We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar for lunch only”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malmaison Birmingham
Ranked #22 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Bar for lunch only”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

This review relates to the bar only and not the rooms or main restuarant. We had a business lunch at Malmaison as its one of my favourite hotel groups . From the outset I could tell that it was a bad choice , the waitress and manager were clearly unable to cope with the demands of 10 customers , I witnessed a crazed scenario of him pouring 2 colas 3 times , each time throwing them away for absolutely no reason ? It was just a chaotic scene of incompetence and down right laziness . Our meals took 35 minutes to arrive and as they were only sandwiches it really hard to imagine how they could cope with other meals. I have previously had issues with the staffing at Malmaison in Birmingham but today was just awful .. A cant cope attitude in a quiet bar makes for a terrible lunch.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trysull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    777
    796
    396
    172
    110
See reviews for
168
950
77
551
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed one night, checked in Saturday as I needed to be in Birmingham refreshed for Sunday morning. There was very loud music coming from the bar but once in my room it was no problem. It is my second stay here, it's just an ok hotel for an overnight stay.

Room Tip: Book a room far away from the bar on a Saturday night, its very noisy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marvadread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Nice is a wishy washy word but this hotel is nice not great but nice.
Reception team were friendly but not too interactive, rooms are good. We did eat here and the bar is a very popular one with a good atmosphere.
Typical Mal hotel and would return for sure.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imps1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed here with my husband on the 12feb Sunday night.Rooms £25.if you spend £75 in the restaurant including drinks on a Sunday. .
Had a wonderful time. Staff are lovely and the soap shampoo smell lovely. Back next year for my birthday on a Sunday.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckybham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We have stayed at various Malmaison hotels and expect a certain quality. We booked a Suite and stayed in Spaghetti Junction on the 7th floor. It's the second time we have stayed in that room and in the 2 years since we last stayed there, it has gotten very tired.
We paid £420 for the room. The bathroom sink was slow to drain and we had to call housekeeping to get this unblocked within 5 minutes of arriving. The bath, although clean, had a long black hair hanging off the tap (see photo) and there were a few dubious stains on the furnishings.
Breakfast the next morning was also a little disappointing - we ordered more toast, it did not arrive so we asked a waitress who said there was a queue for toast. We left before it arrived.
We probably will stay at a Mal again as we really like the hotels, but this was not a good experience. An overpriced suite considering the overall experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
920 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
2,978 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#34 of 117 in Birmingham
1,536 reviews
Hotel Indigo Birmingham
#31 of 117 in Birmingham
987 reviews
AC Hotel Birmingham
#17 of 117 in Birmingham
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Birmingham

Property: Malmaison Birmingham
Address: The Mailbox 1 Wharfside Street, Birmingham B1 1RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#10 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Malmaison Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Malmaison Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing