We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveller rating
58
88
73
41
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
88
73
41
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river an italian restaurant specials board friendly hotel one night stay would highly recommend this hotel would stay again bed was very comfortable car park tea and coffee cooked breakfast fat duck trevi stroud spruce riverside bath
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 282 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2018

We booked in August at fairly short notice and was given an excellent spacious room thankfully with a balcony as it had been a very hot day. We were told that the place had been packed on the evening before but most people did not stay over for the Sunday- hence our bargain. The balcony was most refreshing, on the corner and with a good view of the river and bridge. We wanted to close the curtains to stop any midges following the light into the room and so we switched on the thoughtfully provided portable fan but soon dissolved into simultaneous laughter when a few minutes later the fan developed an irritating creaking noise. We enjoyed our Italian Restaurant meal in the hotel that evening, and in the morning found that the breakfast buffet had everything we wanted.

Room Tip: Corner balcony room was spacious
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThamesHotel, Manager at The Thames Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2018

Dear Liz L

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we always welcome feedback.

I am so pleased your stay was enjoyable and I wholeheartedly agree that our balcony rooms have superb views.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kindest regards

Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

The view from the hotel is nice and that makes the tired day out of the equation. This is the second time I am into this hotel and seems a good place to be!! Happy with everything it has been with staying in this hotel

Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
Thank AGRAWAL R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThamesHotel, Manager at The Thames Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Good Afternoon Mr Agrawal

Thank you for taking the time to write a review we always value guest feedback.

I'm pleased to hear you are happy with everything in the Hotel its nice to have you back for the second time

Kind Regards
Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018

Can't speak for the hotel itself, but had a very enjoyable cup of tea mid-afternoon, sitting on their patio overlooking the Thames. Within walking distance of the town centre (about 20 minutes).

The member of staff behind the bar was smart, efficient and friendly, and we had tea and biscuits for two, with china crockery, for under a fiver. Vastly better than the Riverside Park cafe a little way along the road.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Thank cltc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThamesHotel, Manager at The Thames Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Good Afternoon Cltc43

Thank you for taking the time to write a review

Its very relaxing watching the Thames go by on a sunny afternoon. I'm glad you enjoyed your tea for 2 on the terrace

We will hopefully see you again soon

Kind Regards
Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

The friendly and helpful staff were the saving grace of this hotel which has so much potential given its character and riverside location. We came for a family event in the function room having been promised afternoon tea with homemade cakes. These turned out to be Mr Kipling's shoved on borrowed cake stands.

The actual accommodation was very drab with extremely uncomfortable beds - you could feel every spring. The shower was feeble and there was a nice view of a brick wall. Breakfast was plentiful but unimaginative and the sausages weren't very nice at all. Overall, I would tell the management to be grateful for their staff - but I would not stay here again.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank hcm160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThamesHotel, Manager at The Thames Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Good Afternoon Hcm160

Thank you for taking the time to write a review

Afternoon Tea is not something we actually do at the Hotel but as always we were happy to accommodate for what the organisers asked for with most of guests very happy with the selection of Scones, cakes and sandwiches that were provided.

I am sorry that you were unhappy with your room in future please let reception know of any issues so we can move you to ensure you are comfortable.

The team hear are fantastic and I appreciate each one of them

We will hopefully see you again soon

Kind Regards
Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

The food here is excellent, really large portions and everything cooked fresh and in front of you. Probably one of the best places we have ever eaten and great value for money. A definite must, great service and the staff worked really hard.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank westeybesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThamesHotel, Manager at The Thames Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Dear Westeybesty

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your meal and that the staff looked after you well.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Dan

Thames Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews