We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a find! Fantastic accommodation and the...”
other travellers have booked this property
The Old Rectory
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Rectory
Looking into Rectory Cottage front door and patio Kitchen in Rectory Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
The Old Rectory
Looking into Rectory Cottage front door and patio
Kitchen in Rectory Cottage
KItchen in Rectory Cottage
Looking into Kitchen/Sitting Room of Rectory Cottage
Sitting Room in Rectory Cottage
Bedroom 1 in Rectory Cottage
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1 and en-suite bathroom
Bathroom in Rectory Cottage
Bedroom 2
Looking into Rectory Cottage patio
Patio
The garden in bloom
Enter a caption for your photo
View towards the River Usk
Peppa enjoying the view towards the River Usk
Collecting eggs
Sunrise view to the River Usk
A frosty morning at the River Usk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Baggiesfa...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a find! Fantastic accommodation and the warmest of welcomes.”
Reviewed 24 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had struggled to find rooms for the Saturday night, as we hadn't realised it was the same weekend as the Abergavenny food festival, We extended our stay to two nights and drove down from Yorkshire on a Friday afternoon to be greeted with fresh home made bread, eggs from their own chickens and milk in the fridge. The hosts were so friendly and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble.
The (self-catering) accommodation is lovely - a double room and a room with full sized bunk beds, and a compact kitchen/lounge, well equipped and very comfortable. The location is great - a couple of miles or so from Abergavenny, set in the most beautiful countryside, which we would have loved to explore but aside from the food festival (lots of food and alcohol to sample!) Cardiff was our focus as we were dropping our son off at uni, a 30 minute drive away.
Should we need to stay down again, this will be our first port of call - a real winner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendliness of the hosts
Liked least: My daughter whining that her ipad wouldn't recognise the wifi - my husband's tablet was fine...
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoffeeSee...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful place for all the family”
Reviewed 18 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage with everything you could need. Great countryside location, Spotlessly clean, with really welcoming hosts in Kate and Liz.

The garden and house feel very safe & secure safe. Our kids had so much fun in the large fenced off & secure garden which had a trampolene, goal posts and a fun trip wire.

In keeping with the whole set up even the animals (2 Dogs a cat & several chickens).are happy and playful.

Would return again without a thaught. Thank you so much Liz & Kate.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The secure gardens and happy animals roaming around
Liked least: Nothing at all
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lahanddh
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A gem of a find - comfortable, tranquil and wonderful hosts.”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We spent 3 nights at the cottage and cannot wait to return. Liz, Kate and all the family made us most welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Set on the edge of a small hamlet with far reaching views and a field between the Rectory and the River Usk where you can walk freely, this was a real home from home. Plenty of room for us as 2 adults and 2 large dogs there is everything you could need to make your stay comfortable with a touch of luxury such as the king size bed which was a dream (or was it due to all the walking and climbing?!?!) The home made bread, fresh eggs, milk and personal welcome were all greatly appreciated and Liz even went out of her way to return an item we had left behind by driving the few miles to the Pub she had recommended for lunch on our departure - so thoughtful. Situated close to marvelous walks, world renowned eateries and local towns I don't believe you can get much better than this. Besides obvious reasons we also chose to stay here as it offered WifI, mobile signal and freeview t.v. all of which worked well. I can think of no negatives but so many positives for staying here, am I spouting? most certainly but I honestly feel our experience couldn't have been bettered!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Situation
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B
Richmond, United Kingdom
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic holiday cottage in the perfect location.”
Reviewed 4 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We are just back from spending a couple of nights at Rectory Cottage, and wish we could have stayed for longer. Our 2 boys (7 and 5) loved the trampoline and zip slide in the garden, and had a great time with the chickens, cats and especially Pepper the dog, they are already asking us when we can go back! The cottage is beautifully finished and has everything you could need for a very relaxing holiday. The walks from the cottage along the River Usk are amazing and we spent ages just skimming stones in the river. We are now planning our next trip back there... but will be staying for longer next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high quality finish of the cottage and the beautiful setting.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael J
Lancashire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage with outstanding hospitality”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We were given a very warm welcome by Liz and her family on our arrival to the cottage. Awaiting us was a welcome basket with homemade bread and fresh eggs (which were delicious). The cottage was very clean, modern and cosy. Everything was provided for us. A very exceptional cottage, the best we've stayed in by far! The location was perfect, very quiet but only about 10 minutes away from the bustling town of Abergavenny. We enjoyed walking in the fields and by the river and the local walk up Sugar Loaf Mountain was a real treat. Our son loved the family dogs, cat and especially feeding the chickens and collecting their eggs. We also enjoyed the impromtu invitation to the 'Star gazing night' at the Rectory which was fascinating! Overall a thoroughly enjoyable stay and a lovely family. Would highly recommend the cottage and thanks again to the family for making us so welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage overall and location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing