We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funday dinner ”
Review of The Lord Clifden

The Lord Clifden
Ranked #120 of 2,323 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$27
Cuisines: American, Mexican, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Lord Clifden (UAB) is a true free house with a difference. Situated in the Jewellery Quarter, we are highlighted in both the CAMRA Good Beer Guide 2015 and the Good Pub Guide. In the last 3 years, we've received 5 Observer Monthly food awards; 2012 national runner up in the Observer Monthly food awards and regional winner for the Midlands. 2013 We repeated the success with another 2 'runners up' awards: 'Best Place to Drink' and 'Best Sunday Lunch' 2014 regional runners up for 'Best Place to Drink' & Best Sunday Lunch' In 2014, we were awarded 'Best Community Pub' for the West Midlands & Wales region in the Great British Pub Awards.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went for Sunday dinner here last Sunday. I could not fault their roast, apart from the peas being mixed in with the cabbage which made them harder to pick out, but that's just my personal issue with peas I'm sure in real life that's fine. The beef was up there with the best beef I've ever had and the veggies (apart from the evil peas) were great too! I would recommend the Lord Clifton to anyone... not just for food but if you fancy a few drinky poo's too! Ace place.

Thank Lounw88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris W, Front Office Manager at The Lord Clifden, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Lounw88

Thanks for the positive review & your thoughts on the pub.
Great to read your comments on the pub food & glad you enjoyed the beef!
We'll make a note next time for the peas, or if not a fan, please ask to be left off!

Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 360 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visit their few days back with my friends this place is good for drinks nice cosy and very busy. But food won’t recommend, Me and my partner we ordered soup and jumping bean goat cheese burger, which wasn’t worth for that money even not tasty at all I won’t suggest anyone to go their for food but yes for drinks Its a nice place where you can sit and have pint of beers only . Coz personally I am soup lover I waste all my soup just had one spoon not even feel like to try the second one.
Recommend to only beer lovers

Thank mimansha c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris W, Front Office Manager at The Lord Clifden, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi mimansha c,
Thanks for stopping by & for your feedback following your visit.

Thanks for the kind words on the venue & that you enjoyed the drinks.

RE Food - apologies for the soup.
We make new soups all the time, from scratch & had good feedback regarding our spicy bean burger (new veg & vegan option on the menu) alongside many vegetarian dishes available.

Not sure if you mentioned your dissatisfaction to our staff as we'd have been more than happy to exchange your dishes or refund if unhappy.

Please feel welcome to get in touch with management team as we are confident you would enjoy another visit.

Warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

Past two times I've eaten here had a simple buttee the bread has been absolutely stale...I will use the hen and chicken down Constitution hill from now on...shame was a lovely pre match pub

Thank Bogfog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris W, Front Office Manager at The Lord Clifden, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Hi Bogfog,

Thanks for bringing this to our attention & apologies on this.

The bread I don't believe is stale as its brought in fresh every day. What is happening is that after the sandwiches are made, they are being put under the heat lamps & usually on Saturday with a busy lunch service, appears they may be left too long, causing the bread to crisp slightly.

Having said that, we'd have been more than happy to have exchanged any dissatisfactory meals/food or offered you something else.

Again sorry about this & we have passed this onto the ktichen team & this will be rectified.

Thanks again


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

This is one of the best pubs n Birmingham. Terrific food with fantastic music in the evenings with an outside ambience what more could one want.

Thank KevinMadras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris W, Front Office Manager at The Lord Clifden, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Hello KevinMadras,

Many thanks for the review & wonderful feedback.
Great to read your thoughts & kind words on our food & music & really appreciate the comment on the garden ambience.
Says alot & it's great to receive this from our customers who of course make these nights what they are.

Thanks again Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Great Sunday roast, great choice of beer- maybe slightly overpriced for a pub location but worth a visit.

Thank cr1t1que
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris W, Public Relations Manager at The Lord Clifden, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Hi cr1t1que,

Thanks for popping in for your Sunday roast & glad to read you enjoyed it.
Will pass onto Chef & the team!

Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lord Clifden also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to The Lord Clifden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing