We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City
Ranked #77 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Excellent hotel with good free breakfast and wifi. Rooms are large, clean and well looked after. One of the best hotel beds I've slept in. Near to the Star City complex, which has restaurants and a cinema. You can walk to it in about 5 mins. The hotel is about 20 mins from the NEC so its great for exhibitions. Staff were really helpful. All in all highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PJH67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    161
    81
    40
    27
See reviews for
68
125
24
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
135 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Room was cold upon arrival and the Samsung air-con took an hour to warm the room.

Pillows weren't fluffy and found it hard to sleep.

Stayed in Room 187, the croissants didn't taste fresh (probably out of a bag).

Lots of hot food selection at breakfast and great black robust coffee.

Secure parking too.

Room Tip: Room 127 (far from lift/stairs)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank backpackerfriendly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Room was excellent and so was the breakfast buffet. However, there wasn't much hot food for vegetarians at breakfast apart from toast!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zara_xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

Me and my partner arrived to this hotel and was met with a very friendly welcoming smiling receptionist. She check in us in with no problems and told us about the free breakfast and dinner options.

The room we had was large and in the bathroom there was complimentary shampoo and conditioner, hand wash and mosturizer.

The hotel also has free wifi which is always a bonus.

The location is perfect if you are going to star city as me and my partner where. Its just a stones throw away.

We will be returning to this hotel. Its great value for money and as I said great location for star city.

However if I was wanting to go to birmingham city I would not stay in this hotel as its a bit to far.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilo-shu-shu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

I always try to book this hotel when I am in Birmingham as it isn't too busy and, provides good value for money and has lots of parking.

The rooms are clean and there is free wi fi.

I am not a big breakfast person but there is enough choice if I fancy something other than tea and toast.

My only criticism is that it can get busy at breakfast especially in the summer when they have big coach parties but I have in the past taken my breakfast back to my room and no one has said anything.

All in all, good value for money for a hotel that is just on the outskirts of Birmingham City.

Room Tip: I try to get the King Room as it is really spacious but they also provide adjoining rooms for famili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KDS12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#29 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City

Property: Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City
Address: Cuckoo Road, Heartlands Parkway Nechells, Birmingham B7 5SB, England (Formerly Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Star City)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton Birmingham Star City Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Blueberry Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing