We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A lovely central place to stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malmaison Birmingham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Malmaison Birmingham
Ranked #24 of 116 Hotels in Birmingham
Tamworth, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A lovely central place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

My partner and I stayed at this hotel this month for one night. We stayed so that we could go and have a meal and drinks in the mailbox. We decided for the extra money it would be worth upgrading to the King Size suite. It was lovely, very clean and on the top floor. There was a very comfortable bed, flat screen T.V, aswell as seperate shower and bath. The room was very spacious and came with lots of little extras in the bathroom. There were tea and coffee facilities which were well stocked. Although on arrival it took a while for staff to greet us and check us in, once addressed they were very polite and helpful. The spa facilties were excellent, providing us with a gown and towel on arrival. This was included in the hotel price. The bar underneath the hotel was also excellent and we stayed for drinks there at the end of the night.
All in all we were very satisfied with our stay at this hotel and would recommend and stay again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the King Size suite - it was worth it when we saw the standard rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ctom1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    711
    742
    372
    169
    101
See reviews for
149
883
71
518
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

I think we have stayed the same night as a previous reviewer, as we too had a sleepless night with the rooms near us holding all night parties.

When I visited this hotel back in August I loved it, but a lot seems to have happened to the hotel in a short time. Like other reviews not a lot of information at check in, plus the lift we took to our floor had parts of the light cover falling off. The carpet in the main hallway wasn't clean, though lots of cleaning carts "parked" in a row.

The decor in the room was lovely, but we too had a stained carpet, dust on the side tables & the room had a lot of wear & tear.

Breakfast was excellent, the the tables & chairs look worn & although it was early the floor was dirty.

Such a shame as this was an excellent hotel before, with luck they have a refit planned very soon.


  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dribbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed at Malmaison in Birmingham on a Saturday night.
I managed to get double room with Bed and Full Breakfast for only £87 via Trivago website.
Hotel is excellent, very clean and has all the amenities you want for a short stay.
The prices for the mini bar in the room were also excellent.
Bar in the hotel was vibrant on the Saturday
So if you are looking for a good hotel in a good location then I would say to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julestys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We have just stayed at Malmaison Birmingham for a Dinner Bed & Breakfast deal and had a excellent time. Food was great, excellent location and ideal for a cheap night out. The only negative I can say is that every time I have stayed here the rooms are too hot and you can not open the window. Breakfast we great but othwer people seemed to be having issues. I would recomened this

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IanTWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Have been here twice now. It is fab and worth paying extra for the moderness and niceness! :-) Room are lovely and bathrooms/baths are nice. It is just how it is on pictures basically! You can often get good deals on a sunday £25 a night if you spend £70 in the restaurant, which you do easily by the time you get a bottle of wine and £100 for the night is good, I think! Great location. Never had breakfast there so can't comment. Would definetly recommend. You get what you pay for. Beds are lovely and cosey too!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauzKro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 116 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 116 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,693 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 116 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#39 of 116 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
Hotel Indigo Birmingham
#23 of 116 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#12 of 116 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Birmingham

Property: Malmaison Birmingham
Address: The Mailbox 1 Wharfside Street, Birmingham B1 1RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#33 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Malmaison Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Malmaison Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing