We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Ranked #70 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
solihull
Level Contributor
213 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Avoid!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Went to large dinner last week and was hugely disappointed. Poor food, service all over the place and extortionate drinks. Plus, and probably worst of all, £10 to park! will never return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your comments following your recent visit to the hotel.

I am sorry that you were left disappointed with the food and service provided at the dinner you attended. These comments will of course be shared with our Execujtive Chef and I very much regret that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion.

Whilst the hotel does operate a car parking charge policy, as do other hotels, I would point out that residents do receive a discount on parkintg charges.

I do hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,236
    1,427
    1,153
    655
    460
See reviews for
489
1,012
321
2,339
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (944)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

I stayed here on a business trip and very much enjoyed staying here. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was comfortable and spacious with all the facilities you need. Food was of a very high qualitywhich I fully enjoyed. The pool and spa were great to relax in at the end or beginning of a very busy day. It is quite expensive but worth it. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stina963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Senior Reviewer

Thank you for your review and yhour recommendation.

I was of course delighted to see that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and the levels of service you received were as you would expect at at Hilton hotel.

Good to see that you had the opportunity to use our veryh popular LivingWell leisure club too.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

I stayed here with some colleagues for a conference in NEC. The location is very good. Just 5 minutes walk to our stand on the FAIR. When booking rooms I booked the rooms for 1 person per room and before I knew I booked my colleagues into single bedded rooms. If this is not what you want don't make the same mistake. Upgrading was not possible as the hotel was fully booked.
Breakfast was very good. Allthough hotel was fully booked we were shown to the table very swiftly and staff was smilling. Foodwise it was very good. Especially the girl/lady making our omelets was on top of it!! Beverage service was okay but definately missed some quality juice.

The service in the bar is good. Open all day and open a lot longer than the Crown plaza next door. The bar is definately a good selling point for this place.

The restaurant was nice... can't really say more than that.... No WOW. and it was cold/ windy!!

Service at the front desk, concierge and business centre was courteous with a smile and nothing was too much. Really well done!

Obviously single bed rooms are very small. You can manage but it is not great! Our room was located at the B Lobby (I would suggest to change this name, it makes your guests feel like second hand citizens/ B choice etc.). Carpet is very worn down in the dark corridors. In my room 5 centimeter before the room ended the carpet was missing and this was solved using duck tape to make up for the last 5 centimeters..... Bathroom was worn down. Little amenities and 1 towel!

Bottom line: Stay here it's great. However the upgrade of the rooms and corridor around the B-Lobby should have happened 5 years ago! For a fair or conference it is good I would never consider this as a leisure location though...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jdrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear JDrip

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on this website.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and as you say, we are ideally located for easy access to the NEC as well s the LG Arena and Birmingham Airport.

Our freshly made omlettes are a big hit with most of our guests, together with the huge variety of choice at breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the HIlton Birmingham Metropole in the near future.

Kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

I had the mis-fortune of staying at this hotel on business as part of a conference and evening event on 29th Feb.

While the actual day-time conference was very slick and the function rooms were excellent, the bedrooms were terrible.

My bath was filthy, the pillow case had a hole in it, the cups were dirty, the net curtain ripped and stained... the list is endless......

Other colleagues complained in the morning of having been "bitten" in the night and most of the comments were about the very poor standard of cleanliness.

When I checked out in the morning nobody bothered to ask me whether I'd had a pleasant stay - the rest of the staff I encountered seemed to have the same "couldn't care less" attitude.

This is not what I would expect of a hotel in the Hilton Group.

I won't be staying there again through choice - though suspect it's sheer size means that I will probably have to stay their on business again. Next time I'll bring some rubber gloves and bleach.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Boucher_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for posting your comments following your recent stay at the hotel.

I was most disappointed to learn that you had not enjoyed your stay and that the levels of service and standards were not as you would expect at a Hilton. Please rest assured your feedback will be discussed with the appropriate management.

With regards to the bedroom, I can only assume that you had mistakenly been allocated a room that had not been fully serviced and I would therefore ask you to accept my sincere apologies for this error.

I do hope that despite the shortcoming experienced on this occasion we may have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton Birmingham Metropole to demonstrate our normally high levels of service.

Kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Reading
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Just stayed at the Hilton Metropole for 1 night for a company conference.

Firstly, if you want to get a parking space then I would suggest you get there early. The hotel gets very busy and on this occasion we had to park a 10 minute walk away, which was ok as it wasnt raining!!

The hotel is not pleasant looking and in my opinion a complete revamp is long overdue.

I cannot comment on check in, as this was completed outside of the normal set up.

i was in a twin room, that could be classed as contemporary. The decor was ok, apart from some of the wall paper was coming away from the wall. Bathroom was again ok, but very basic, but clean. There were tea and coffeee facilities, but no complimentary water, which I think is a shame as in my opinion all hotels should offer this. The view from room 2070 is rather unpleasant!

Breakfast at the hotel was good and plentiful. Check out was swift.

If you want to stay right by the NEC then you only have 2 choices - Hilton or Crowne Plaza. I have steyed in both and personally prefer the Crowne Plaza.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jabe100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Jason

Thank you for posting your review on this website following your recent visit.

Unfortunately, when the hotel is particularly busy, as it was during your stay, the hotel car park can fill up.

I was glad that you had enjoyed your breakfast experience and we do hope that we may have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.3 km away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
0.7 km away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
1.1 km away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,220 reviews
1.4 km away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Property: Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Address: National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 794
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Birmingham Metropole is a well-connected and easily accessible Hotel in walking distance to Birmingham International Station linking to Birmingham Airport. Regular complimentary shuttle ensures guests will only be minutes from the airport and railway station. Park & Fly options are available at the hotel. With a great location next to the National Exhibition Centre (NEC) and LG Arena, it is an ideal choice for attending events and fairs and from 2015 attending the Resorts World Complex with Casino, shopping outlets and Cinema. The hotel provides superior leisure facilities onsite with Ocean Rooms Spa, LivingWell Health club featuring Fitness Room, Indoor heated pool, Sauna and Steam room. Food and Beverage Outlets include two restaurants and a 24 hour Lounge Bar, with Room Service available all day long. Free Wifi is available in Public Areas. For those travelling as a family, enjoy dedicated family rooms accommodating 2 adults and 2 children as well as children-friendly amenities and services. Easily accessible by rail, road and air networks , the hotel is at the hub that connects Birmingham International Airport and the International Railway station with the M42, M6 and M40. Birmingham City Centre and Regional attractions such as Warwick Castle, Cadbury World and Stratford-upon-Avon are easily accessible. The hotel is also largest accommodation and convention centre outside London with 790 guest rooms and suites, 33 flexible function rooms for meeting and events from 2 to 2,000 people and an experience team. This is where it all happens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing