We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive Mainbuilding and Park”
Review of The Oakley Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Oakley Court
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed three nights at the Oakley Court Hotel Windsor which is alongside to the themse and stayed in room 414 after i found a good deal in the internet. when checking in, we also recieved a 10 pound voucher for the bar which we unfortunatly didnt use as the bar looks very cosie and athmospheric. The park around the hotel lookes very clean and tidy!

When i arrived i was lucky and got a parking spot right in front (there are more spots a little further away) of the impressive main budilding which looks like a castle and is famous from various films like THE ROCKY HORROR PICTURE SHOW and the old DRACULA movies.

What i found out at check in, is that only the 10 suites of this hotel are in the main buidling (including the restaurant, the bar and sitting areas). The "regular" hotel rooms are situated in three wings of which two are not even connected to the mainbuilding. As the weather was alright we didnt mind. Our building was the courtyard wing and includes the wellnes area. This wing is mainly a new buidling, a small part an old castle-like house. we had a room on the topfloor (only one neighbour) in this older part of the buidling and we had a view onto a field so it was very quiet and away from the hussle of the hotel. The room was huge and it had probably the biggest bathroom i have ever had in a hotel (also with a window)!

The first impression was really nice but some smaller details gave me the reason to only give this hotel a four star rating. I.e. we didnt have an alarmclock in the room, there is mold alongside the windows, we only had 6 tv-channels (not the promised Sat-digital TV selection) and the greatest issue i had is (which i also mentioned on checkout) that the housekeeping put the fresh linen and towels in front of the door on the floor (!) in the hallway every morning. and the hallway in the rest of the building was full of fresh and old linen and towels which i found not appropriate for a hotel like that! However the staff at checkin and the concierge were nice and approachable.

The location is good, but you´ll need a car to get around. Its about 5 minutes into windsor and also to the M4 which takes you into London (30-60minutes) or Heathrow (15-25 minutes).

Overall its been a nice stay and i definatly can recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelNeumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAS19, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your three day stay.

I can confirm that there is an alarm clock function on the television and The Oakley Court Hotel does not advertise "Sat-digital TV", we provide Freeview T.V.

The linen procedure you describe is certainly not our normal operating standard as Housekeeping staff are issued with linen trolleys incorporating “used linen” bins.

Thank you for your review and for recommending the Oakley Court Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,327)
There are newer reviews for The Oakley Court
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,909 - 1,913 of 2,327 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2012

We needed somewhere close to Bray as we had a table at the Fat Duck. We were a little concerned about the mixed reviews on Trip Advisor. We had 3 riverside rooms which were huge with gorgeous views. Every encounter with the staff was superb - very friendly, helpful and polite. The grounds are absolutely stunning going right down to the banks of the Thames. Great 'proper' English breakfast to top it off. Fantastic visit and would recommend to anyone.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAS19, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Thank you. I am delighted to read that you had a fantastic visit and enjoyed the unique setting of The Oakley Court Hotel. Many of our guests comment on the convenient location of our hotel. Thank you also for your comments regarding our staff - we hope you return on a future occasion,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Very nice Hotel with friendly staff. Had a small suite in the main house which was very nice . The loo was running a bit but they fixed it and the four poster bed had slight damage to a post but the bed was superb. Tea and coffee, ironing board and iron and safe in room. Air con as well.Break fast in room was good and hot .
Eat in the restaurant on Sat eve and had the table dhote menu . Starter was small but overall very good , wine by the glass good . Main menu a tad costly but sounded lovely. Right on Thames with small golf set up and tennis. Would recomend it to anyone .

Room Tip: Main House looks best
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizard53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAS19, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Thank you for your review and I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay at The Oakley Court Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

My husband and I and my daughter and her boyfriend stayed one Saturday night. We were upgraded to two beautiful executive rooms in the West Wing right in front of the river. All of the staff were very courteous and Christopher, the conceirge was extremely pleasant and helpful.
The surroundings are lovely - we were able to sit outside and watch the rowers on the river and a few ducks and swans.
We only had the breakfast in the hotel which was oaky although some of the food was luke warm. The staff in the dining room were very efficient.
Both my daughter and I wanted to steal the beds - well the mattresses at least - they were heaven as was the pillows. In fact I dont think I have had such a good night's sleep away from home as I did at the Oakley Court.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAS19, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Thank you for your positive review and we hope to welcome you back on a future occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Recently stayed at this hotel for business purposes and it was a lovely hotel. The grounds are impressive and so is the service from the staff. The rooms although appointed well and comfortable, did start to show its age although it didn't detract from the experience. The food was expensive for what it was and for the portion but it was well presented and tasted well.
The breakfast selection was a little on the spare side but you could order the cooked breakfast which again was small portioned but nice.
It was good enough for me to consider bring my family down for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smileycamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAS19, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Thank you for your revew - I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.
I can confirm that our food prices are in line with market competition in the area.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to The Oakley Court Hotel on a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
4.6 km away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
4.5 km away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
4.6 km away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
8.1 km away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,877 reviews
4.4 km away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oakley Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakley Court

Address: Windsor Road | Water Oakley, Windsor SL4 5UR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Windsor
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
#2 Green Hotel in Windsor
Price Range: €176 - €241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oakley Court 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oakley Court is a quintessential country house. But that's not it... there's more, a lot more. If we said to you a location that's been the setting of many films, with 118 bedrooms, its own polo team and Her Majesty The Queen as a visitor would you believe us? Luckily finding out is easy. Our beautiful location is only a short drive away from London and Heathrow Airport. Whether you're coming for business or pleasure, our rural beauty on the River Thames makes us a real getaway location for those wanting to escape the hectic routine of the city, or just life in general. Our unique history has over time helped to form an exciting character that's distinguished but unspoilt, charming and vibrant. Just kick back and relax, let us pour you a glass of champagne (or two!) - this is your time now, there's no routine here. Cosy, comfortable and luxurious, that's all the important bits you need to know for now. Come and stay, be wined and dined on a set that's created by us and narrated by you to produce an experience that's entirely unique and is yours alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Oakley Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakley Court Windsor
Hotel Oakley Court
Oakley Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing