We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham(Birmingham)(Great Value!)
US$71
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$103/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$126
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$114/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Novotel Birmingham Centre(Birmingham)(Great Value!)
US$74
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$103/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$158
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport(Birmingham)(Great Value!)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$105
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 41% below average rates

The price you found is 41% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$162/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$40
US$37
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$55/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

ibis Styles Birmingham Centre(Birmingham)(Great Value!)
US$74
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$80/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$101
US$63
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,626)
Filter reviews
1,626 results
Traveller rating
546
599
273
128
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
546
599
273
128
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszest bargolf breakleisure facilitiesmain restaurantleisure clubsauna and steam roomtwo double bedslarge hotelbirmingham airportweekend breakbuffet stylefollowing morningsaturday nightspaweddingchampionshipconference
Filter
Updating list...
142 - 147 of 1,626 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2017

I stayed here with my Mother, so we could do a little sightseeing around the area and take in the Cotswolds.
I think it best if I explain the title I've given this review.... A lot about this hotel is very good. The staff are excellent, the rooms and common areas are spotless, we requested additional milk for the in room refreshments, they arrived in 10 minutes. At check-in, there were a number of people behind me, so the lady did not announce my room number, rather pointing to it on the welcome card - nice touch. The breakfast has a wide selection, great tea and coffee and proper sized mugs. The only negative I would have to say on the room is that the beds were extremely hard,with no mattress topper to speak of to soften them. So if you don't like a hard bed..... be warned!
What lets it down *badly* is the restaurant. Given that the hotel is slightly isolated, it is fair to say that you will rely on this to eat in the evening, and it advertises itself as a grill. So it was perplexing to me how two straightforward steaks could be cooked totally incorrectly (mine was actually raw and chilly in the middle) and then when they were sent back, the exact same steaks came back out, a little more cooked, but then mine was given to my Mum, my Mum had mine. Good job we were related, otherwise, we wouldn't have played "swap the steak" and they'd have gone back....again. My Mother's was gristly, so she struggled to eat it. The deserts were nice (although these were also wrong - and being asked "well did you actually ask for sauce"... really?) they have the potential to be great deserts with a bit of finesse applied. Oh, and my Mother's tea took so long to arrive, we wondered if they were going to pick the leaves!
I felt very sorry for the serving staff, as being left with a kitchen that appeared to resemble something out of a kitchen nightmares programme, they would have been suited to a fireman's uniform - they were doing that much firefighting and apologising. It is deeply unfair to put staff in a position like this - as not everyone will be friendly if they have food that is unsatisfactory. The downside to such experience is that if I was doing leisure travelling in this area again, despite the cleanliness and convenient location, I would think very carefully about coming here again, based on the restaurant experience.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank clairebearWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atul K, Front Office Manager at Forest of Arden Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you for your time and feedback on your stay.

It is very important that we review our process and product so that if we are able to provide memorable experience to our customer. Your feedback is really important for our team as the areas you have highlighted in terms of service and product will be reviewed for improvement.

As we take pride in providing excellent stay we are sorry for the issues you have encountered and we will ensure to implement improvements so that this is not repeated.

We hope you will accept our apology and provide us another change to welcome you back.

Yours sincierly,
Atul Kankrej
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Everything perfect-this was despite them hosting a large wedding other guests were not neglected or disadvantaged. Food was fantastic too and service. Location was beautiful quiet and relaxing. Will use again.

Room Tip: All room have lovely different views
Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Marianne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

Hotel , golf, food and staff very good. However two areas that need addressing. As an older person but not totally infirm I found it difficult getting in and out of the bath for my shower. Could do with more hand rails as the bath was quite deep.my other complaint was being charged £9.99 for 24 hours of WI FI. I feel this is a total rip off when most establishments these days offer it free. Come on De Vere sort this out.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank eljo1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

Poor service from the staff. Booked a 'Delux' room.... nothing deluxe about it. Very dated decor, small room with no fridge/minibar. Rang reception to ask for an upgrade, yes absolutely no problem, went down to reception to organise to be told there are no rooms!! They apparently found one which looked no different apart from an empty fridge. There were no bathrobes, slippers or facecloths. I had to ask for these. We got locked out of our room (which was an extremely long walk from reception) twice. We noticed on the room bill we had been charged a 12.5% service charge ON TOP of the tip we left, we took a photo of our meal bill to prove it did not state we would get at automatic charge of 12.5%. We had to ask for this to be removed and also asked for the room upgrade charge to be removed which they did. I have stayed in a lot of Marriott's and this was by far the worst one for a Country Club. Disappointing.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingprawn66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atul K, Front Office Manager at Forest of Arden Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you for your review and time to provide feedback.

We are extremely sorry for the issues you have encountered. I can assure you that we will certainly look into the feedback and take all necessary steps so that this is not repeated, we will also develop our service and product so that we can continue to deliver experience which not only meet but exceed guest expectations.

Once again we are very sorry and hopefully our apology will be accepted we can get opportunity to welcome you back in future.

Yours sincerely,
Atul Kankrej
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

We had a room for 3 adults which meant two double beds (exceptionally comfortable!). Room of a good size with good facilities and nice furnishings.
Not enough people serving in the bar/restaurant the evening we were there - staff seemed rushed off their feet. However breakfast which we had paid for previously was excellent and the staff very attentive.
Main downside was the lack of power from the shower as well as the thick layer of dust in the vent behind it (which probably only became clear because I kept turning around to adjust the shower assuming that it couldn’t possibly be on the highest flow setting!)

Overall we were very satisfied for what we paid.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Susannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews