We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Sunday lunch ”
Review of The Lord Clifden

The Lord Clifden
Ranked #140 of 2,517 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$26
Cuisines: American, Mexican, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Lord Clifden (UAB) is a true free house with a difference. Situated in the Jewellery Quarter, we are highlighted in both the CAMRA Good Beer Guide 2015 and the Good Pub Guide. In the last 3 years, we've received 5 Observer Monthly food awards; 2012 national runner up in the Observer Monthly food awards and regional winner for the Midlands. 2013 We repeated the success with another 2 'runners up' awards: 'Best Place to Drink' and 'Best Sunday Lunch' 2014 regional runners up for 'Best Place to Drink' & Best Sunday Lunch' In 2014, we were awarded 'Best Community Pub' for the West Midlands & Wales region in the Great British Pub Awards.
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

Just been with the family and had an amazing Sunday dinner . We just wanted a no fuss Sunday dinner that’s what we got . Massive portions, excellent quality food and value for money . The staff gave excellent friendly service and we would definitely go again .

Thank IanTWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris W, Front Office Manager at The Lord Clifden, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Afternoon Ian,

Many thanks for the review & really pleased to hear all things from your Sunday lunch with the family was met as we'd expect.
Appreciate the comments on the food, value, portion size & that staff also added to your visit.

Look forward to welcoming you all back in the future.

Enjoy the rest of your week.
LC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

Great pub with a super beer garden.
The choice of beers is massive.
There is also a good range of pub grub and snacks which were served quickly and hot, try the fish finger sandwich.
Pleasant and efficient staff as well.

Thank Nigel133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris W, Front Office Manager at The Lord Clifden, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Nigel,

Great to read your comments & feedback following your recent visit to us.

Glad you enjoyed your food; the 'Fish Finger' sandwich, a great choice with a beer & happily to note service & staff were efficient & helpful.

Beers - again, thank you. We're already looking at increasing/changing as we speak from the from rotating guest ales, new craft beer (on tap & in cans) plus our range of lagers too.

We hope we'll see you again soon for more.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Visited for family Sunday Lunch. Good choices on menu and reasonable price with massive servings. Veg not quite up to standard tho - I like mine al dente but the carrots were definitely crunchy and roast potatoes nothing t write home about.

However, portion size meant we didn't have the pudding we initially had our eyes on

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank anniestt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris W, Front Office Manager at The Lord Clifden, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Afternoon Annie,

Many thanks for visiting us at The Lord Clifden & taking the time to leave some feedback.

Glad you enjoyed the food, happy with value & portion size too! We do try to ensure all customers eat well & leave full.
Appreciate the comments on the veg & potatoes. HAve passed this onto the management & the kitchen.

Hopefully we'll see you again soon & possibly for pudding!

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018 via mobile

Would highly recommend this place went here on Sunday with a friend and had one of the roasts, was absolutely delicious! Will defiantly be returning.

Thank rita8682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris W, Front Office Manager at The Lord Clifden, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Rita,

Many, many thanks for the glowing review, 5 stars & kind words on our Sunday roasts & we're happy the recommendation was met as expected. Credit must & will go to the chefs & all the kitchen team who work hard to make sure your Sunday staple is delicious.

Hope you'll pop by again soon.

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018 via mobile

Great atmosphere, friendly staff, and a decent selection at the bar. Would highly recommend for a casual pint, the food menu is very strong too. I highly recommend the Sunday roasts!

Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris W, Front Office Manager at The Lord Clifden, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Hi Tim,

Many thanks for the review & comments on the pub. Really appreciate the feedback on the beers, food, staff, service & the atmosphere too.

Hope to see you again soon for more casual pints & a plate!

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lord Clifden also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to The Lord Clifden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing