We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,186)
Filter reviews
1,186 results
Traveller rating
348
425
243
100
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
348
425
243
100
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviews little owl pub next door stayed here car parking shuttle bus the sofa bed genting arena an overnight stay breakfast was included close to the airport one night stay yogurt booked this hotel reception staff comfortable room family room an early flight
Filter
Updating list...
257 - 262 of 1,186 reviews
Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

This hotel was our first experience in the U.K. And it was so, so wonderful. The room was so clean and there was air conditioning and free breakfast. The restaurant next door was amazing, the front desk staff were so kind, and I'd definitely stay there again!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank Whitney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Dear Whitney B,
Thank you for the lovely positive review, we hope we get to welcome you back soon.
Regards
Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016

Just completed a two night stay at this hotel.
Arrived very late on the Friday evening, the receptionist had to be summoned from his conversation with the bar staff, not a great start but once booked in all was good.

The room was of good size with ample stocks of tea/ coffee etc. The only thing I would criticise was a lack of available plugs available for charging mobile phones, I do wish hotels (not just this one) would have plug sockets near the bed side tables.

Breakfast was very good, an excellent range of hot and cold options, fresh fruit, breads and pastries.

One item that did stand out was some very poor finishing in the room with the decorating and the lack of cleaning in the corridors, stairs etc - just need someone to vacuum the dust a debris that has accumulated - not huge amounts but noticeable all the same.

Would recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Genting Arena & NEC etc.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shopping884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Dear Shopping 884,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with us. I will be sure to share your feedback with the housekeeping and front desk team as it is disappointing that we did not get the first impression right.
I do hope that you will continue to use Holiday Inn Express in the future and hopefully will welcome you back at a later date.
Regards
Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016

Exceeded our expectations for the Holiday Inn Express chain but still no Premier Inn! We had booked a “standard room” which apparently translates to whatever is available so ended up in a twin as there were no doubles available. Receptionist suggested “just push the beds together yourselves.” Rooms were clean and surprisingly modern but the beds were very soft and not comfortable for us. Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jab_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2017

Dear jab_89,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review because this is one of the ways that let us know where we need to improve as a company. I am sorry to hear the bed was not to your liking and our apologies for any discomfort this may have caused you. We understand the importance of a good night's sleep and we assure you these problems have been forwarded to the proper department.

Thank you and have a wonderful day.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

Amazing service by Paddy, absolute asset to your team.
Even though he was serving late night he still gave the exceptional service that you'd expect at opening times.

Would come here more often due to this service.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCH1709, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2016

Good Afternoon
Many thanks for reviewing your stay here with us at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC.
We are thrilled to see you received amazing service from our team member,we will pass these comments on further.
We look forward to seeing you again soon
Many Thanks
Jamie-Jordan
Guest service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

It's your typical holiday Inn express chain but very busy. Please be aware of the parking charges of £7 per day. Got a disability room as the hotel was fully booked. Had an issue with the sink and reported but it was not fixed. The shower runs hot and cold in the morning when everyone in the hotel is using them. The breakfast was acceptable but not as good as the premier Inn.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
Thank businesstraveller013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCH1709, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2016

Good Afternoon
Many thanks for reviewing your stay here with us at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC.
We are happy to see you enjoyed your stay, We apologise that yu had a issue with your sink and was not resolved whilst staying with us in house, we will review and investigate this further.
We apologise you feel disappointed when paying for car parking, however due to the location of the hotel; we do charge a fee of £7 per 24 hours.
We look forward to seeing you again soon
Many Thanks
Jamie-Jordan
Guest service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews