lovely stay relaxing weekend town centre one night
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2018

A few of us booked into Squirrels on our Walking Group's away walk and what a lovely place. Lillian looked after us all very well. All the rooms were great. Breakfast was way above average and it is five minutes walk from the centre of Llangollen which is a great little town. Would certainly return here if I was ever in the vicinity.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyAMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018

While walking offas dyke path I made a small detour to spend an enjoyable night in the pretty town of Llangollen.Set in a splendid house I had a lovely en suite room and all the facilities you would expect.
After a good restful night my host the lovely proprietor Lillian Speake prepared a lovely breakfast and was anxious to ensure it was sufficient which it was

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

We love coming to Squirrels and this stay was just as wonderful. Lilian is so welcoming and the whole house is beautifully and stylishly arranged and cared for.

Breakfast - amazing! Generous portions, beautifully cooked and presented.

Plenty of easy parking, not always easy to find in Llangollen, and a short stroll to town to eat, or catch a steam train.

A beautiful, welcoming place in a really convenient location.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

We absolutely love this place and have just had another wonderful, relaxing weekend here. The room is gorgeous and the welcome warm. Breakfast is brilliantly cooked and presented and adapted for my husband's veg dodging tendencies! Lilian even bought mushrooms specially now that he eats those.

Perfectly located, with easy parking and really close to the steam railway and only a few minutes by foot to town.

We've already booked our next few stays.

Thanks again Lilian.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Squirrels is a large late Victorian house in a good location 5 mins from town centre but quiet (imagine it can get quite noisy). The owner is quiet and friendly. It’s reasonable value but the room we stayed in was pretty ordinary and quite cramped for a twin with luggage. But comfy beds. As a one night stop on The ODP it was fine, though Llangollen itself is a bit of a detour off the route you probably have no choice. And it does have plenty of restaurant choices.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank PaulS783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews