We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of The Lord Clifden

The Lord Clifden
Ranked #138 of 2,537 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Mexican, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Lord Clifden (UAB) is a true free house with a difference. Situated in the Jewellery Quarter, we are highlighted in both the CAMRA Good Beer Guide 2015 and the Good Pub Guide. In the last 3 years, we've received 5 Observer Monthly food awards; 2012 national runner up in the Observer Monthly food awards and regional winner for the Midlands. 2013 We repeated the success with another 2 'runners up' awards: 'Best Place to Drink' and 'Best Sunday Lunch' 2014 regional runners up for 'Best Place to Drink' & Best Sunday Lunch' In 2014, we were awarded 'Best Community Pub' for the West Midlands & Wales region in the Great British Pub Awards.
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Visited for family Sunday Lunch. Good choices on menu and reasonable price with massive servings. Veg not quite up to standard tho - I like mine al dente but the carrots were definitely crunchy and roast potatoes nothing t write home about.

However, portion size meant we didn't have the pudding we initially had our eyes on

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank anniestt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris W, Front Office Manager at The Lord Clifden, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2018

Afternoon Annie,

Many thanks for visiting us at The Lord Clifden & taking the time to leave some feedback.

Glad you enjoyed the food, happy with value & portion size too! We do try to ensure all customers eat well & leave full.
Appreciate the comments on the veg & potatoes. HAve passed this onto the management & the kitchen.

Hopefully we'll see you again soon & possibly for pudding!

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2018 via mobile

Would highly recommend this place went here on Sunday with a friend and had one of the roasts, was absolutely delicious! Will defiantly be returning.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank rita8682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris W, Front Office Manager at The Lord Clifden, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2018

Hi Rita,

Many, many thanks for the glowing review, 5 stars & kind words on our Sunday roasts & we're happy the recommendation was met as expected. Credit must & will go to the chefs & all the kitchen team who work hard to make sure your Sunday staple is delicious.

Hope you'll pop by again soon.

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018 via mobile

Great atmosphere, friendly staff, and a decent selection at the bar. Would highly recommend for a casual pint, the food menu is very strong too. I highly recommend the Sunday roasts!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris W, Front Office Manager at The Lord Clifden, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Hi Tim,

Many thanks for the review & comments on the pub. Really appreciate the feedback on the beers, food, staff, service & the atmosphere too.

Hope to see you again soon for more casual pints & a plate!

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018 via mobile

Decent pub in Birmingham’s famous Jewellery Quarter. It’s probably a fifteen to twenty minute walk from the city centre or a five minute walk from the Metro (tram) station that can be caught at a handful of venues centrally including outside New St station.

The pub has two rooms, a great variety of beers, the walls are adorned with interesting art but the crowning glory is its quirky beer garden.

Well worth a visit but be warned the beer garden gets very busy during good weather.

It’s open late but there is a cover charge for late admissions.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank lonzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris W, Front Office Manager at The Lord Clifden, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Morning Lonzie,

Cheers for the feedback following your visit to us at The Lord Clifden & for the kind words too.

Interested to find out more re door charges & IF you were charged or not?

If so, could you please send us details to the following - contact@thelordclifden.com

Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018

Nine off were served quickly and in a friendly way. All drinks spot on including the real ale and various gins tried also.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris W, Front Office Manager at The Lord Clifden, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Many thanks Brian for the glowing review & very pleased to hear the efficiency & friendliness of the staff whilst on your visit.

Will pass the comments onto the team & we hope we'll see you again soon.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lord Clifden also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to The Lord Clifden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing