We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“If Ikea did hotels........” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Indigo Birmingham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Birmingham
Ranked #35 of 141 Hotels in Birmingham
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If Ikea did hotels........”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

As a regular visitor to Birmingham I have stayed in most of the decent hotels but in order to get a table at Marco Pierre Whites new steak house we chose the idigo, all I can say is thank goodness they have the restaurant attached or they would be bust in a week! Rooms looked like they were designed by Ikea and the quality was about the same. The walls are paper thin, the staff are sweet but incompetent. OK they have only been open 2 months but you don't expect to go to a cocktail bar and have to tell the barman what to put in the cocktail! MPW the food was great and worth a visit but not at the expense of a hotel room I would recommend the Hyatt instead its only across the road.

We did visit the SPA, its tiny but the staff were helpful, they gym equipment was decent but the gym itself is a bit budget. Its a real shame the whole cube complex had potential but then again so do most 13 year olds and this place has comparable sophistication levels - you live and learn, will definitely be reverting to the competition and eating at Simpsons next time!

Room Tip: If you want quiet comfort try the sister hotel Crowne Plaza on Broad street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TINA K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
We are sorry you did'nt enjoy our hotel experience. Hotel Indigo is a boutique style brand, vibrant , curious and original.
Our Gym is equiped with the most renowned and up to date equipment from technogym. We have four studios, including Milano and urban space rooms, a hydro pool, jacuzzi, two sauna's , a steam room, a salt room. The spa has a floatation bath, ten treatment rooms offering the latest treatments. A Laurent Perrier champagne nail bar. It also has its members and guests only lounge bar.
We are a unique brand that is not comparable to other variations.
We do respect your comments and do take all feedback seriously. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    271
    121
    60
    37
See reviews for
41
431
15
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Second visit to this lovely hotel. Nice relaxing break, beautiful modern rooms, good beds, lovely welcoming reception from Suzanne at reception.

Rooms are very modern, flat screen tv, modern power shower. Marco bar and restaurant are superb. Always busy, nice selection of drinks and cocktails.

Our friends loved it and we look forward to returning very soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pippadoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whittlesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Fantastic views from the restaurant on the 25th floor.
Good accomodation, pleasant and helpfull staff so handy to walk to the city shops.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Last weekend staid for one night in brand new Hotel Indigo. I am sure that I will be staying from now on there. Usually I stay in Malmaison, however last weekend decided to try Indigo. I was very pleased starting from the first minutes I arrived to the hotel. (They have very cool car park.)
Service was great, food was great as we had booking in MPW. The rooms are just amazing with stunning view. Also rooms are not worn out like in other hotel. One more thing you have access to pool, steam rooms etc in SPA
Overall defo would advice to stay there at least once

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Stay on a Friday night. Walked from station which wasn't too far. A bit of a strange location right at the back of The Mailbox but would have been fine if we had got a taxi. Reception welcoming, exec room on 23rd floor modern and well presented. Shower only but great full window view of Brum. Marco's was a mixed bag. Not best sense of arrival at host desk, make u wait before going to bar \ rest which means less money for them. Bar was ok, not personable just functional (needs flair tenders with some passion and personality). Table was great in window but I can't help feeling its a function room with a load of tables (guess that's so diners in the cheap seats feel they have a view). Wine in water not ice, staff scruffy and food just ok. Starters pricey but no better than most. Overall, I'd give it a 3 out of 5. Personally, my advice would be to go to a genuine eatery where the actual chef is in residence and food is less formulaic. Marco's is hype but he probably consults less than 1 day a month across his many outlets.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dleeh_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#5 of 141 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,491 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#25 of 141 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,993 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#8 of 141 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
AC Hotel Birmingham
#11 of 141 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 141 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#42 of 141 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Birmingham

Property: Hotel Indigo Birmingham
Address: 200 Wharfside Street | The Cube, Birmingham B1 1PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 141 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing