We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wow what a room!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald Windsor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wow what a room!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed at The Windsor Hotel last year and it was a pleasure to return. We booked a suite to accomodate our grandson who is 7 as a birthday treat to see Windsor Castle and visit Chessington zoo. We were upgraded to a Feature suite which had a balcony overlooking The Guildhall and Windsor Castle Suite 407. It was beautiful, spacious and very luxurious. Very clean and light. The staff were very friendly and booking in and checking out was a pleasure. Just wished we could have stayed a few more nights!

Room Tip: We booked the suite through an offer emailed to us. As a special treat book into Feature Suite 407 w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maturecouple070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear maturecouple070,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a positive review of the hotel following your recent stay.

I was delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay, particularly the service from the team, and your room. Please be assured that I have passed your comments to the team, as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Macdonald Windsor Hotel in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,883
    611
    162
    54
    14
See reviews for
419
1,480
66
375
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Not stayed at this central hotel. I picked it due to it's central location and the fact that it had car parking. (this has to be booked in advance and costs £25 pn) access to the car park is around the back of the hotel, past the library. Unfortunately it was full on both nights, however, I parked on the street outside the front of the hotel one night and in the library at the back on another. I was only there in the evenings as at work during the day, so not too much of an issue.

The hotel reminded me of something your more likely to find in London, than Windsor. Decor is tasteful, room was huge and well proportioned. It only had a walk in shower, but that was fine for me.

I ate in the restaurant one night, it was OK, but nothing to right home about. As you're in the centre of Windsor, I suggest you're best to go out. If you like Indian food, there is an excellent one pass the castle at the bottom of the road called the Mango tree (Datchet Road).

The bar staff were friendly and knowledgable and made good recommendations on wine.

All in all a very pleasant stay and a nice environment if you're travelling alone.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahN79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear SarahN79,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to complete a review of your stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your visit overall and will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We appreciate such a helpful review and look forward to welcoming you back to the Macdonald Windsor Hotel in the very near future.

Kindest regards,

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Me and my partner (young couple) spent an evening here in March 2012. We booked the executive suite and as the title suggests it was stunning. I would advise this hotel to anybody that is in search of a relaxing and chilled out break.

--Service-- The staff were nothing short of brilliant, from the car park, to reception, to room service you will be treated very well. All smiling, polite and professional, everything seems to be done with ease and professionalism, which really adds to the extremely relaxed atmosphere of this hotel.

--Ambience-- A huge factor in the attractiveness of this hotel. From walking through the doors you will feel extremely relaxed and comfortable in this hotel. The music and decor adds to this significantly. It is beautifully layed out and very pleasing on the eye. I would have no issues describing the main reception area as a chill out lounge. The restaurant is also very relaxed.

--Rooms-- The executive suite was impressive. Great size, modern and relaxing decor, amazingly comfortable bed. Underfloor heating in the large bathroom with double basins. Definitely worth splashing out on for a special occasion, walking through the door to these rooms is a pleasure and staying in them even more so. I would advise seeing to believe as words alone dont do it justice.

--Food and drink-- I was very impressed with the restaurant. It would be nice to see some slightly more romantic seating, with the option of sitting next to one and other as apposed sitting opposite. That aside the layout is modern, origninal and smart without being too formal. The food is impressive and presented well, certainly worth a try. There is a good selction of wines. The room service was quick and professional, breakfast was nice but could be more impressive. That said it certainly was not dissapointing.

--Location-- In the heart of windsor a stones throw away from the castle, 20 minutes drive to Heathrow.

Overall an excellent hotel with excellent staff. If you want to plan a relaxing and impressive stay with confidence then I would be more than happy to reccomend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you want the wow factor, book an executive suite. The standard double rooms are still extremely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear Michael J,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a positive and detailed review.

I was delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay, particularly the service from the team, executive suite, food and drink and location. Please be assured that I have passed your comments to the team, as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Macdonald Windsor Hotel in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Stayed at the Macdonald Windsor hotel last weekend - although i have stayed before and loved it then also - this recent visit just reminded me of just how good this hotel really is! From the moment we arrived the staff were friendly, helpful and professional. The room was fantastic even though it was one of their standard doubles. It was clean and really modern - I dont know what more you could want form a hotel other than - a really comfy bed!, a lovely bathroom, helpfull staff and a great location.! I will definately be staying here again and reccomend anyone that is staying in Windsor to also take a look. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charleyellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear charleyellis,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a glowing review following your stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoy your stays with us, in particular the bedroom, location and the service you receive from the team. We appreciate such a helpful review.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Macdonald Windsor Hotel in the very near future.

Kindest regards,

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We spent a Sunday night at the Macdonald Windsor and couldn't fault the friendliness of the staff or their professionalism. We arrived early at 11am and were immediately given a room on the third floor. It didn't overlook the castle but that was ideal for us. In the past a view at the front of a hotel normally means noise with traffic. We chose to dine that evening in the restaurant which had a varied menu and attentive staff. Breakfast was the same the next morning. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRKELLYTRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear DRKELLYTRAVEL,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a glowing review following your stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay, in particular your room, the food you experienced in the restaurant and the service you received from the team. We appreciate such a helpful review.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Macdonald Windsor Hotel in the very near future.

Kindest regards,

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
4.6 km away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,085 reviews
0.0 km away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0.4 km away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
0.7 km away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Windsor Hotel

Property: Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Address: 23 High Street, Windsor SL4 1LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Windsor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coveted with a multitude of awards for exceptional customer service and sustainability, the four-red star Macdonald Windsor Hotel is must-stay hotel in the heart of Windsor. Ideally located 2 minutes' walk from the gates of Windsor Castle and in the centre of the shopping parade, Macdonald Windsor Hotel is the perfect base offering you the most comfortable beds in town. The Royal Borough is home to some of the UK's best known attractions such as Windsor Great Park, Legoland and Savill Gardens, not to mention being just 40 minutes away by train from the heart of our capital; London. And when the day of exploration or work is done and you retire to your room, make sure you indulge on one of the finest steaks, prepared using 21-day aged Aberdeen Angus steak and complimented by a glass of delicious red straight from our AA-rosette awarded Scottish Steak Club restaurant. For bugm.wisiness meetings and conferences, our flexible and accessible meeting space for up to 150 delegates is just the ticket and our Meeting's all-inclusive delegate package with dedicated meeting support helps ticks all of your event objectives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Macdonald Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing