We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh cream tea!”

Red Castle Tea Room
Ranked #19 of 111 Restaurants in Abergavenny
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A beautiful, quaint, family run tea room set in the idyllic Monmouthshire countryside. Situated on the old Abergavenny-Skenfrith rd (B4521), Red Castle Tea Room is a perfect place to take a break and soak up that country atmosphere. Serving... All day breakfasts Daily Specials Light lunches to three course meals Sunday roasts Afternoon tea and plenty of temptation for a sweet tooth! Gluten and dairy allergies also catered for. Bookings taken for Sunday lunches Available for outside catering
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Went here p l anned for a rainy day cream tea. Nice fakes and scones, fresh and tasty. Real cream as well, a treat. Nice little place.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank spamobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LilCountryBumpkin, Owner at Red Castle Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Thank you for your review and I'm glad you enjoyed your scones! Best wishes, Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2017

A group of 5 of us had Sunday lunch at the Red Castle Tea room. The service was attentive and friendly, but with a warm informality that we really enjoyed. We were offered Pork or Beef with all the usual trimmings and, for the Vegetarians in the group, Brie Crumble, Stuffed Peppers or Cauliflower Cheese. The size of the servings was more than ample. I particularly appreciated huge servings of several different fresh vegetables. The made-on-site desserts (Pavlova, Bread and Butter Pudding and Apple or Raspberry Crumble) were to die for.

All in all, a memorable meal in a memorable setting.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LilCountryBumpkin, Owner at Red Castle Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Thank you for such a wonderful review Carolyn! We look forward to seeing you again soon, best wishes, Anne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2016

Visited the Team Room yesterday with my dad for lunch, and was really impressed by the quality of the food and the lovely service of the staff.
Made to feel really welcome and like I was sitting in my own home having a delicious meal. And the pudding was to die for!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Shawney G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LilCountryBumpkin, Public Relations Manager at Red Castle Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2016

Thank you very much for such a lovely review. I'm glad you felt so comfortable with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Best wishes, Anne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016

It's always a pleasure to come and eat here. The food is great, well-cooked and plentiful. Anne and her staff are always so friendly and the Sunday lunches are terrific with a good choice of vegs.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LilCountryBumpkin, Guest Relations Manager at Red Castle Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2016

Thank you for these fabulous words! It is always a pleasure to see you and we are so pleased you enjoy your visits. Look forward to seeing you again soon, Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Booked a large group of ladies for afternoon tea and cream teas, Ann the owner is amazing could not be more accommodating so glad we went, fresh homemade sandwiches that were BURSTING with fillings and enough home made cakes to feed a small army each was lovingly prepared and served, the banana toffee meringue was to die for as was the coffee and walnut cake, exceptional service and amazingly good value, will definitely be back with the group and also booking for a return visit with my husband for sunday lunch.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Denise186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LilCountryBumpkin, Public Relations Manager at Red Castle Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2016

Thank you for your great review, hope to see you again soon! Best wishes, Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Castle Tea Room also viewed

Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 

Been to Red Castle Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing