We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A joy in the Welsh countryside”
other travellers have booked this property
Doleos in May evening sunshine
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Doleos in May evening sunshine
View from the kitchen door Two luxurious sofas to help you relax while enjoying the view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
76 reviews
Doleos in May evening sunshine
View from the kitchen door
Two luxurious sofas to help you relax while enjoying the view
Have the beds linked for Super-king
OR twin bedded bedroom overlooking garden and meadow
Very well equipped kitchen including fridge, dish-washer, microwave and clothes wash/dry machine
Dine out on Doleos patio and admire the views
View from the meadow gate towards the coast and you can also see the distant Cambrian Mountains
Really comfy sofa-bed in the lounge if needed and pre-booked
Plenty of books and brochures
Private parking directly by Derwen Cottage
View the glorious surrounding countryside from the meadow
distant views of open countryside from the meadow
garden path feature at Derwen Cottage
Patio and garden feature at Derwen cottage in 2012
Ynyslas beach and estuary near Borth, North of Aberystwyth
Aberystwyth beach and prom - lovely long walk to 'kick the bar' - a local tradition
Glorious Cwm Rheidol where the Butterfly house is located
Summer visitors
Spring flowers in the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 76 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
chrissiek...
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“A joy in the Welsh countryside”
Reviewed 18 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from this Wonderful cottage. Please believe what other reviewers have said, without any doubt this holiday cottage is superb. Modern kitchen with every possible requirement, very large lounge/diner with double french windows opening out onto meadows. Super bathroom with shower with plenty of hot water, fluffy towels and toiletries etc. The bedroom is lovely with glorious views of the hills and sunset, not to mention the lovely comfy bed and soft bedinen.
The cottage is ideally located for visiting Ynys-hir, rspb nature reserve (woodlands, wetlands and wildlife). Devils Bridge waterfalls and nature trail which is not to be missed if you are a walker and/or photographer. There is lots to do in this area of Wales and the cottage has many examples of tourist information leaflets.
Every detail has been considered by the cottage owners, Marilyn and Ivor to ensure visitors to Derwen cottage feel welcomed, relaxed and comfortable. We have never stayed anywhere as quiet/peaceful as this. No noise other than that of nature.
"A truely warm welcome in the hillside". Thanks from Chris and Steve.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything but especially the quiet.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2015
WAW! THANK YOU so much. I am overwhelmed by your amazing review and delighted you enjoyed your stay so much. It is so very satisfying to see visitors appreciating this glorious area of Wales especially our little patch here. We are really chuffed to bits with your comments and there will always be a 'welcome in this hillside' for my most perfect visitors. Feeling a little exhausted after such a hectic holiday season I am now revitalised with a new spring in my step - thanks to your comments! THANK YOU.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracy6201...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent, Fabulous and Wonderful”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Just returned from our stay, and cannot give Marilyn enough praise. The cottage is outstanding, with the best views ever. Excellent location and spotless. Lovely little touches like tea, coffee, milk, bread, butter, jam and biscuits all left for us on arrival. It has everything you could possibly need. This cottage is absolutely idyllic. Can't wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2015
WAW! THANK YOU so much for the fantastic review. I am absolutely thrilled and delighted that my lovely, considerate visitors enjoyed staying at my cottage. Such positive comments are a real boost spurring me on to do even better. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pbs469
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A real gem”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A wonderful warm light cottage. A five star experience...lovely welcome and real attention to detail. Also very well equipped kitchen. Great walking up the meadow to enjoy the view to the sea. The cottage is ideally placed to explore the Ceredigion coast. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2015
WAW! That was quick! You only left the cottage a couple of hours ago! And thank you so much Paul for leaving it spotlessly clean and tidy for me - much appreciated in this scorching weather. A huge thank you for your lovely review. I'm so glad you fell for the charms of the amazing location and our rather special cottage, built by my husband and I. I love sharing it, and I'm delighted to know visitors enjoy their stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
“exactly as listed - and some!”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This cottage is fresh and spotlessly clean. You get a friendly Welsh welcome from Marilyn, everything you need in the kitchen to get you started (bread, butter, milk, tea, coffee, sugar, biscuits). There's crisp white bedding and an abundance of soft white towels. It was a joy to stay in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2015
THANK YOU for your lovely review. It was a pleasure meeting you both and to have you to stay at the cottage, especially as you left it immaculately clean and tidy for me. Immensely appreciated during this incredibly busy period and allowed me to catch breath! I can't tell you how chuffed I am to have happy visitors!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calon526
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage and wonderful host”
Reviewed 3 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Fantastic place to stay - easy to travel to and fro to Aberystwyth ( the best cottage I have been to as yet, and this was seconded by other guests we meet who had rented another cottage on the premises) and the view was wonderful. Children fell in love with the rabbits which were outside on the lawn most mornings , and loved the walk up the meadow to see the sun setting. Our host was fantastic , tea , milk and bread provided for arrival , very friendly and yet respectful of our privacy too . Would highly recommend to anyone who visits. Thanks for a great stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was well equipped, clean and nicely furnished
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2015
THANK YOU. I am absolutely delighted that my lovely, lovely visitors enjoy being in this glorious, tranquil place. Before we bought this smallholding my accountant advised me not to because it was a 'bottomless pit' for spending on. Now the farmhouse is renovated (though not quite finished) and the two little cottages either end are finished (though we continue to improve the landscape) every minute and every penny spent is justified. It would have been a tremendous shame to have left it to decay. Sharing with others, especially such charming and appreciative visitors makes it special. Sheltered in the dip from winter storms yet having such distant scenery is amazing. The closer natural landscape, hedgerows, stream and trees invites wildlife visitors too and makes it truly glorious when the sun shines.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$98
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing