We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expect better for a Radisson”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Ranked #63 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 30 November 2012

This hotel is just not up to the standard expected of Radisson. At first glance the room looked like one of the chain's typical rooms, but didn't take long to notice the flaws: Broken furniture, stained carpet and walls, and very poor standard of cleaning overall. (see photos) A strange loud drone would also blare from mybathroom at intervals throughout the night (yes, really!) Reception staff said it was likely "coming from the pipes" and were happy to move me to another room, which was also much better in terms of cleanliness. Got the impression, I wasn't the first guest to complain about the plumbing noise, which begs the question why anyone in the room to begin with? Friendly, helpful staff are only positive aspect about this hotel. Oh, and it's handy for the town centre. So come on Radisson... time to bring in the repair men and give the place a proper clean.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah_duffield, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent comments. I am disappointed to read of your stay and would very much like to discuss further with you. I can see you have enclosed sme pictures, it would be most useful if you could get In touch direct so Invesitagte internally further.

Thank you for your positive comments relating to the hotel service, I have left my details below and hope you had a great Christmas.

Kind regards,

Sarah Duffield
Rooms Divison Manager
Sarah.duffield@radissonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,820 - 1,824 of 2,372 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2012

Stay away !! I payed 140 for a two night stay which I booked months in advance!!

Took ages to book in. Was given a room which smelt of raw sewage went to reception to complain the que was that long I had to to ring in my complaint. Was told this would be rectified returned at 1130 to find a party going on next door. Complained to reception heared the poor guy get abused and them 5 minutes later party started AgAin!! By now the smell of raw sewage was to much and I wAs up graded to a better room at 0030 which ment a robe and slippers!!!

I am due in work at 800 it's 0045 not happy!!

I travel a lot with work and this is the worst hotel by far my friends are staying in the encore across the road and have paid 100 quid less than I have!!! I have another night yet in this hell !

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sams4500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah_duffield, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2012

Dear guest,

I am disappointed to read of you comments and was unfortunately not aware of your dissatisfaction during your stay, perhaps we can discuss further and look to make things right together.

Please can you contact me directly as I cannot receive any details via trip advisor.

Best regards,
Sarah Duffield
Rooms Division Manager
Sarah.duffield@radissonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Dark and dreary from the Lobby to the Hotel restaurant. My room features a broken lamp eith misding bulb, toiletries that had been used, A bed that looked as though it had been laid on, a phone that was dusty and sticky and to too it all - dirty carpet. We can't get Internet and no one seems to know how why the pass code they gave us doesn't work. Food in the restaurant was awful and the waiter left my used wine glass on the table even with my second glass on the table. Improperly trained staff at a below average hotel with above average prices. Still eaiting for the hotel manager to get back to us after calling the front desk to alert them of this room's condition!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dizella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah_duffield, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments - I believe this issue has now been closed positively after communication together. My sincere apologies for any inconvienece caused.

Please email me directly if you require any further assistance.

Best regards,

Sarah Duffield
Rooms Division Manager
Sarah.duffield@radissonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

When I checked in the check in staff were polite but despite being a Gold member of Club Carlson no upgrade was available which in itself is not the end of the world but is a benefit supposedly offered to the tier below and above. The room has a reasonable view of the road and Birmingham Mailbox but the bed looked poorly made and I checked the sheets to find visible stains. Housekeeping did come promptly to change it but when I returned from my evening meal with a colleague there was no apology from the management or sign they recognised there was an issue with a guest checking in and having to ask for fresh sheets. Have emailed customer services but heard nothing as yet. I am here on business and would certainly not use my own money to stay here as things currently stand. May be another group to add to the banned list, see whether they ever have the courtesy to ever respond.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
Thank zcwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah_duffield, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments, my sincere apologies for your experience, of course not acceptable and will be addressed internally. May I ask you to contact me directly, I have left my details in your message box or you may find this below.

I hope to hear from you soon and move forward positively.

Best regards,
Sarah Duffield
Rooms Division Manager
Sarah.duffield@radissonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

This hotel was nice, staff were very friendly, the rewards scheme is worth joining, if you stay at 7 of the hotels in the chain you get a free nights stay, also free newspaper. I picked this hotel following an excellent stay in the Radisson Blue in Liverpool with my girlfriend, the beds are really comfortable. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Join the rewards scheme!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J4MES2O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah_duffield, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments! - I am glad you have found the Radisson Blu journey so far positive and we are looking forward to having you as our regular guest!

Indeed the loyalty programme pays off, so thank you for advising customers, you can join direct at the hotel or by enrolling online at clubcarlson.com

Have a merry Christmas from all the team!

Sarah Duffield
Rooms Division Manager
Sarah.duffield@radissonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
983 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,256 reviews
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
2,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
2,404 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
4,215 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham

Address: 12 Holloway Circus Queensway | Queensway, Birmingham B1 1BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: €72 - €239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently refurbished Radisson Blu Hotel in Birmingham soars above the cityscape in an impressive 39-storey structure near the business district, conventio centre and shopping complexes. The large 170,000 square foot John Lewis and the new grand central station on New Street are just a 3-minute walk from the hotel. The hotel also has NCP parking facilities directly behind on St. Jude's Passage. The 211 contemporary rooms and suites showcase modern accents and furnishings and provide amenities such as Free high-speed, wireless Internet. Experience the unique twist on the classic British Brasserie in on-site Collage restaurant. From sumptuous steaks and smoked haddock kedgeree to a classic British cheeseboard, enter the world of Collage where the theatre of service and unforgettable dishes are the order of the day. Enjoy a cocktail or beer at our Lobby bar or the Collage bar. Keep fit in the 18th-floor fitness centre, where skyline city views enhance your workout experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Radisson Birmingham
Birmingham Radisson
Radisson Sas Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing