We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for NEC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Ranked #73 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Not much to look at from the outside, however inside it was typically Hilton. Great location for NEC but not much else. Rooms were adequate, but a bit small and dated. If you can get a good deal and are going to the NEC stay here. If not pay a little more and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rm45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear RM45

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

As you say, we are ideally situated for easy access to not only the NEC but the LG Arena and Birmingham International Airport. The hotel also provides a courtesy shuttle service to and from the airport which many of our guests make use of.

I was sorry to see that you found your particular room a little too small for your requirements. Perhaps next time you visit we could recommend one of our Executive rooms - I'm sure you will find this room type more spacious.

I hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hilton Birmingham Metropole in the not too distant future.

Kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,295)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,550 - 4,554 of 5,296 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2012

Spent 1 night here for a conference, food very good but unbelievable prices charged at the bar. I paid £8.50 for a flute of prosecco and my colleague paid £14.50 for a double baileys!! Rooms very clean but single bed very narrow and room took a long time to get warm as the heating seemed to take ages to work.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear Teresa

Thank you for posting your comments following your recent stay at the hotel.

I was pleased to learn that you had enjoyed your dining experience with us and your comments regarding bar peices are noted. I can advise that the hotel does monitor its prices to ensure it remains competitive with other 4 star establishments throughout the country.

I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We have four trade shows a year at the NEC and for the past three years we have chosen the Hilton Metropole for our stays. All the staff are extremely friendly and always very attentive, its great to be able to go somewhere where the staff remember you and are always happy to help i.e. finding us tables and chairs at the bar, any issues in the room etc.
The rooms are always clean and tidy, the food at the bar and restaurants are always top standard even when they have been extremely busy we have never had to wait long for our food or drinks.The gym and Spa facilities are also great.
Apart from that the NEC is a 5 minute walk from the hotel which is also a bonus.
We have never had a bad stay at the Hilton and we always look forward to our stays there as the service is impeccable. Thank you to all the great staff at the Hilton Metropole Birmingham.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear Tanya

Thank you for such a great review.

I am absolutely delighted to see that you have been consistently pleased with your many visits to the hotel. Our team always aim to make all of our guests feel valued and welcome. I will certainly pass on your kind comments.

We very much look forward to giving you a warm welcome when you return.

Kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

For several years we have chosen this hotel for its closeness to the nec (4 minutes walk) in 2010 our stay was not that good,in 2011 we decided to go elseware, but we came back in 2012, Oh my, what a difference, either they made sure we were followed and treated to the very best of their personel or they have had a new management struture, i guess it is the second. Front desk reception staff on checking in were smiling and could not have been any the more pleasent. We went to the executive lounge and felt as though we were travelling first class, A lady by the name of Gill was looking after the guests and she was always smiling, chatting, and keeping everything topped up and cleared away, The snacks and liquid refresment was of a very top standard.
The room we had allocated was spotless spacious and the bathroom had excellent soft towelling, bathrobes, slippers and wash amenities.
The restaurent at breakfast gave excellent service, all the staff were smiling who could not do enough for you, they were very active and proactive, as soon as you sat down tea and coffe along with orange juice was there, when you finished the food on your plate it was cleared within 1 minute, i went to the toaster and there was a member of staff cleaning away crumbs etc, only a small point but attention to detail they are definately doing. I have been fortunate to stay in many 5 star hotels and resorts, what i had the pleasure to recieve at this hotel makes them up there at the top. I loved the friendly midlands hospitality and the refreshing attitude of being treated like a guest who is importent to them. thank you to you all who work there.

Room Tip: upgrade to the executive rooms for only £30, what you get for the extra money is worth three times t...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itsawinnerEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear Reviewer

What a fantastic review - thank so much.

It is always pleasing to receive such positive feedback and I am very happy that we have restored your faith in the hotel. Our Executive Loung is very popular and I am glad that you had the opportunity of enjoying the complimentary canapes and refreshments served.

Thank you once again for taking the time to post your comments - they will be shared will of our team here.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards



Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I had a lovely stay at the Metropole once again. The room was always spick and span when I got back every night which was a pleasure. It was hassle free and everyone I dealt with was courteous, efficient and friendly. The food is always amazing and I recommend both the restaurants there. The staff in the restaurants are also worthy of note. I have never had a bad stay at the metropole, I actually look forward to my stays there! A big thank you to all the staff for making my stay feel special.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abigail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear Abigail

Many thanks for the kind comments contained in your review.

I am so pleased that you enjoy your stays with us and are a big fan of our restaurants and our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.3 km away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
1,725 reviews
0.7 km away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.9 km away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
1.1 km away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#27 of 118 in Birmingham
1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Address: National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: €93 - €411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 794
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Birmingham Metropole is a well-connected and easily accessible Hotel in walking distance to Birmingham International Station linking to Birmingham Airport. Regular complimentary shuttle ensures guests will only be minutes from the airport and railway station. Park & Fly options are available at the hotel. With a great location next to the National Exhibition Centre (NEC) and LG Arena, it is an ideal choice for attending events and fairs and from 2015 attending the Resorts World Complex with Casino, shopping outlets and Cinema. The hotel provides superior leisure facilities onsite with Ocean Rooms Spa, LivingWell Health club featuring Fitness Room, Indoor heated pool, Sauna and Steam room. Food and Beverage Outlets include two restaurants and a 24 hour Lounge Bar, with Room Service available all day long. Free Wifi is available in Public Areas. For those travelling as a family, enjoy dedicated family rooms accommodating 2 adults and 2 children as well as children-friendly amenities and services. Easily accessible by rail, road and air networks , the hotel is at the hub that connects Birmingham International Airport and the International Railway station with the M42, M6 and M40. Birmingham City Centre and Regional attractions such as Warwick Castle, Cadbury World and Stratford-upon-Avon are easily accessible. The hotel is also largest accommodation and convention centre outside London with 790 guest rooms and suites, 33 flexible function rooms for meeting and events from 2 to 2,000 people and an experience team. This is where it all happens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing