We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If Ikea did hotels........”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Birmingham
Ranked #37 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 29 January 2012

As a regular visitor to Birmingham I have stayed in most of the decent hotels but in order to get a table at Marco Pierre Whites new steak house we chose the idigo, all I can say is thank goodness they have the restaurant attached or they would be bust in a week! Rooms looked like they were designed by Ikea and the quality was about the same. The walls are paper thin, the staff are sweet but incompetent. OK they have only been open 2 months but you don't expect to go to a cocktail bar and have to tell the barman what to put in the cocktail! MPW the food was great and worth a visit but not at the expense of a hotel room I would recommend the Hyatt instead its only across the road.

We did visit the SPA, its tiny but the staff were helpful, they gym equipment was decent but the gym itself is a bit budget. Its a real shame the whole cube complex had potential but then again so do most 13 year olds and this place has comparable sophistication levels - you live and learn, will definitely be reverting to the competition and eating at Simpsons next time!

Room Tip: If you want quiet comfort try the sister hotel Crowne Plaza on Broad street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TINA K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2012

We are sorry you did'nt enjoy our hotel experience. Hotel Indigo is a boutique style brand, vibrant , curious and original.
Our Gym is equiped with the most renowned and up to date equipment from technogym. We have four studios, including Milano and urban space rooms, a hydro pool, jacuzzi, two sauna's , a steam room, a salt room. The spa has a floatation bath, ten treatment rooms offering the latest treatments. A Laurent Perrier champagne nail bar. It also has its members and guests only lounge bar.
We are a unique brand that is not comparable to other variations.
We do respect your comments and do take all feedback seriously. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,015)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

984 - 988 of 1,015 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2012

Second visit to this lovely hotel. Nice relaxing break, beautiful modern rooms, good beds, lovely welcoming reception from Suzanne at reception.

Rooms are very modern, flat screen tv, modern power shower. Marco bar and restaurant are superb. Always busy, nice selection of drinks and cocktails.

Our friends loved it and we look forward to returning very soon.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pippadoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Fantastic views from the restaurant on the 25th floor.
Good accomodation, pleasant and helpfull staff so handy to walk to the city shops.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Last weekend staid for one night in brand new Hotel Indigo. I am sure that I will be staying from now on there. Usually I stay in Malmaison, however last weekend decided to try Indigo. I was very pleased starting from the first minutes I arrived to the hotel. (They have very cool car park.)
Service was great, food was great as we had booking in MPW. The rooms are just amazing with stunning view. Also rooms are not worn out like in other hotel. One more thing you have access to pool, steam rooms etc in SPA
Overall defo would advice to stay there at least once

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Stay on a Friday night. Walked from station which wasn't too far. A bit of a strange location right at the back of The Mailbox but would have been fine if we had got a taxi. Reception welcoming, exec room on 23rd floor modern and well presented. Shower only but great full window view of Brum. Marco's was a mixed bag. Not best sense of arrival at host desk, make u wait before going to bar \ rest which means less money for them. Bar was ok, not personable just functional (needs flair tenders with some passion and personality). Table was great in window but I can't help feeling its a function room with a load of tables (guess that's so diners in the cheap seats feel they have a view). Wine in water not ice, staff scruffy and food just ok. Starters pricey but no better than most. Overall, I'd give it a 3 out of 5. Personally, my advice would be to go to a genuine eatery where the actual chef is in residence and food is less formulaic. Marco's is hype but he probably consults less than 1 day a month across his many outlets.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dleeh_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,145 reviews
AC Hotel Birmingham
#15 of 118 in Birmingham
285 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
2,344 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,506 reviews
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#26 of 118 in Birmingham
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Birmingham

Address: 200 Wharfside Street | The Cube, Birmingham B1 1PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: €95 - €251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing