We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“friendly hotel in Birmingham” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eaton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eaton Hotel
Ranked #6 of 141 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Durham
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“friendly hotel in Birmingham”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

we stayed here to attend a wedding so really just needed a comfortable bed and a tasty breakfast and this was definately what we had. The room was spacious and clean and the bed comfortable, and there was a very good power shower. The staff were very friendly and helpful - absolutely no complaints about the Eaton hotel.

Although there were lifts to the two floors there were some short flights of steps to negotiate on the corridors.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DurhamAnne100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    162
    39
    13
    6
See reviews for
93
197
34
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

I have been staying at the Eaton at various times in the last 4 months and I commend it highly.
The accommodation is exceptionally good with up-to-date facilities in all of the rooms I have stayed in. There is ample car-parking space; the hotel is on a main road so accessability is not a problem (the noise of the main road is only heard in the rooms facing it; even so, it is not intrusive).
The food is exceptional, with both a la carte and set menus in the evenings; it can rival any restaurant easily in price and quality.
The staff are friendly, attentive and helpful and make you feel at home without being over-enthusiastic.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Fri/Sat night stay with several friends in mid November.

Being a good boy, I waited to see what response we had to our direct complaint over one big issue before I reviewed. It was all we could have wished for, so I have not let it affect my review nor scoring.

Given the extortionate cost of the new downtown Brum hotels (and no flippin car parking other than public), one or two of the just-out-the-centre Hagley Rd places have cottoned on and upped their game. I wasn't expecting much for £60 a night, B&B single occupancy, and the place isn't particularly imposing on arrival. However, I was bowled over by the very friendly and efficient check in, and smart, well equipped room. Would have liked a bath, but excellent shower. Room was warm, and I would imagine very much more so in warm weather. Aircon would be good, but one has to remember the price. Corby trouser press/ironing board/iron combo a very useful touch - why don't all places have them? They have employed a top design agency, and it shows.

Breakfast service was a little flaky, but the fare was pretty good - again, a lot more than one would expect for the price. We did have a serious problem with the very noisy wedding on Sat night that went on too late, but it seems this will not re-occur to the same degree. I would recommend asking if staying on a weekend what functions are booked as the curfew is midnight. Rooms at the back of the hotel were not affected. My sleep quality score is for Friday night!

This aside, The Eaton offers tremendous value for money (and a car park!) and I was disappointed to find it booked out mid last week when returning on business. I tried a similarly rennovated one nearby at higher cost which was not so good.

Room Tip: We had 4 rooms between us, and all were very good. As for one right at the back on Fri/Sat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trevgti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Booked this hotel 5 weeks prior to stay for a family room, two adults two children. Agreed price of £85.00. Day of departure,decided to request a single room for another family member and manageress agreed £55.00. We arrived later on Saturday afternoon to check in. Gentleman on reception starting flapping his arms around and shouting at me that the rooms I was sold were far too cheap and I hadn't been charged enough for them! I explained how the manageress had spoken to me earlier in the day and had offered me both rooms for total £140.00. I was so embarrassed as other guests were sat in reception area. He was very rude and eventually conceded that our booking was indeed correct but without apologising. When we were checking out, we noticed another group quierying what they had been quoted against what they were now being charged and I would advise anyone booking this hotel to get email confirmation so they don't have to go through this. The hotel itself was very comfortable and Is just a shame they are being let down by unproffesional staff!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aly5n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

I have been staying at this hotel while on a training course and I would like to say you can not ask for anymore the service is fab and all hotel staff are very friendly.
The hotel rooms are very clean tidy and very modern.
The food breakfast and dinner is great and have plenty of choice David the manager is so funny and friendly as so is Fiona on the bar, the waiter which can't think of his name is great too. The staff front of house are very helpful.
I will look forward to my return at the end of the month

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaraStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Hotel La Tour
#8 of 141 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,151 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 141 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#5 of 141 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 141 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eaton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eaton Hotel

Property: Eaton Hotel
Address: 279 Hagley Road, Birmingham B16 9NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#5 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#14 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Eaton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Eaton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eaton Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing