We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Ranked #73 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 18 November 2017

Stayed for one night at this hotel.I am a hilton honours member but at check in had to join a massive very slow check in queue as there was no staff available at the Hilton honours check in.Evening meal in the boulevard restraunt was very disappointing although the service was good.Not worth £29.00.Rooms were dated but comfortable.Very close to the nec and hotel parking was no problem.I really do not know if I would stay here again.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Alexandra831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick S, General Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Dear Alexandra831

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We regret you experienced a delay at check-in and were sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your dining experience in the Boulevard. We usually receive very positive feedback regarding our restaurants, but your comments are noted.

We do hope you will consider staying with us again.

Kind regards

Patrick Stapleton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 145 of 5,593 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

Pros:
Rooms very clean
Beds extremely comfortable - had a great nights sleep!
Staff excellent, brought soya milk and extra bedding to the room when we asked. Very friendly.
Beautiful decor in the lobby.
Great atmosphere at bar.
Perfect location if going to Genting Arena.

Cons:
Rooms very dated, I expected them to be more modern for a Hilton hotel (I always associated the Hilton brand with a luxury 5-star hotel).
Felt like the rooms were nothing special.
The price for parking was very expensive, at £15 for one night, considering the price paid for the room.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Josephine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick S, General Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Dear Josephine

Thank you for your your comments following your stay.

It's good to know you found our staff to be "excellent" and that you had a great night's sleep. Although a number of our guests rooms have already been refurbished, we do have plans for further improvements in the future.

We look forward to seeing you return again soon.

Kind regards

Patrick Stapleton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

I write this at 6am in the morning whilst in the hotel. Mainly because I have had about 2 hours sleep due to the whirring air con in my room that can't be switched off. The room is a box room with two single beds. I've tried them both. They move when you try to climb on to them which makes actually trying to lie in them impossible.

I arrived as part of a conference and the barrier let me in. I then spent around 20 mins dtiving around the car park trying to find a space - I thought there had to be one as the barrier had let me in. There were loads in separate further barriered areas but I couldn't get in these. There loads of cars parked on double yellow lines but no spaces. Eventually a lady in yellow coat told me to park in "east 1" which turned out to be 1/2 mile walk.

After the conference it took 40 minutes to check in. I asked the receptionist whether they had considered a group check in for the conference guests to be told "we didn't think you would all check in at once".

The room has no window. It is dirty. As mentioned noisy air con, tv with hardly a signal, very old fashioned.

After check-in I had to make a phone call which along with the lengthy check-in meant I was a little late for the evening function. There were 80 due to the event in the form of 8 tables of 10 but only 70 were there. They had run out of welcome drinks - at least 5 of us didn't get one it appears so what happened to the 15?

Each table of 10 should have had 1/2 bottle of wine per person on it. There were 4 bottles on each!

We were given bar vouchers with a face value of £4.90. The selection was a small bottle of becks, a small glass of wine or a small selection of spirits........

In the main bar a glass of wine was £8.50 (that's a glass not a bottle).

There is a coffee shop which serves in takeout cups just by the hotel entrance. £4.50 for a small of £5.00 for a regular coffee..........

So if you enjoy a hotel where you think you can park but can't, have a room with no window and is noisy, a bed that travels around the room when you lie on it, and totally rips off when it comes to its F&B pricing structure, I can thoroughly recomnend.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick S, General Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Dear Steve

Thank you for your review.

We were sorry to learn of your disappointing experience on this occasion, which is certainly not the usual experience our guests have.

We hope you will not judge us solely on this experience and allow us the opportunity to demonstrate our usual high standards and levels of service on a future occasion.

Kind regards

Patrick Stapleton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

Clean rooms great breakfast and walking distance to Nec, it does what it says on the tin.
I had left some items in my room,gave the hotel a call and they kindly posted them home to me without charge,thats what i call good service

Stayed: November 2017
Thank 905beatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick S, General Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Dear 905beatty

Thank you for sharing your experience.

We're pleased you found the location of the hotel ideal for your needs and we're glad we were able to reunite you with your forgotten items.

We hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Patrick Stapleton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed just one night for the Killers Concert at the Genting Arena. The Hotel main areas are nice and the staff friendly and efficient at what they do. Room however felt tired and dated, carpet was stained. Our Mattress was the hardest we’d ever slept ( or tried to sleep) on! Don’t think I’d stay here again would try another hotel near the arena

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Margalot42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick S, General Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Dear Margalot42

Thanks for your comments in relation to your visit.

We regret you were unhappy with your particular room. The hotel has already undertaken the refurbishment of a number of its guest rooms as well as public areas of the hotel and we do have plans for further improvements in the future.

We do hope you consider staying with us again.

Kind regards

Patrick Stapleton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.1 km away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
0.7 km away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
2,108 reviews
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.9 km away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Address: National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: €84 - €334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 794
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Birmingham Metropole is a well-connected and easily accessible Hotel in walking distance to Birmingham International Station linking to Birmingham Airport. Regular complimentary shuttle ensures guests will only be minutes from the airport and railway station. Park & Fly options are available at the hotel. With a great location next to the National Exhibition Centre (NEC) and LG Arena, it is an ideal choice for attending events and fairs and from 2015 attending the Resorts World Complex with Casino, shopping outlets and Cinema. The hotel provides superior leisure facilities onsite with Ocean Rooms Spa, LivingWell Health club featuring Fitness Room, Indoor heated pool, Sauna and Steam room. Food and Beverage Outlets include two restaurants and a 24 hour Lounge Bar, with Room Service available all day long. Free Wifi is available in Public Areas. For those travelling as a family, enjoy dedicated family rooms accommodating 2 adults and 2 children as well as children-friendly amenities and services. Easily accessible by rail, road and air networks , the hotel is at the hub that connects Birmingham International Airport and the International Railway station with the M42, M6 and M40. Birmingham City Centre and Regional attractions such as Warwick Castle, Cadbury World and Stratford-upon-Avon are easily accessible. The hotel is also largest accommodation and convention centre outside London with 790 guest rooms and suites, 33 flexible function rooms for meeting and events from 2 to 2,000 people and an experience team. This is where it all happens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing