We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel for working near the NEC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Ranked #70 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great hotel for working near the NEC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

I had a lovely stay at the Metropole once again. The room was always spick and span when I got back every night which was a pleasure. It was hassle free and everyone I dealt with was courteous, efficient and friendly. The food is always amazing and I recommend both the restaurants there. The staff in the restaurants are also worthy of note. I have never had a bad stay at the metropole, I actually look forward to my stays there! A big thank you to all the staff for making my stay feel special.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abigail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear Abigail

Many thanks for the kind comments contained in your review.

I am so pleased that you enjoy your stays with us and are a big fan of our restaurants and our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,250
    1,452
    1,171
    663
    467
See reviews for
504
1,025
323
2,369
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (952)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Checked in at 3 and paid £150 for one nights stay dinner bed and breakfast,the room was pokey and dark so asked to be moved which was a little better but a tiny double bed very uncomfortable. Had a snack at 3 which cost £35 for two sandwiches and two drinks. We were told at 8.30 that the miller restaurant in which we were supposed to be vain dinner and paid for was closed so therefore couldn't have dinner. Very angry as had to have yet another bar snax which was again very poor and £65 . Retired to bed and was kept awake by a party till 3am above our room,screaming shouting and very load music, then haveing to listen to people using the toilet. Was supposed to be a lovely valentine romantic evening! Very upset and disappointing will be goin back to holiday inn .

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eloisebedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Northern Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

I stayed for 2 nights at the Hilton and was really impressed. My room was modern and clean, with tv, internet connection, clock radio and an iron and ironing board. I was there for a conference and the hot buffet lunch served was fantastic - great variety of food. I couldn't fault breakfast either - everything you could want and more. I used the leisure facilities too - great pool with view out to river and greenery - really relaxing.
The courtesy shuttle bus to and from the airport train station was a fantastic extra - and the driver was really helpful in giving us suggestions for our night out in Birmingham. Had a cocktail in the hotel bar when we returned from town - a bit pricey but tasty nonetheless. I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoD2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your very positive review, following your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you had found everything met your expectations and we do hope we may have the opportunity of welcoming you back very shortly.

Kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

We stayed at the Hilton Metropole close to Birmingham Airport and International railway station in Dec 2011 prior to a holiday. The service and welcome at reception was excellent, we were upgraded to a really spacious room. We ate in the bar area and the food was very well presented and bill was reasonable for a large hotel.Free shuttle to the Airport link was smooth and easy. All staff that we encountered seemed very professional and friendly.
The parking for two weeks was actually within the hotel's large car park. Upon our return the shuttle arrived within a few minutes of our calling the hotel and dropped us a 2 minute walk from the car. All in all a stress free experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear Roxally

I am very pleased that you had a stress-free stay with us, we always strive to ensure our guests have a pleasant stay.

I was glad that you found our staff both friendly and welcoming and hope we may have the pleasure of your company again shortly.

Kind regards.




Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

I arrived for my four-night stay on what is always a busy period, when the Spring Fair is on at the NEC. Prices for the cheapest rooms during this period start at £150 per night for a single room, whereas normally £75 is the norm.

My first impression was by a surly security man on the car park gate demanding to see my booking confirmation before even letting me in.

Twenty-five minute queue at reception for check-in, just like at an airport.

My room was in the tired old 'b block' which is the wing where the rooms haven't been rennovated for years. The wallpaper was peeling, paintwork was flaking and faded, the carpet was threadbare. The radiator belched out heat all night with no adjustment or ability to switch it off. My room was a stifling 29 degrees centigrade. To be fair, the room was clean and the bathroom was ok.

I added an extra night to my stay, I made this clear to the receptionist when I checked in, but at the end of my original stay, I found myself locked out of my room. I had to go to reception, check out and check in again, which took forty minutes of my evening to sort out. Grrr.

The Sunday night was so busy ALL the restaurants were booked solid, so I went out. I had a very mediocre Indian buffet meal in the library room which was overpriced and had obviously been made using frozen mixed vegetables and tinned potatoes in some of the veggy dishes.

I skipped breakfast and did't use the gym or pool because I'd slept so bably in my stupidly hot room. I was moved to a newly refurbished room after complaining. The poor guy on reception admitted 'we get hundreds of complaints every week because of the state of some of our rooms'

Definitely my last stay here, in future it'll be Premier Inn for the nine nights I have to endure at the NEC every year because of my job.

Room Tip: Ask reception to allocate you one of the refurbished rooms which have thermostat controlled heating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozvaldinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear Ozvaldinho

Thank yoiu for taking the time to provide your feedback on this website.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with your room and had found the temperature a little too warm but I was pleased we were able to offer you an alternative room once you had requested this from Reception.

The hotel has undertaken a huge refurbishment programme and whilst there are some rooms that require attention, I can confirm that these will be attended to in due course.

I do hope that dcespite your disappointment on this occasion, that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel at some point in the future.

Kind regards



Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.3 km away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
0.7 km away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
1.2 km away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Property: Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Address: National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 794
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Birmingham Metropole is a well-connected and easily accessible Hotel in walking distance to Birmingham International Station linking to Birmingham Airport. Regular complimentary shuttle ensures guests will only be minutes from the airport and railway station. Park & Fly options are available at the hotel. With a great location next to the National Exhibition Centre (NEC) and LG Arena, it is an ideal choice for attending events and fairs and from 2015 attending the Resorts World Complex with Casino, shopping outlets and Cinema. The hotel provides superior leisure facilities onsite with Ocean Rooms Spa, LivingWell Health club featuring Fitness Room, Indoor heated pool, Sauna and Steam room. Food and Beverage Outlets include two restaurants and a 24 hour Lounge Bar, with Room Service available all day long. Free Wifi is available in Public Areas. For those travelling as a family, enjoy dedicated family rooms accommodating 2 adults and 2 children as well as children-friendly amenities and services. Easily accessible by rail, road and air networks , the hotel is at the hub that connects Birmingham International Airport and the International Railway station with the M42, M6 and M40. Birmingham City Centre and Regional attractions such as Warwick Castle, Cadbury World and Stratford-upon-Avon are easily accessible. The hotel is also largest accommodation and convention centre outside London with 790 guest rooms and suites, 33 flexible function rooms for meeting and events from 2 to 2,000 people and an experience team. This is where it all happens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing