We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going back in time”
Review of Coombe Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

My wife and I have just had 1 night BB& evening meal at Coombe Abbey. What a fabulous hotel which is steeped in history. You feel like you are being transported back in time. So much history in this hotel. As the name suggests this was once an Abbey, which is complete with moat.

From entering into reception to when we left, every member of staff you encountered greeted you with a smile and hello. So nice to see.

We stayed in room 140 which was complete with 4 poster, antique furniture, plus a hidden bathroom!! What appears to be a bookcase, with actual books on it, is in fact the front to the bathroom. Our room had 2 large windows, one which looked over the courtyard and the other which looked over the moat but also you could see down the very long tree lined straight to the hotel.

Bring December the whole place was decked out in Xmas regalia and really gave you a real sense of the festivities to follow in a couple of weeks. Even mince pies and apples were in the entrance hall for guests to help themselves. Very tasty they were to.

The evening meal was sensational. The restaurant is in a very large conservatory. We were very fortunate to be seated in a booth for 2, which really added to the occasion. Very good choice on the menu. The food was quite pricey BUT the quality you got justified the prices. Thoroughly enjoyed starters, mains and sweet, plus, of course, the obligatory bottle of wine.

Breakfast the next morning taken in the same restaurant, and, again we got the booth. Good selection of fresh fruit, cereals, fruit juices etc to get you started.
Although I am not a fan of buffet breakfast, a very good choice was on offer for you to help yourself, including scrambled and fried eggs, bacon, sausage, mushroom, hash browns, beans and a very nice potato/bacon mix. IF you don’t fancy this, there are other options which would be cooked to order. You will not go hungry here.

This is the 3rd time we have stayed at Coombe Abbey and it won’t be the last.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron T, General Manager at Coombe Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Good afternoon & very many thanks for taking the opportunity of leaving such a kind review following your most recent visit here to Coombe Abbey.
I was absolutely delighted to to hear that you appear to have had a yet another thoroughly enjoyable stay with us & very much look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back once again at some point in 2018.

Kindest regards

Ron Terry
General Manager
Coombe Abbey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 102 of 3,154 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2017

For a weeks work stop over not appropriate but as a short romantic break a lovely setting and exceptional food although not enough choice for a week stay. It’s a cross between downton abbey and hogwarts!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank Lee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron T, General Manager at Coombe Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Good morning & very many thanks for taking the time to leave a review following your recent visit here to Coombe Abbey.
I sincerely hope that you had a pleasant stay & look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back at some point in the future.

Kindest regards

Ron Terry
General Manager
Coombe Abbey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

Went here a while ago for a friends birthday for the medieval banquet. Also stayed over in the hotel. Banquet was great, room not so good. The room looked great but the bathroom light would not go out and the noise of the extracter fan kept me awake all night. However, when I mentioned this to reception they deducted the cost of the room from my bill so fair play to them. Another friend said his room had the noise of the kitchen flue all night - so don't book a room in the middle of the hotel as the flue goes right through to the roof!! Apart from that had a wonderful time and the staff were extremely helpful and polite. The banquet was great fun and worth dressing up for, all together a wonderful stay, just check the bathroom light before you stay in whichever room your given!!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking entrance are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David1953124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron T, General Manager at Coombe Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Good morning & thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your visit here to Coombe Abbey to celebrate a friends birthday.
Whilst I am obviously delighted to hear that overall you had a wonderful stay, please do accept my personal apologies for the issues that you unfortunately encountered in your room.
I sincerely hope that they will not deter you from returning at some point in the future.

Kindest regards

Ron Terry
General Manager
Coombe Abbey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017 via mobile

I went here with 5 friends on our work Christmas do. We attended one of the medieval banquets.
The hotel is absolutely stunning and very clean.
The staff are very friendly and helpful.
The banquet was so much fun and quite in keeping with the period, the food was lovely and they put on a show which was very entertaining (huzzah!)
As we were a party of 6 staying in 3 twin rooms, it would have been nice to have rooms close together. One room wasn’t even in the abbey like the other two. It was only a problem as we needed to contact each other sometimes being far apart and the mobile signal was bad and the WiFi wouldn’t connect either. However, I did only find this a minor inconvenience when taking the whole experience into account. We all had an amazing time and would most definitely return.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank sammidoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron T, General Manager at Coombe Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2017

Thank you for taking the opportunity of sharing your thoughts with us following your recent visit here to Coombe Abbey to attend our festive Mediaeval Banquet.
I was delighted to hear that your party all appear to have had a thoroughly enjoyable evening. However, please do accept my personal apologies for any issues you may have experienced due to our WiFi going down. I sincerely hope that this did not cause too much inconvenience.
I very much look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you all back at some point in the future.

Kindest regards

Ron Terry
General Manager
Coombe Abbey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017 via mobile

Stayed here last night and had a great time but left with a very bitter taste this morning after being charged £5 to park the car! Seeing as we had already paid over £200 for the room and banquet night, I found it absolutely disgusting that we were charged extra for this. Total and utter rip off. WiFi didn’t work either and even after we told reception it still wasn’t fixed. Not good enough

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank pooges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron T, General Manager at Coombe Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2017

Good morning & thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your recent visit here to Coombe Abbey.
I was delighted to hear that you had a great time at our festive Mediaeval Banquet. However, please do accept my personal apology for our Wi-Fi being down during your stay, I sincerely hope that this did not cause you too much inconvenience.

Kind regards

Ron Terry
General Manager
Coombe Abbey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coventry
4 km away
Macdonald Ansty Hall
Macdonald Ansty Hall
#7 of 39 in Coventry
1,296 reviews
31 km away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,282 reviews
3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Coventry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.3 km away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
33.8 km away
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
1,004 reviews
9.5 km away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#9 of 39 in Coventry
2,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombe Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombe Abbey Hotel

Address: Brinklow Road | Binley, Coventry CV3 2AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coventry
#2 Romantic Hotel in Coventry
#3 Business Hotel in Coventry
Price Range: €87 - €182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coombe Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Coombe Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coombe Abbey Coventry
Hotel Coombe Abbey
Coombe Abbey Hotel Coventry, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing