We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
9
5
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
5
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews games room granary cottage pool and hot tub riding lessons fantastic holiday maggie pigs animals dogs accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

They have lovely animals there and games and hot tube and cottage very views and Hoilday if want come to Wales in abergavenny they lots things to do and dogs and cats they very good they look very well they will ask you if you any think help with your cottage

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018

Our 3rd stay - and we've already booked our 4th & 5th! Such friendly hosts, with expert riding lessons on site, which my daughter loves. The kids love the animals too, especially giving the pigs a carrot or apple and any vegetable peelings for their breakfast.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggie s, Owner at Werngochlyn Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Thank you Jon. We are looking forward to seeing you all again in August.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

We’ve just had a week at this fantastic cottage. The owners were friendly, welcoming and informative.. we had the granary cottage which had tradional farm cottage feel. The cottage was spacious for three adults one child and two dogs. The cottage was well equipped with a bathtub in one bathroom and a shower in the other. We were provided with information of where everything was and there were access to horse riding and daily free eggs. Margret the owner provided my niece, mum and myself with riding lessons that were all designed with rider in mind giving us all confidence. The farm is peaceful and relaxing and if you want a traditional cottage feel go here!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Becky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

went back again this year great cottages very friendly and helpful owners plenty to do around the area cantref farm is superb the pool and hot tub are very good at werngochlyn farm and games room is good theres barbys to use which we used even though it was beginning of November had great weather again we are going next year if we can get all the accommodation again

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank garywalker66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

Werngoclyn Farm is a WORKING farm! If you don't want to a) get dirty b) deal with animals c) stay in a rustic farmhouse setting then this holiday is NOT for you. If, however, you want your kids to explore nature, have AMAZING riding lessons, have fun in a swimming pool, play pool and table tennis in a games' room, have BBQs, feed pigs, help feed the miniature ponies, collect freshly laid eggs, climb mountains, get wet, get muddy and generally be kids - then this holiday is a must do.

Maggie and Richard are incredibly welcoming: nothing is too much trouble and Richard is great at getting the kids involved in farm life! Maggie is a fabulous riding instructor who taught our children so much about riding (and they've been riding regularly for over a year, so they weren't novice riders!). The farm dogs Morgan and Murphy are very friendly and Morgan is very partial to a belly rub.

We stayed in The Granary, which easily sleeps 6 with a cot as well. The accommodation is very much what you should expect from a working farm. It's not the Ritz, it's not modern, there are cobwebs amongst the very high beams. It is comfortable and warm and you don't have to worry about kids dropping stuff on sofas etc because they are all covered in washable throws. Could it benefit from a lick of paint and new carpets? Yes it wouldn't hurt; but it honestly doesn't detract from the holiday. It's a farm in Wales, it rains and it gets muddy - that means not sparkling windows!

The oven in here does close (the previous review says it doesn't and they stayed here last week - it takes a bit of shutting but it does shut and stay shut). The kitchen is well equipped, although in the small side and storage for food is limited; there's a laundry room - with driers! - across the way, the garden is spacious and both the games room and swimming pool are a few steps away. There's car parking right out front of the cottage.

Abergavenny is a short drive away with an Aldi, Tesco Metro and Iceland easily found. Check in is quite late at 5pm but when we comeback next year (we've already booked!) we'll use that to go into town and do our week's food shop.

You can choose to explore and have days out (castles, museums, national trust places within 20 miles, shopping, mountain climbs, Brecon Beacons) or you can spend your time relaxing on the farm, swimming, riding and playing!

A fabulous family holiday if your family appreciates the great out doors and doesn't mind a spot of rustic charm! If you're offended by outdated carpets, non-matching sofas, non-sparkly windows and a few cobwebs in beams then you probably need to find a different type of holiday!

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Liv M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews