We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Ranked #63 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Stayed here on the theatre deal on saturday - bed, breakfast, 3 course pre theatre dinner and 2 glasses of prosecco and choc dipped strawberries as a birthday treat for my husband.
From the moment we checked in we were welcomed like VIPs, nothing was too much trouble and the staff seemed genuinely pleased to help us. Had slight delay with delivery of prosecco to the room, but this was sorted and they gave us complimentary carparking to make up for it - cannot praise them enough, you must go to experience the first class service!
V clean, lovely selection at the breakfast buffet, well placed for shopping (just up road to Bull Ring Centre), and 5 minutes away from Hippodrome and Alex theatres.Will definitely return!
Tip - Even numbered rooms are at the back - not such a great view but much much quieter for a good night's sleep!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter - once we stayed on the 17th floor at the front and could still hear t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah_duffield, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Dear Michelle,

Thank you for your recent stay - I hope you and your partner had a fantastic celebration together! I am sure the birthday amenities really made a difference.

I hope we have the oppurtunity to book your next celebration, please feel free to contact me direct and I shall make all the arrangements with you.

Best regards,

Rooms Division Manager
Sarah.duffield@radissonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,824 - 1,828 of 2,368 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2012 via mobile

High class! Absolutely worth our corporate rate of 85GBP per night. 15GBP for full fantastic breakfast.

I liked it very much! Close to eveything in the town of Birmingham.

Friendly personnel from East Europe.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndiGeismar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah_duffield, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Dear guest,

Many thanks for your kind words! I hope we will see you again in the week, You should sign up for our loyalty programme if you are staying often.

Best regards,

Sarah Duffield
Rooms Division Manager
Sarah.duffield@radissonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

This is a modern hotel with nice sized rooms and excellent food. The staff are friendly and attentive and the service good. It is is a great location being central for the city centre, rail stations etc.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scottkjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah_duffield, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive comments! It makes us smile when we we are told our service was great. At Radisson we pride ourselves on "Yes I Can" service and spirit! it looks like our training is really paying off well!

Looking forward to having you back soon.

All the best.

Sarah Duffield
Rooms Division Manager
Sarah.duffield@radissonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I really do wonder why this hotel has had any bad reviews!I stayed here from the 17th to the 18th of november with my wife(our second such stay)for my 50th birthday and have to say it was faultless,from the checking in-which was quick,easy and polite-the fast carriage in the lift,spectacular views from our 16th floor room to the most comfortable bed which i must say was on par with that of the sofitel on west 44th street NY.Our only niggle to the perfection that is the Radisson was the lack of a newspaper in the morning which was offered as we were business class,when asked for in the lobby we were told to take one from the pile,we were in a hurry so took one,only to discover on the train home it was 3 days old!Naughty staff,Brilliant stay and look forward to returning and think others should

Room Tip: Get a room as high as possible to lessen traffic noise,the shoe cleaning button is unmarked but loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jez47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah_duffield, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Dear guest,

Wow, thank you for your kind words! I am pleased you enjoyed your time with us and the high views are a favourite! I will look into this newspaper situation as we deliver every night and not heard of any issues, my apologies.

Hope to hear from you in the future, until then, have a fab week!

Best regards,

Sarah Duffield
Rooms Division Manager
Sarah.duffield@radissonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Stayed here with my partner, as we were going to a show in Symphony Hall.

Check in was pretty smooth. Our room was ready at just after 1.00pm, which was a surprise as the stated check in time was 3.00pm. Our room was located on the 16th floor and we had a great view. The room was clean and tidy.

We had a "business class" room (are there any other types in this hotel?) - so the bathroom toiletries were of a good standard, the bathroom was immaculate and the room in general was good - which I would have expected in all honesty, for a 4* hotel charging £159.00 for one nights stay. As has been mentioned previously, floor to ceiling windows gave an excellent view of the tower block of flats opposite. Oops, I mean the delightful skyline of Birmingham.

So, a day exploring in Birmingham and we return. We took a drink in the hotel bar, two glasses of wine - I was genuinely surprised by the bar charge - less than a tenner for two small glasses of wine. Well done Radisson, I was expecting much much more for a late night hotel bar. We then hit the room.

I am sick to death of "king sized" beds being two smaller beds pushed together. This left an uncomfortable join between the beds that was obviously felt. It didn't inspire the most romantic of cuddles, but the bed itself wasn't too uncomfortable. Nice duvet and pillows completed the set. But PLEASE - either make it a proper double, or a proper king. Don't compromise. It was was obvious and was actually quite uncomfortable if you slept in the wrong position.

Breakfast - well, it's a farce. Notice in the lifts explained to avoid certain times due to "high occupancy". A hotel of 4* should have the facility to cope with high occupancy and demand at breakfast. This is not the fault of a consumer paying £159 for a room. We "avoided" the suggested time of 10.30am onwards and took breakfast at 9.30am instead. We were checked in and left to find our own table.

Positives? The food was nice. Fresh and well cooked. The downside. Awful staff. I had to ask to be served a hot drink at least 5 times. I had finished my breakfast by the time it had arrived. When it did arrive, it was dumped unceremoniously on to my table, nearly spilling it's contents.

So, I put sugar in to my cup. Then milk. Oops. No milk. I asked for milk. Again, a few grunts later and it arrived. So to stir my coffee. Ooops. No teaspoons on the table. When turning a table in a 4* hotel, the basics should be a given - ensure all crockery and cutlery is provided for the guests occupying the tables. Not doing this causes delays. Delays cause queues. Queues cause complaints. Learn your lessons people.

Check out was ok. Pretty quick and painless. We were let out the back door to the carpark - something I would not like to do in the dark. I am a native of Birmingham and it's a pretty safe city, but a urine soaked carpark in the dirty backstreet is not the best of welcomes or exits from this hotel - it kind of taints the memories.

Either way - it was ok. The room was nice - the view spectacular. No noise, nice and quiet and the general condition of the hotel is great. The staff are hit and miss. Breakfast is a farce. Yes, it's probably better than the 3* review I've given it - but the compromise bed, the abysmal breakfast service and the carpark mark it down. I have no real complaints - but it's expensive for what you really actually get - search around (Malmaison?) and you'll get a better total package. I think once is probably enough for me.

Room Tip: On the front of the hotel, as high as you can get - the view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJohnstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah_duffield, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed review - I was pleased that overall you were satisfied with your stay. Hotels do have what we call zip and link beds, and we also have King mattresses, I understand the zip and links can feel slightly different and therefore apologise if you were uncomfortable.

In respect of the your commens relating to breakfast I shall pass these on to our food & beverage manager for further follow up and action. Perhaps if you are in town again you will consider us, if you contact me direct in the future I will sure you are looked after very well.

Thank you for your stay with us, if we dont see you soon then have a great christmas

Best regards,,

Sarah Duffield
Rooms Division Manager
Sarah.duffield@radissonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
983 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,252 reviews
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
2,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
2,402 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
4,213 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham

Address: 12 Holloway Circus Queensway | Queensway, Birmingham B1 1BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: €70 - €240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently refurbished Radisson Blu Hotel in Birmingham soars above the cityscape in an impressive 39-storey structure near the business district, conventio centre and shopping complexes. The large 170,000 square foot John Lewis and the new grand central station on New Street are just a 3-minute walk from the hotel. The hotel also has NCP parking facilities directly behind on St. Jude's Passage. The 211 contemporary rooms and suites showcase modern accents and furnishings and provide amenities such as Free high-speed, wireless Internet. Experience the unique twist on the classic British Brasserie in on-site Collage restaurant. From sumptuous steaks and smoked haddock kedgeree to a classic British cheeseboard, enter the world of Collage where the theatre of service and unforgettable dishes are the order of the day. Enjoy a cocktail or beer at our Lobby bar or the Collage bar. Keep fit in the 18th-floor fitness centre, where skyline city views enhance your workout experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Rezidor, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Radisson Birmingham
Birmingham Radisson
Radisson Sas Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing