We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
19
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private bathroom master bedroom pen y fan fabulous views minute drive sugar loaf enjoyable stay full welsh breakfast breakfast room lovely place brecon beacons sarah sheep valley suite wifi hosts
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Enjoyed a great stay here in the middle of nowhere. Trying to find the place is a bit of a challenge and beware of the many very narrow lanes with few passing places.
Views of Sugar Loaf and the valley from our bedroom were amazing. Sarah and family were very friendly and helpful.
The room was on the top floor. Very comfortable bed, plenty of storage room for clothes and walking gear. Only problem was that the sloping roof made using the toilet difficult for a man. Had to sit down!
Cooked breakfast is either a full Welsh breakfast or smoked salmon with scrambled eggs. Tried both and they were excellent.
Eating out requires a car or taxi. There are many pubs and restaurants within 5 miles but none within walking distance.
Wifi is available although a little slow at times. Mobile phone reception is almost non existent in the area but who needs phones when there are so many magnificent walks to go on. If you want to enjoy nature at it's best pay a visit to this lovely property.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kalo_Chorio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2018

This B&B is just as lovely as you'd expect from the photos. It's a fairly new building, beautifully decorated and very cosy and quiet. The owners are lovely, and will help you with maps and things to see and do in the are if needed. When we arrived, we had fish & chips with us that we got from the nearest town, as we didn't want to have to go out again. So they got us plates and wine glasses for the wine we also brought, and we sat in the breakfast room enjoying our meal and the beautiful views overlooking the mountains. Very nice breakfast with a veggie option, and great coffee (I had decaf). The views from the rooms are amazing, overlooking the mountains and fields with sheep. The roads to get here, as someone else said, are not for the faint-hearted. But if you're not put off by that, I couldn't recommend this place enough.
The superior suite have the best views, beautiful bathroom and it's quite spacious. The executive bedroom is smaller but very cosy and beautifully decorated.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WayfaringDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

Stayed at the celyn for 2 nights..
Very friendly welcome from Sarah the host who showed us to the room and explained the location and have us some lititure of near by locations to visit.
The breakfast was very nice,full Welsh with tea and coffee as well as orange juice.
There is no signal for receiving calls , but you will be given a WiFi password to use.
Excellent shower and also the room had TV and Freeview.
My only gripe would be that the floors are very squikey and this may be an issues I'd you have guests above you, other then that it was a nice enjoyable stay to escape the hussle and buddle.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ClintG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018

This is a lovely place way out in the sticks with very little phone signal so if you want some peace and quiet then this is ideal. Rooms are lovely although if you're tall like me try not to opt for the very top rooms as sloping ceilings in both the bedroom and bathroom. Well run spotlessly clean establishment in beautiful surroundings. Would definitely stay again

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank RivieraPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

We stayed at Celyn for on night at the end of a short break in Brecon. We were so impressed with everything about it. The welcome,the room, the en-suite and the breakfast were all exceptional . When the setting and the views are factored in we both found the visit was something special.

Room tip: Fantastic views..don’t rely on your satnav!
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BrightonGrandpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews