We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Ranked #7 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Stayed in the Hyatt for 4 nights on business. Stay was absolutely faultless. Room was lovely...very spacious, comfortable and floor to ceiling windows gave wonderful views of the city. Bathroom was also excellent and very clean.

The hotel is also in a great location just off broad street, with various eateries at The Mailbox and Brindley Place just a short walk away.

I would defintely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Birmingham.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daneeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,767 - 2,771 of 3,241 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2012

The Regency is quite well-known around Birmingham, and my contacts there assured me that it would be a good stay. While the location is excellent for those visiting the ICC and NEC (which I wasn't), and the entrance and lobby were striking in their grandeur, I found the stay itself a little disappointing by comparison, especially at this price point.

For starters, both the wifi and breakfast were expensive paid extras. I chose to eat breakfast elsewhere and saved a considerable amount of money in the process, and it's 2012 - hotels shouldn't still be charging for Internet access.

The room itself was in good condition and nice to stay in, but while the hotel is obviously aiming for a 'less modern' feel, some of the fixtures are just dated. The bedside control panel that controls the lights, for example, looked straight out of the '80s and had a very loud beep upon every button press which couldn't be muted.

There are no power sockets near the bed, which is incredibly irritating if, like me, you charge your phone overnight and use it as an alarm clock.

There are some positives - the staff were all good, the restaurant was good and priced reasonably, and of course the hotel does have a spa. If you're able to make use of the spa and the location is right for you, this is probably a sound choice. If you're on a short business trip closer to the New Street area, there are better alternatives.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank havanarepublic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Went there as a Valentine weekend with my Mrs. Before I went there, l spoke to Mark at Hyatt who was extremely helpful and gave us a fantastic room (Club Deluxe King). The view from the room was brilliant. The service was outstanding. Rooms were tidy and neat. The breakfast was wonderful and they had standard English buffet breakfast.

Definitely will go there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bashaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I stayed here for one night in January 2012 for business. I'm not one for eating in hotels so didn't eat in the restaurant / room service but instead went out for something to eat nearby.

The room was meant to have a 'King Size' bed but instead had two single beds bolted together and only one pillow for each. I am a fan of a good pillow so this night I didn't get a good nights sleep.

The view from the room was OK but I was on the 16th floor so would expect this.

One major point that disappointed me was wifi - most hotels I stay in now provide complimentary wifi during your stay. Not the Hyatt Regency - I needed an internet connection (wifi or wired) to work and found myself paying £15 for the night. Not a great experience, especially when the internet is so ingrained in everything we do these days.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawsjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

The hotel is perfectly placed for the Icc and Nec. The hotel is actually attached to the hotel via a bridge in the 4th floor. The Nec can be accessed via the Icc and a short walk along brindley place-alongside the canal.
The hotel is a 10 min walk from new street station and approx 15 mins from the bullring.
The bed was very comfortable, and the self service full English was fantastic. The juices were proper squeezed juice rather than the sugary stuff they usually offer in most hotels.
The bars at brindley place were perfect for a relaxed evening with lots of restaurants. It was a lovely location with bars on either side of the canal with bridges crossing the canal. This place would be lovely in the summer!
The negatives-
The shower was non adjustable and activated via the taps and would either freeze or scold you. There were no stairs and my wife had to use the fire escape on the quiet.
The bar was ridiculously priced- £15 for a single Bacardi & coke and a bottle of beer.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jkeeling82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
982 reviews
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,539 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
4,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
2,399 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#25 of 118 in Birmingham
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Birmingham

Address: 2 Bridge St, Birmingham B1 2JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#5 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#7 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: €109 - €393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atrium-style hotel located in city center & adjoining the International Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing