We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable hotel”
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2012

An excellent Sunday lunch followed by an afternoon in the lounge to watch rugby. Busy restaurant but service good and a cosy lounge to relax after.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bantamallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Thank you for your positive feedback on your recent visit. Good result in the rugby too - if you're a Welshman!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,162 - 1,166 of 1,338 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2012

Just stayed one night in the hotel and what a lovely treat. Everything was perfect - the room
the food and the staff were lovely, especially in the restaurant. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alenka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I treated my husband and myself to an evening and overnight stay as a christmas present bought from Travelzoo. We had booked a premium room and were not disappointed. The hotel is warm and welcoming, with a tartan decor. Our room was spacious, well decorated and very warm, with a view of the castle. We had a bottle of champagne on arrival and also two complimentary bottles of water and tea and coffee facilities. There was a bose radio and a decent sized tv. Bathroom was clean though we did ask for more toiletries which were brought up straight away.

Food was lovely, my starter was a twice baked souffle and my husband had the belly pork which was very yummy. Main course we both had the lamb served with dauphinoise potatoes and finally the pannecotte and cheese board.

After a very pleasnt nights sleep,breakfast was very nice and had a broad variety of choice from traditional Welsh to fresh kippers. Staff were polite and courtious throughout our stay. Conwy is a quiet village but has great access to the Snowdonia national park and is not far from Llandudno which has good shopping and a lovely promenade. We spent an hour or so having a coffee in the St George Hotel in Llandudno taking in the fantastic views, the weather unfortunatley let us down but did not not spoil a lovely day.
The Castle is set on the main street but a little difficult to get to due to one way system in town but its a small town so got there eventually.

Room Tip: Our room at the back of the hotel had a view of the castle,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2012

Thank you for writing.
We're all very pleased you enjoyed your stay and your food. It's a pity your weather wasn't too good, but I suppose it is February and we do generally get more than our fair share of sunshine. You'll have to come again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Stayed one night in Jan 2012 and sampled the bar (cosy), breakfast (very nice) and had a room upgrade which was worth it. The room was quiet and clean, bathroom pleasant and functional. The staff were helpful and friendly and I'll be back there again the next time I am in Conwy.

Room Tip: Rooms that are not over the bar are quieter and the upgrade to a premier/superior room was worth the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rog_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2012

We're pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to write. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

My sister and I have just returned from an overnight stay in the Castle Hotel. We booked a deal with Travelzoo and were allocated a twin room at the back of the hotel. The room was spacious, quiet, warm and welcoming.The staff at the hotel are lovely, very polite and helpful. The food we ate was terrific. Our starters were potato and herb pancake served with smoked haddock and a poached egg and a smooth pate with lovely local bread.The mains were braised welsh beef with horseradish/parsley mash and a cod fillet served with a small fishcake. We opted to share desserts of a pannecotte and a cheese and biscuits. The whole meal was well presented and tasted great.The meal was concluded in the lounge area with coffee and fudge. I would highly recommend this hotel as breakfast the next morning was also very good.The hotel has two car parks and we had no problem in finding a space. Conwy does not have much to offer for the shopper so we travelled to Llandudno ( 5 miles away) where there are more shops and a long flat promenade.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeyJudeManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2012

We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay and dining with us. We nearly always get fabulous comments about the friendliness and efficiency of the local people who work with us in the hotel and you also enjoyed their good service.
Thank you for writing such a nice review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
1.1 km away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,720 reviews
21.5 km away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,063 reviews
0.3 km away
Castlebank Hotel
Castlebank Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#15 of 60 in Llandudno
718 reviews
4.7 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,291 reviews
33.2 km away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Hotel High Street, Conwy LL32 8DB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Price Range: €74 - €148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Boutiquey' Town House Hotel in middle of World Heritage walled town. After many years of upgrades and restoration, this famous old Inn now offers contemporary styling mixed with 'arts & crafts' character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing