We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pricey - not bad, but a little tired in service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #42 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Pricey - not bad, but a little tired in service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Used restaurant for business lunch - food & drink is pricey, I don't mind that so much, but the service although quick for the food, was more than lacklustre at the bar.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VoiceOnRadio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    464
    254
    120
    69
See reviews for
158
637
36
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

I checked in and was given the wrong room, as I waited in the bar the manager came to tell me the bad news, I thought he was there to tell me I could not have the room I had booked, but no, he was sorry to tell me the valet had written off my car!!!!!! DONT WORRY HE SAID. We will make sure everything is perfect, leave it to us. As he left I turned to finish off my very expensive cocktail to find it had been removed. Later at dinner we ordered wine, both choices were out of stock, When my main course arrived they had forgotten to put the bird in the oven, not an overstatement, they really had, it was still cold and raw from the fridge. I asked for the bill, at which point the maitre d came over in tears, so sorry for the awful treatment I had received. Having had enough I went to my room to watch tv which didnt work, called the front desk but the phone was inactive. What a shambles. The place is tired
and so are the staff. Needless to say I have no resolution regarding my car, they decided to pass the problem onto the insurance company wiping their hands of the whole affair.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 344stuarthall344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Stayed at the Hotel Du Vin for 1 night. We arrived early, looking just to drop off our bags before shopping but were pleasantly surprised to find that we could check in. Our room was a reasonable size (1st floor). The bed was a good size and comfy, although for our tastes we would have preferred firmer pillows. There was a good selection of teas and a Nespresso machine which we used to have a couple of lovely coffees. The bathroom was quite small but perfectly adequate for 1 night & the shower was fantastic. We had a DVD player & TV along with a selection of magazines to read which was a nice touch.
Can't comment on either the restaurant or bars as we didn't go in either. We were intending to go in the Pub Du Vin as had read good reviews on TA but we ended up in another nearby bar; Gingers, which did amazing cocktails !
The hotel is in a great location, close to the Jewellry Quarter and only a 5-10 min walk top the Bullring & New St station.
Would definately return. The only negative I can think of is that the room was quite warm during the night, causing us to turn the air con on ! Again, this is all down to individual tates.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elvister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Great hotel - loevely rooms with fantastic shower and baths. Superb food and wine. Within easy walking distance for Bull ring, Jewellry Quarter and more!

Room Tip: Always ask about an upgrade and see what they will offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

I always get such friendly response from their booking reservations. They have an understanding on how to make business trip requirements and even private visits very comfortable.

Situated in the middle of the hold city center this hotel with so much charm in the bar and Bistro. It seems to offer everything for everyone. I also suggested this charming hotel to my daughter when she was looking for a venue for her wedding a few years ago. Nothing could be faulted and all the staff were extremely helpful and made the reception a total success.

Room Tip: All rooms are designed in an elegant individual way. Extremely comfortable beds and large bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MEHEStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,281 reviews
Edgbaston
The Edgbaston
The Edgbaston
#4 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Hotel Indigo Birmingham
#26 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Property: Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Address: 25 Church Street, Birmingham B3 2NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#20 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#23 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#29 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing