We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (948)
Filter reviews
948 results
Traveller rating
375
385
124
28
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
375
385
124
28
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub wetherspoon hotels car park the river breakfast not included excellent bathroom long stay saturday night biscuits central location excellent location nice room air conditioning would stay again street noise first floor good size
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 948 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2018

We had a very comfortable stay at this hotel and pub in Salisbury.The rooms were clean and well appointed.We had a dinner and breakfast which were extremely good value as were the drinks.The only drawback was that there was no lift to the bedrooms and you have to negotiate a twisting staircase which would be a problem to disabled people.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank stuartwpeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Dear Stuartwpeters,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, here at The Kings Head Inn; we are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay! It is great to see that you found your room to be comfortable and clean - these two factors are incredibly important when visiting any hotel. Cleanliness is one of our top priorities and our Housekeeping team work incredibly hard to maintain these standards, so we will be sure to pass on this feedback to them!

We are also very happy to see that you had a very positive experience within our attached pub, enjoying all of the options that we offer - and there are many!

As a result of the age and history of our building, we are unable to provide a lift any further than our 1st floor (reception level) and some of our passageways are narrower than others, including multiple stairs. If this presents itself as a possible issue for either yourself or any of our future guests, we always urge that requests are made. Our hotel offers many rooms on our 1st floor which is lift accessible, whilst also having one specific accessible room; however all of these rooms are subject to availability so please contact us on 01722 438 400 when making your reservation.

We do hope to see you return to our hotel, should you ever be back in the Salisbury area!

Kind regards,
Sophie Redhead
Duty Receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

we loved this hotel.good choice of breafast.which you can purchase in the downstairs restaurant .they also have a very good selsction on the menu for lunch or evening meals.the rooms are clean and spacious.the only downside is NO PARKING

Stayed: November 2017
Thank trish241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Dear Trish241,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel; we are so pleased to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay with us, here at The Kings Head Inn. It is great to know that you enjoyed our setting - in the heart of the city - and that you found your room not only clean, but very spacious too!

We are also pleased to know that you had a very positive experience within our attached pub, enjoying our breakfast. Our pub serves a wide range of breakfast items between 7am and 12noon so there is plenty of time for our guests to enjoy something, all at a very reasonable price.

As a result of our very central location, we are unable to provide customer parking, however there is a car park situated around a 5 minute walk away, along the river. All required information can be obtained from our 24 hour reception team , who are always more than happy to help. We apologise for any inconvenience that this may have caused and hope it did not negatively impact your stay too greatly.

We would love to welcome you back to our hotel, and hope to see you again in the future!

Kind regards,
Sophie Receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed for one night for husbands birthday night out and had a really lovely stay room was clean and modern and location was perfect service in the bar was a little slow but to be expected on a friday night staff were all friendly would 100% stay again

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank countrymama22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Dear countrymama22,

Thank you for your lovely review and 5* rating!

We're thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that our central location right in the heart of Salisbury was ideal for your visit.

We're so glad that the décor and facilities within the room were to your taste, as well as being clean and welcoming. We place great pride in our Housekeeping Team who uphold our exacting standards for cleanliness and ensure all of our guests experience a comfortable and pristine room during their stay.

It's wonderful to hear that you would stay with us again; we look forward to welcoming you at The King's Head Inn in the future.

Kind regards

Gina Hawkins
Hotel Shift Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

We have stayed here several times before. It is a busy place and can be quite lively. The rooms are very comfortable. The check in and reception was excellent with friendly and efficient staff. The food was again very good and was served very quickly. The bar was however poor with too few staff (who did not know where certain drinks were) waiting for up to 10 minutes to be served.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
Thank geoffreybirkett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Dear Geoffreybirkett,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for awarding us 4 out of 5 stars! We are so pleased to see that you enjoyed your recent stay, whilst in fact being one of our returning guests – we love seeing familiar faces check in. Comfort is very important when it comes to staying in a hotel, so we are very happy to know that your room was very comfortable for the duration of your stay. We always aim to provide the best customer service possible, so we are pleased that you were welcomed in such a friendly manner!

We are very sorry to hear that your experience within our attached pub was not as positive and we will be sure to pass on this feedback to the correct management team in order to find a resolution. We hope that this did not impact your stay too greatly, however once again we apologise for any inconveniences this may have caused.

We would love to see you again in the future, should you find yourself back in the Salisbury area!

Kind regards,
Sophie Redhead
Duty Receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018

This is a very nice old hotel. I had a single room which was located on the top floor under the roof. plenty of room to move around just mind your head on the slooping ceiling by the window.the room was air conditioned which was fine.Of course its a Wetherspoons hotel over the Pub but I never heard any noise.Thehotel is almost in the centre of Salisbury Great for shopping and sight seeing The staff were great Would stay again.Great food in the pub

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Dear Barry H,

Thank you for your wonderful review and 5* rating!

As our building was constructed in 1874, some of our rooms contain features from that architectural era, such as sloped beamed ceilings, but we're so glad to hear that your room was adequately sized for your needs and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We appreciate your kind words regarding your experience with our hardworking Hotel Team, as we take great pride in offering a high level of customer service for a reasonable cost and we're thrilled to hear that your time with us was so enjoyable that you would stay again.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The King's Head Inn during your next Salisbury visit.

Kind regards,

Gina Hawkins
Hotel Shift Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews