We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (943)
Filter reviews
943 results
Traveller rating
372
383
124
28
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
372
383
124
28
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub wetherspoon hotels car park the river breakfast not included excellent bathroom long stay saturday night biscuits central location excellent location nice room air conditioning street noise would stay again first floor good size
Filter
Updating list...
589 - 594 of 943 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2015

Very comfortable room, good bathroom, no noise in excellent location and with a Wetherspoons breakfast downstairs. Friends stayed at far more expensive hotel locally but Kings Head was much better room and hugely better value

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
Thank geofflin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2015

Dear geofflin,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a wonderful TripAdvisor and, on behalf of the entire team, thank you for the 5* rating! I’m so happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us and I’m thrilled to see our hotel is out classing some of our competitors. The whole hotel underwent extensive refurbishment works in July of 2014 and we are now very proud of our beautifully modernised rooms, while still retaining the character of the building.

Kind regards,

Ami Price
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2015

Nice room clean and modern room, decent bathroom and shower with a bit of go in it. I asked to be put in a room which was away from the noise of the pub as they play music in the bar until 1am, and the reception staff obliged. No issues there at all. Breakfast in the pub was typical Weatherspoons, cooked properly, the pub area was clean, staff were courteous, and the food came out very quickly.
The Hotel is right the centre of the city so parking is always going to be something to figure.
The nearest overnight car park is behind Sainsbury's which is a 2 minute walk across the main road outside the pub, across the river bridge and around the back of the Greene King pub directly opposite the Kings Head Inn (there is both short which is multi story,and long stay which in a large open car park to the far side of it) Long stay is about £7.50 per day and that runs from 8am to 6pm.
Would recommend Salisbury as a destination, plenty of decent shops to look at, plenty of restaurants to eat in, as well as all the big supermarkets for anything else within easy walking distance and obviously the Cathedral itself which is a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
3  Thank ashf4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2015

Dear ashf4,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a fantastic TripAdvisor review, and thank you for also including so much information which will be incredibly useful to our guests about our beautiful city!
On behalf of the whole team here, thank you very mch for the 5* rating, it’s great to know that the effort the team are putting in is being noticed and that they’re definitely on the right track!!

Kind regards,

Ami Price
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2015

This hotel is cheap but pretty luxurious and above a pub so not too far to go for refreshments. Its also right in salisbury centre but has no parking on site. The staff we meet were very friendly and helpful and check in/out was smooth. The rooms are large with all mod cons. The only things wrong were a broken window catch which meant it would not stay open and a bigger problem was that you could clearly hear voices next door so the sound proofing is poor. Earplugs need to be supplied. Appart from that perfect

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexsB7939MG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2015

Dear alexsB7939MG,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely TripAdvisor review, I’m pleased to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you very much for the feedback on the noise issues you experienced, I’ll see what (if anything) can be done to improve the sound proofing although it’s not a problem we hear about very often so possibly this was a one off incident and you had some particularly noisy neighbours! The building is over 200 years old and is listed so we have numerous restrictions on what we are able to do, nonetheless, I shall investigate!

Kind regards,

Ami Price
Hotel Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2015

I booked this hotel with a little trepidation as I did not know what to expect from a Weatherspoons pub/hotel
What a great surprise the welcome was warm and friendly the room (106) looked almost brand new and was spotlessly clean.

The pub it’s self was clean and everything you would expect from a Weatherspoons however it is in desperately need of more staff the queues at the bare were horrendous even at the quietest times of day

The hotel is ideally situated in the heart of Salisbury just a short 5 minute stroll to the cathedral and 10 minute stroll to the railway station.
The hotel does state that they have no parking facilities but there is a long stay car-park near by £7.40 per day to find this turn left out of the hotel and take the first right, sign posted central parking be warned the traffic wardens are up and about early.

I would like to make a suggestion to the hotel that perhaps the could speak to the council and rent a few parking spaces for hotel residents where you could give your guests a parking permit to be displayed in the car for the duration of their stay at a reasonable moderate extra charge of course no body likes getting up early just to feed a meter

Room Tip: I had a room at the back to avoid any noise from the bar below but there is no view at the back
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brummiEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2015

Dear brummiEngland,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a fantastic TripAdvisor review! I’m so pleased to see that you had an enjoyable stay. On behalf of everyone here, thank you very much for the 5*, this is a huge compliment to the team!

Thank you also for your suggestion regarding car parking arrangements, I tried to negotiate something similar about nine months ago when I was first appointed but was unsuccessful. Maybe it’s time for a second attempt… Wish me luck!


Kind regards,

Ami Price
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2015

Great cheap place to stay for a short break. Very close to places of interest. Left bags at reception before checkin and after checkout. Which meant that we could explore Salisbury from early on first day to late on third day. Hotel is close to many places of interest. Didn't have to get up too early as breakfast is served until 12. Staff friendly and accomadating.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
1  Thank DavidS11683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2015

Dear David S,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a wonderful TripAdvisor review and huge thank you for the 5* rating! I’m thrilled to see you enjoyed your stay at The King’s Head Inn, Salisbury. It’s great that you were able to make the most of your time in our beautiful city by leaving luggage with the reception team and I’m glad you took advantage of our leisurely breakfast service times.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Ami Price
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews