We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
Ranked #42 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff were very friendly, and the room was bit small but ok, Breakfast could have had a greater range of dishes. Slept very well. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Birmingham as it is very central

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rikk37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Burlington, General Manager at Macdonald Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Rikk37

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us recently and the team were friendly. Your constructive feedback has been taken on board.

We appreciate the recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back!

Warmest regards

Chandru Moorthy
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,040)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 3,040 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

Myself and my wife booked the Burlington after lots of searching online for a decent city centre hotel. The rooms are clean and up to date with really comfy beds (we had an executive double) Tv, kettle (with tea, coffee and milk) iron, ironing board and hair dryer were all provided. Our view from the window (we had room 329)was of the huge air conditioning array in the centre of the hotel but that didn’t bother us! Considering we were right in the middle of Birmingham the hotel was so well sound insulated we didn’t hear a thing. The hotel entrance is situated inside a really nice little arcade of shops and is hidden from the view of the Main Street. I would highly recommend booking here if your looking for a comfortable, well kept and hospitable hotel.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Burlington, General Manager at Macdonald Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Anthony M

I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular the comfort of your room.

Thank you so much for sharing your experience and writing such a positive review. We appreciate the recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back!

Warmest regards

Chandru Moorthy
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

This hotel must be less than one minute's walk from New Street Station. The greeting was warm and efficient at check in. I paid £90 for a single bed room and breakfast. The room was well appointed and had all I needed. There was a desk to work at, a comfy arm chair, an iron and board, a safe, a chain for the door, lots of good lighting, one of the best TVs I have ever watched as far as definition is concerned, good linen and a well appointed bathroom with quality towels and toiletries. There was also a bottle of water to drink and a biscuit with the tea and coffee making supplies. A small quibble was that the pillows were a bit thin.

Breakfast service appeared a bit chaotic with over-stretched staff. But the food, when it arrived, was extremely well cooked and of good quality.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roland D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Burlington, General Manager at Macdonald Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Roland D

Thanks for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay overall and appreciate your constructive feedback. I will share your comments with the team as I know they will be motivated by it.

I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards

Chandru Moorthy
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

Nice hotel, very comfortable room with 2 x chairs and large wardrobe - bathroom modern and good size with lovely towels. Bed had a slight dip in the centre. Breakfast good! Plenty of Bars and restaurants around this location.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank madanjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Burlington, General Manager at Macdonald Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear madanjo

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Your comments are really appreciated and I will be sure to pass them on to my team!

Kindest regards

Chandru Moorthy
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

Stayed here for one night. The hotel is in an excellent location, if arriving by train at New street station, and is an interesting old hotel, full of character.

The room was clean and comfortable with a good bed and shower, and quite well noise insulated.

I ate in the evening at the restaurant and the food was very good, and the view from the 1st floor window over the pedestrianised street below pleasant.

For breakfast the continental breakfast choice was good with a wide choice of fruit juices, but the cooked breakfast was a big disapointment. It appears from the menu to be a cooked to order breakfast, but tasted more like it was pre-cooked and left to dry before being served. One piece of dry burnt bacon, 2 sausages of questionable fatty content, a very small potato thing, half a dry fried tomato and baked beans that were served in a hot small pot with a crust on the top. At least the fried egg was edible. Hopefully this was just an off day for the kitchen.

For me a hotel needs to be clean, have a good bed and a good breakfast. It passed on the first two, but failed on the last one hence a 4 score, rather than 5.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarrenHenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Burlington, General Manager at Macdonald Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear DarrenHenman

I am delighted overall you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your helpful feedback.

I was however extremely disappointed to learn of your experience at breakfast and would like to assure you that this is not reflective of our usual standards. Your feedback has been the focus of retraining within the kitchen team.

We hope to welcome you back soon - indeed do contact me when you have a date in mind as I would be pleased to take care of the arrangements for you.

Best wishes

Chandru Moorthy
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
982 reviews
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,543 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#30 of 118 in Birmingham
1,630 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
2,400 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
4,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Burlington Hotel

Address: Burlington Arcade, Birmingham B2 4JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#18 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#19 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#27 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: €83 - €219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Burlington Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Burlington Birmingham
Hotel Macdonald Burlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing